Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, fun and entertaining read xXx
I have been sitting on the fence when it has come to Ali McNamara's books. I remember reading From Notting Hill With Love..... Actually and I wasn't over keen I found there was too many film references which to me felt like they took over the book but thinking back I think it could be because I am not a film buff a lot of the references were to films I had not read so in...
Published on 30 Dec. 2012 by realovesbooks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Really disappointed!
Firstly I should say that I am a fan of Ali McNamara so I was waiting this with anticipation following her previous 2 books. It really didn't live up to my expectation or to the quality of the other books by the same author. I appreciate that authors have the privilege of poetic license but this story is just too far fetched-I doubt even Hollywood would script something...
Published on 6 Feb. 2013 by Ssmith


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, fun and entertaining read xXx, 30 Dec. 2012
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: From Notting Hill to New York . . . Actually (The Notting Hill Series) (Paperback)
I have been sitting on the fence when it has come to Ali McNamara's books. I remember reading From Notting Hill With Love..... Actually and I wasn't over keen I found there was too many film references which to me felt like they took over the book but thinking back I think it could be because I am not a film buff a lot of the references were to films I had not read so in a way I didn't understand the book. Then came Breakfast at Darcy's which I loved and was one of my favourite books of 2011 so I was a little nervous about From Notting Hill to New York .... Actually.

Scarlett O'Brien, utterly addicted to romantic films, has found her leading man. She's convinced Sean is Mr Right, but the day-to-day reality of a relationship isn't quite like the movies. With Sean constantly away on business, Scarlett and her new best friend Oscar decide to head to New York for the holiday of a lifetime. From one famous landmark to the next, Scarlett and Oscar make many new friends during their adventure - including sailors in town for Fleet Week, a famous film star, and Jamie & Max, a TV reporter and cameraman. Scarlett finds herself strangely drawn to Jamie, they appear to have much in common: a love of films and Jamie's search for a parent he never knew. But Scarlett has to ask herself why she is reacting like this to another man when she's so in love with Sean . . .

I am not on the fence anymore! I am well and truly in Ali McNamara's garden! I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I didn't have a very open mind when I started the book so it had a lot of work to do to change my mind. What really had me hooked in this book was that there was no way of predicting the big twist that lay ahead in this book. It wasn't until around page 323 that I started to get a little feeling I knew what was about to happen! This gave the book an exciting feel to it.

The descriptive writing that is used around the hot spots of New York is fantastic it is quite clear that the author had taken out great first hand research and her experience is shown in the way she describes the places in the city, I actually feel as though I have seen a good part of New York!

To go along with this fantastic storyline is a great cast of characters all who help to make this an easy 5 star read. Scarlett is a fun, energetic character whose life feels like a constant roller coaster! Her friend Oscar brings a great deal of laughs to the book he is going to be a character you don't forget in a hurry!

My favorite part of the book is the treasure hunt I found myself trying to play along with the clues!

I am so glad my partner brought this for me for Christmas it just goes to show that your opinion can change drastically from book to book. I would definitely recommend this book and I am looking forward to the next book by this author as I am sure there must be a follow on from this book. I will make sure I am front of the queue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, Funny, Romantic - Fab!, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Notting Hill to New York . . . Actually (The Notting Hill Series) (Paperback)
I really loved the first book of this series, and this one did not fail to please. I especially love all books with a New York theme, and when the author knows the city as well as Ali does, it takes me back to this wonderful place.

It picks up where the last book left off two years ago, and it looks like things are not going too well for Scarlett and Sean. Scarlett goes away to New York to see her Dad who is now living there, and invites her friend Oscar along, who I must say makes for hilarious reading!

I like all of the little twists and turns in New York, one part was very unexpected but lovely. Also the treasure hunt at the end was a really lovely touch.

Highly recommended, I really enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything happens for a reason, 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first ever book I've pre-ordered on my kindle. I just couldn't wait for it a second longer than I had to. It lived up to all the expectations I had from the first book and then some. Scarlett's character got even more likeable and I thoroughly enjoyed Oscar's exploits. Jamie and Max were an entertaining pair and Peter and the children at Sunnyside were all adorable. I'd advise not to read until you've read From Notting Hill to Love...Actually, because together they are pure escapism. Absolutely brilliant! Faultless sentiment and characterisation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic with a lot of laugh out loud moments! Fantastic xxxx, 22 Nov. 2012
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: From Notting Hill to New York . . . Actually (The Notting Hill Series) (Paperback)
I have been a big fan of Ali McNamara for ages, and I absolutely loved her novel From Notting Hill With Love...Actually. In fact, it has been read so many times that I know the book off by heart. So when I found out that Ali was releasing an eagerly anticipated sequel, I was so excited and could not WAIT to get started on it! I will just state that although this is a sequel and reading the first book beforehand will help you to know who some of the characters are straight away and more of the background story, as well as having a longer time with the characters and therefore more enjoyment, it is not essential as there is a brief recap given in the first few chapters which allows any new fans to enjoy this book as a standalone.

In From Notting hill To New York...Actually, the scene opens with Scarlett and Sean in their home life. Scarlett, the girl who is addicted to romantic films, is certain she has found her perfect man, her career is going well, and she has a wonderful best friend in the form of Oscar. Life is looking up for her! The only problem is that Sean is regularly away on business, leaving Scarlett feeling as though there is a gap in her life. So when the opportunity arises to go to New York on the holiday of a lifetime, Scarlett and Oscar jump at the chance. In New York, the best friends see the famous sights, get into mischief and look set to have a holiday that will change their lives...

Where do I begin with this? It was AMAZING! This book has everything you could want from a story - It has romance, it has drama, and it has some very funny moments...At times I was having trouble breathing because I was laughing so much, and not just laughing, crying with laughter! From page one we are taken on a whirlwind adventure with Scarlett and Oscar and it is like being on a ride that you want to last forever! I didn't know where the story would take me, and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment!

The book is gripping, if like me you are a huge fan of chick-lit and romantic comedy stories you will not be disappointed one bit. I raced through this book and was up late at night desperate to read more! For all the fans of romantic movies, there is something for you too because there are lots of references to the ultimate movies throughout: You've Got Mail, Sleepless In Seattle, Breakfast At Tiffany's - and this just makes it more enjoyable to read as you re-live scenes from the movies in this story, it adds an extra bit of excitement and sparkle to the chapters.

The characters were EXCEPTIONAL. I don't usually say this but every character brought something special to the story and they were all so well-written that I felt as though I had known these people for my entire life so far. Scarlett is the perfect heroine, she's fun, she has a good heart and she's unpredictable, as a reader I ended up laughing with her at the situations she finds herself in, and I was constantly cheering her on to find her happy ending and for her to succeed in her goals. Oscar was just fantastic, I cannot fault his character at all, I only wish I had a best friend like him in real life! There are plenty of eligible bachelors in the story too - There's Sean who is Scarlett's Mr Right, the handsome TV reporter Jamie, and Peter, who seems to appear out of nowhere and burst into Scarlett's life in a brilliant way. There is also the occasional appearance from drop-dead gorgeous celebrities so keep your eye out for those!

Although the story is one thrilling ride of laughter and fun, there are few serious subjects that are touched on. Ali has beautifully and delicately written about these in a way that gets the message and meaning across, touching the readers heart and weaving these subjects effortlessly into Scarlett's journey.

Ali McNamara has again written a humourous, delightful story about a young woman's journey in the world. It is fun, it is fresh and it is addictive. You will laugh, you will cry and you will be left with a warm feeling, as well as a strong desire to re-read this book and experience the magic and excitement all over again. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Brilliant!, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Synopsis

No one could accuse Scarlett O’Brien of having a boring life. Recently she has sought out her long lost mother, ran out on her fiancé on their wedding day and fell completely in love with another man. This is the stuff of movie plots…which is kind of fitting because Scarlett O’Brien loves the movies. However, over the past few months life has settled down. It is not exactly humdrum but it is certainly less dramatic than it has been in the past.

Scarlett is a stuck in a bit of a rut but when her boyfriend Sean talks her into going to New York for a week to see her dad she jumps at the chance and new adventure (in the only way that Scarlett can cause an adventure) happens and the drama of Scarlett O’Brien returns with a vengeance.

Review

Having only just recently read the predecessor to this book I had second book anxiety. There was no way that I was going to love this book more than the first one. How wrong can a girl be? Ali McNamara nailed it with this sequel. If anything, it is a much more accomplished novel than From Notting Hill with Love…Actually.

Scarlett is such a determined character yet it is often her dogged determination that gets her into all of these scrapes yet somehow she manages to turn things around and make them work for her.

I did start to get a little angry with our heroine midway through the novel as I thought that one of her decisions was running the risk of ruining her relationship with Sean and I really like the character of Sean but as I said earlier Scarlett manages to somehow make things work out for her.

I think what made this book superior to the first one (which by the way was pretty darn fantastic) is that Scarlett has a change in her character in the fact that she is so much more selfless. Her actions in the first book without being selfish were self motivated. In From Notting Hill to New York…Actually we see her as so much more pure and altruistic.

It is this fact and once again hr series of wacky misadventures that make the Actually books so entertaining. I am so excited to read the third in the series – From Notting Hill with Four Weddings…Actually – which was released last week.

From Notting Hill with Love…Actually, From Notting Hill to New York…Actually and From Notting Hill with Four Weddings…Actually by Ali McNamara are all available now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review Ali McNamara - From Notting Hill to New York... Actually, 20 May 2013
This review is from: From Notting Hill to New York . . . Actually (The Notting Hill Series) (Paperback)
Scarlett O'Brien seems to have it all: she has found the love of her life in the form of Sean, with whom she is living together in his lovely Notting Hill mansion and the family business is thriving like never before. However, Sean is a busy man and away on business a lot, which results in Scarlett starting to feel like something is missing from her life. When Sean suggests a trip to New York, Scarlett can't wait to pack her bags and within no time she and her best friend Oscar are on their way to the Big Apple. During the trip, Scarlett meets several interesting people, such as reporter Jamie with whom she has an instant click, and quickly finds herself starring in another celebrity-filled romantic adventure which she had not seen coming...

This novel already has a great basis, because of the same lovely characters that were introduced in the first book: Scarlett (whom I just love as the heroine of this series), Oscar (who plays a bigger role as Scarlett's BFF and managed to crack me up continually with his behaviour and comments), and Sean (who is just the perfect match for Scarlett, a real Prince Charming!). Yet, the several new characters that are introduced such as Jamie, Max, and Peter bring their own special something to the table. I already loved the scene setting at the start of the novel, Notting Hill, but New York obviously brings another level of excitement and fabulousness to the story. I've never been to New York myself, but with this novel it really felt like I was there, visiting all the landmarks and doing the sightseeing. My desire to visit NYC someday has only grown! Next to the well-written characters and the fantastic scene setting, Ali McNamara once again managed to add some fantastic classic romantic movie scenes to the story (from 'Breakfast at Tiffany's' to 'You've Got Mail') and some great celebrity appearances (ladies, be prepared for some entertaining scenes with some seriously good-looking famous men!). Next to all these great elements, the plot itself is really entertaining with not just romance and humour, but also a bit of mystery in it here and there.

If you're a fan of chick lit novels and/or romantic comedies, you must pick up this novel because it is a definite must-read! No worries if you haven't read 'From Notting Hill with Love... Actually'; Ali McNamara gives enough background information to understand the story without having read the first novel. However, I highly recommand starting with the first one, simply because it is also a great novel you don't want to miss out on. Trust me, you will not want to put it down! Some readers might label this book as 'cliched' or 'obvious', but I have to disagree. I think with most chick lit novels you can sometimes slightly predict what is going to happen, but in this case it definitely didn't ruin the story for me. To me, the novel had a certain sparkle, a touch of magic, which resulted in me simply not wanting to put it down and not wanting it to end. Talking about endings, this novel has to have one of my favourite endings of all time... It's quite spectacular! So, overall, an amazing read which has left me with one burning question: when can we expect a third novel?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant sequel..., 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: From Notting Hill to New York . . . Actually (The Notting Hill Series) (Paperback)
Having never read Ali McNamara's book entitled From Notting Hill with Love Actually, I immediately picked up this book which is the second one featuring Scarlett O'Brien. Scarlett O'Brien is a complete addict when it comes to movies, especially the romantic ones. She decides that what she needs is a holiday so decides to visit her father in New York and takes along her best friend Oscar. As soon as she hits US soil you just know that her trip to New York is going to be bedlam.

The first book in the series features Scarlett and her family and friends and I absolutely loved it. However, not wanting to give away any spoilers all I will say is that after the last book it's clear that nothing is straightforward when it comes to Scarlett. While she is visiting all the big attractions in New York she runs into Jamie and Max, a TV reporter and his cameraman. Other than the fact the Jamie and her seem to both love films, she can't understand why she has a sudden connection with him. Especially since she is so in love with her boyfriend?

Along with Oscar, Scarlett and her new friends Jamie and Max seem to get themselves into an awful lot of mischief. There are lots of story threads going on in this book which certainly keeps you interested but for me the winning factor was the characters. Although I really enjoyed the first book I enjoyed this one much more. Oscar is hilarious and I had a firm picture of him from the moment I picked this book up. Scarlett's father, Sean, Jamie, Max, they all added that little something to the story and by the halfway mark I actually felt like I knew these characters inside out.

If you haven't read the first book featuring Scarlett then it's not a problem as Ali McNamara gives you enough background. However, I would highly recommend reading it because it gives you an idea of just how crazy Scarlett is. As with the first book it took me no time at all to finish this book and was pretty gutted when I finished it. I just love the fact that you are transported away from day to day life with Scarlett and her friends. This book won't be for everybody but for me it was an absolute winner. I can't wait to start reading all of McNamara's other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny read, 4 Dec. 2012
This review is from: From Notting Hill to New York . . . Actually (The Notting Hill Series) (Paperback)
Very, very strong 4 stars.
Really nice, fast reading, sometimes just too obvious and too cliche. Scarlett is just so prone to accident but on the other hand she is a really nice person. From time to time I was really desperate with Sean and wanted to slap him, his questions and investigations were too much for me. Oscar - I adored Oscar, he was the best bit in the book and it wouldn't be such a read without him. Please, I want a book about Oscar now :)
Although I must say I'm a little tired with books with NY theme. Going there, falling in love with the city, wanting to stay there... And the last chapters when Scarlett is chasing after the clues were just too much for me. I understand that Ali is in love with the city but I could do without the city guide - although I understand, too, that it must be like this.
The thing with the brooch was at the beginning too obvious for me, as well, but I didn't expect how it is going to end, so no harm done :) All in all, nice ideas mixed with some cliched ones, but nevertheless - super read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Really disappointed!, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Notting Hill to New York . . . Actually (The Notting Hill Series) (Paperback)
Firstly I should say that I am a fan of Ali McNamara so I was waiting this with anticipation following her previous 2 books. It really didn't live up to my expectation or to the quality of the other books by the same author. I appreciate that authors have the privilege of poetic license but this story is just too far fetched-I doubt even Hollywood would script something so far flung. I am all for a bit of escapism in a happy story but there were points in this book that were just laughable. Of course the book shouldn't reflect an average New York trip but you couldn't even dream up half of the antics in this book-it all felt a bit juvenile, like the author had got a bit carried away. All that said the characters are still very likeable and some of the plot is light hearted enough to smile at. On the whole I wouldn't recommend it, my opinion would be that if you can't write a decent sequel then leave the first one alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars from Notting Hill to New York .actually, 19 May 2013
By 
iris (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Notting Hill to New York . . . Actually (The Notting Hill Series) (Paperback)
bought this book more recently .. am so glad I did! I do confess to love chick lit books ! now I have never Ali.s books before so thought I would buy this as it just spoke to me !
I am a fan of films such as Notting Hill and pretty woman as well as love actually and if like me, you love these films this book is for you ! Scarlett is your main leading character and basically her fella whom I am certain she has already labelled as being her Mr right is always away on business and so of course I assume that after a while Scarlett gets bored and with new found friend Oscar finds herself at the airport and heading for the Big Apple although still in love with Mr Right does Scarlett find herself distracted by a new and gorgeous man ? does Scarlet find happiness in New York ? you will have to read on to find out ! this is an absolute must read for all chick lit fans beautifully written ! I give this five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Notting Hill to New York . . . Actually (The Notting Hill Series)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews