Customer Reviews


418 Reviews
5 star:
 (226)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How well do you know anybody?
Every nasty aspect of modern life is here - 'feral' children, journalists who'd sell their own mother for a lead, vigilante mobs, and the poor and ignorant who are exploited at every turn. But here you're given a glimpse of what lies behind all of this stuff of tabloid nightmares.

The scenes in which we re-live the event that triggers the story are very...
Published on 9 Mar. 2012 by N. Jeans

versus
53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable but disturbing read...
Marwood has constructed a crime thriller with obvious allusions to the lives of other well documented child murders with the perpetrators being children themselves and how they assimilate back into society on release. Choosing her protagonists to be two women puts a neat twist onto the whole criminal responsibility of children as most of the well known cases tend to...
Published on 16 Jun. 2012 by Raven


‹ Previous | 1 2 342 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to get excited about here., 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Girls (Kindle Edition)
This was quite a readable book and the topic of rehabilitated child murderers trying to assimilate into society was an interesting one. However, the dull characters and stereotypes started to annoy me. I started getting bored with the predictability of it and just wanted to finish it to see if there would be an interesting twist at the end. Sadly there wasn't.
The author's decision to completely abandon the rules of English grammar irked me somewhat too. Ironically, one of the characters was described as having sensitivity to the misuse of grammar. I too developed this condition as the author played fast and loose with the rules. It was not just for dramatic effect; the whole book was written this way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 22 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Girls (Kindle Edition)
This novel has all the key ingredients required for a page-turning thriller: character, plot and pace. Alex Marwood makes us feel sympathy for characters who, on the surface, we should despise. The psychological element to the book allows the pace to ebb and flow in such a way that the reader cannot help but be moved along with it.

I doubt there will be anybody who hasn't followed a harrowing news story and been quietly fascinated - this story is disconcerting in the way it goes beyond what makes the titillating headlines to the reality underneath. It's also nice to see such an evocation of place in an English setting. Normally something this vivid is only seen in the American city-scapes.

Definitely recommended - looking forward to the next book from this author already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 19 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Wicked Girls (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic read from start to finish. This author has a really bright future and has obvioulsy done a fair amount of research about the various topics covered in the book.
If you own a kindle you should pick up this book as soon as you can, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now!, 15 April 2012
This review is from: The Wicked Girls (Kindle Edition)
Have you ever wondered about the life of an adult who committed murder as a child ? When released from prison and given a new identity,what next?
How do they live with themselves? Are they the monsters portrayed in the press? How do they form relationships and carve out a new life?

A fantastic plot,this book will challenge your opinions and make you think long after you have finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent debut novel, 27 Jun. 2012
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wicked Girls (Paperback)
When a string of murders in seaside resort Whitmouth make headline news, and brings journalist Kirsty to the town to follow the police investigations, little does she know that she will also come face to face with someone she thought she would never see again. Someone that she shouldn't be in contact with as it could bring down her cosy life around her, someone she had last seen in a courtroom when they were both 11 years old...

Whilst Kirsty has made a successful career for herself, Amber is a cleaning supervisor at the resorts pleasure park. Both women couldn't be more different if they tried and both are leading completely different lives to those they would have led if they had not met on that eventful day when they were children.

Throughout the book there are two parallel stories, the present day events that have made the town infamous as well as flashbacks to that fateful day when they were children. We learn more about what happened to the little girl they were looking after on that day and why their lives have turned out so differently considering they were both charged with the same crime.

About half-way through the book I had guessed who was doing the killing, and I was correct, but it didn't spoil the story for me and I wanted to continue reading to see how the rest of the events panned out... How many more women would be killed before the killer is arrested and would Kirsty and Amber's real identities be discovered and revealed?

This was an enjoyable debut novel from this author and I'll definitely be keeping an eye out for future releases from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliantly disturbing, yet impossible to put down, 26 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Girls (Paperback)
I read this book after chatting to the author on Twitter, and seeing lots of 5* reviews on here. I'm often dubious of such praise, as I've known authors get their mates to review their book. But not so in this case. The story covers two girls who murdered a young girl. But it's much deeper and more complex than just how that came to happen.

Evocative of Fred and Rose West; Robert Thompson and Jon Venables; it describes in vivid detail both what they did and how they were before, during and after. How they came out the other side. I remember being at work when news emerged that Thompson and Venables were to be released, and a colleague sent round an email asking everyone to sign a petition against that. Saying they should be kept inside because they were evil and always would be. I strongly disagreed, and so did many of my liberal lefty colleagues. The same subject is covered in the book - although the characters are somewhat less liberal lefty than me and my colleagues!

I can't recommend this book strongly enough; that it has a glowing quote from another of my favourite authors, Elizabeth J Haynes, is testament to the quality of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the wicked girls, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Girls (Paperback)
i read this book within two days, it was brilliant, loved the way it was written the author is very talented. i am rather gutted i read it so fast as i didnt want it to end, but just could not put it down. it was really good would highly recommened it to anyone who loves a good crime thriller it had twist and turns all the way threw. i have already passed it on to a friend who is also loving this book with another 3 friends waiting for there turn. brilliant well done the author they should be very proud of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wicked Girls Review, 23 April 2014
This review is from: The Wicked Girls (Paperback)
The novel is a tense thriller about two 11 year old girls who kill a younger girl, and their subsequent lives as adults. As adults, Kirsty is a journalist investigating the killings of women in the run down seaside town of Whitmouth, Kent and Amber is a cleaner at a Fun fare. Their lives collide once again when they accidentally meet and the truth about their past is threatened to be uncovered to the public.

Overall I thought it was a very dark, bleak and depressing thriller. It was definitely worth a read, as it was well written and very original; the author was certainly brave in taking on the delicate topic of childhood killings. The negative points are that I did not like any of the characters- they were all nasty people, but perhaps this was the point. When I finished the book I was glad, just because it was so dark and depressing- there was no sense of humour added to the storyline like some other well known thrillers.

I would recommend this book to any fans of psychological thrillers or mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of our times, 4 April 2012
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicked Girls (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those books that truly deserves the sobriquet gripping. The story centers around two eleven year old girls who met one summers day in 1986, soon after they became known to the world as the girls who murdered another child. Released with new identities a terrible coincidence brings the two together twenty-five years later. A world where journalists are the news, the year when rioting was the news for a few days and the year a serial killer was at large in Whitmouth.

This story flips backwards and forwards from that fateful day twenty-five years ago and the present day, it is a story about how the media presents a version of the truth, a story about whether there can ever be redemption for those who cause revulsion in the general populace and a story of living a lie. It is a clever book which is well written ratcheting up the tension as matters spiral out of control in Whitmouth. One of the best I have read this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, brilliantly written..., 14 April 2012
This review is from: The Wicked Girls (Kindle Edition)
As the last reviewer said, this is way beyond the standard thriller: it is one of the best novels I have read in recent years. The Wicked Girls is a brilliantly crafted and beautifully written book. It is a buffetting read: Marwood repeatedly ambushes you, playing with your sympathies for the major characters. I finished the book a few weeks ago; the issues it raised are still buzzing around in my head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 342 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wicked Girls
The Wicked Girls by Alex Marwood (Paperback - 21 Jun. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews