Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very impressive first novel
A beautifully written Agatha Christie style mystery with a sympathetic Chief Inspector Armand Gamache in the style of Donna Leon's Commissario Brunetti.
Set in an idyllic village in Quebec with a terrific atmosphere. It has enticed me to buy the next two in the series. Louise Penny also produces a good blog with a monthly newsletter.
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by Granny J

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars will appeal to readers who like their police procedurals with a cozy bent
Still Life is the opening novel in Penny's Chief Inspector Gamache series. The book won the CWA New Blood Dagger in the UK, the CWC Arthur Ellis Award in Canada, and an Anthony Award in the US. The book is a modern twist on the kind of cosies written by Agatha Christie and her ilk, though a police procedural rather than an amateur detective. Cosies are not my favourite...
Published 23 months ago by Rob Kitchin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very impressive first novel, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: Still Life (Paperback)
A beautifully written Agatha Christie style mystery with a sympathetic Chief Inspector Armand Gamache in the style of Donna Leon's Commissario Brunetti.
Set in an idyllic village in Quebec with a terrific atmosphere. It has enticed me to buy the next two in the series. Louise Penny also produces a good blog with a monthly newsletter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real find, 21 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Life: 1 (Chief Inspector Gamache) (Paperback)
I am now on my seventh (sequential) book by Louise Penny in the Armand Gamache series and there is not a "dud" one amongst them. With such a high standard of creative writing from this author I suppose it is a little insulting to expect there might be a below standard book in the series.
Each one is a 'gem' of detective fiction. I'm still wondering how I managed to pass by this author for so long.
Chief Insp.Gamache is in a similar vein to Donna Leon's Brunetti but he is a certainly not a pastiche. Her writing style is very creative and pleasingly individual and the humour - not an overused aspect of the genre - is a welcome treat. The characters are so well realised that you become really involved with them as the novels progress (and they are a mixed and fascinating bunch). At the same time their village of Three Pines draws you in.
There is a sort of Brigadoon feel about Three Pines and despite the murders in the area, it is a place where one could happily go and live. There is no gratuitous violence or reliance on crudity in the novels but neither are they prudish.
Obviously, like any series of books, I can't guarantee that they will be to everyone's taste but i am sure there will be many, like me, who will get thoroughly involved, entertained and be glad they discovered Gamache, Three Pines and its inhabitants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Life, 26 May 2011
By 
P. J. Pearson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Life (Paperback)
Another really well-written novel from this Canadian writer. The story is full of suspense and the characters are well portrayed. I would highly recommend this book to crime-reading enthusiasts like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top-notch cosy village whodunnit set in Quebec with nice cuddly cop with no stock flaws, 14 Oct 2012
By 
J. Sawyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Life: 1 (Chief Inspector Gamache) (Paperback)
I picked this up at a charity stall for 25 pence and spent half a second glancing at the back-cover blurb and took it to be an English police procedural. In fact, it is a cosy village whodunnit set in Quebec. The police are certainly involved but you don't read much about them plodding through computer files or the SOCOs' painstaking work.

The characters are credible and the author is either insightful about people or just has a great imagination. There are plenty of suspects, clues and red herrings. There isn't as much psychological business as there is in, for instance, most U.S. and Scottish crime thrillers (the ones I've read, anyway). Penny successfully misdirected me away from the culprit(s).

I am a slow reader but galloped through this in about four evenings and immediately ordered the second one in the series. As long as you don't mind your crime novels populated by nice, creative, artistic middle-class people (I don't, as I read this kind of thing for escapism), there is plenty here to enjoy. This one is being made into a film with Nathaniel Parker so that sounds rather like Inspector Lynley being relocated but it will probably be watchable. Now let me go off to Olivier's bistro for a coffee and croissant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, 22 Mar 2007
By 
Hugh Sutherland "hughs1206" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Life (Paperback)
Louise Penny has gone against the latest trends in modern crime fiction, blood, gore, forensics, post-mortems, shock tactics and has instead relyed on her talent as a good writer. This novel and author are a refreshing additon to the crime genre.

Her characters and setting are so well created that you can't help but get lost amongst the inhabitants of Three Pines.

The story is interesting and well thought out, with enough hints and clues to keep us guessing.

The only downfall was having to finish it but thnkfully there is more on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvellous mystery, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Life: 1 (Chief Inspector Gamache) (Paperback)
I stumbled across the novels of Louise Penny whilst I was browsing. What a wonderful discovery! Louise Penny's novel has such a sense of place and character, which never lets the reader go from beginning to end. A real tour de force of the genre. I highly recommend her to anyone looking for a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent author!, 29 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs. S. Owen "Sally O" (Aberystwyth, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb murder mystery, combining sympathetic characters with the most wonderful of environments. I want to go to Three Pines, to sit in Gabri's bistro and eat!!
The list of suspects is made up of artists, poets, archers and psychologists, most of whom have escaped the toils of Montreal to enjoy a more tranquil life.

As soon as I finished this, I bought the next one. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORK OF ART, 11 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Life: 1 (Chief Inspector Gamache) (Paperback)
Tragedy strikes Three Pines, an elderly village hidden away in Quebec. Delightful seventy six year old former teacher Jane Neal is found dead, slain by an arrow. A hunting accident or something more sinister? The timing is curious, between two unprecedented events. Just submitted by Jane to an art exhibition has been an extraordinary painting that stunned the judges. Friends have also been amazed by an invitation to her living room, yet to be seen by anyone - for decades a mystery.

Although Jane perishes at the book's start, she dominates all that follows - her artwork the key to everything. Chief Inspector Gamache investigates - soon to be charmed by the village and its quirky inhabitants.

A first novel? This surprises, Gamache and Inspector Beauvoir so firmly portrayed they seem well established characters from a long running series - especially with so many references to previous cases. In fact, everybody here is vividly depicted - many most likeable, some decidedly not. Gamache himself proceeds with insight and compassion (unlike the team's newest recruit Agent Yvette Nichol). The occasional humour enhances - as with Nichol so perplexed by that mirror sticker, "You're looking at the problem."

Like Gamache, many readers may be captivated by Three Pines full of friends so loyal - moved and enchanted by the way Jane has ensured she will always be around.

A truly satisfying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love foreign crime novels, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this author mentioned on dagger awards, downloaded on kindle, enjoyed it, not an author I would wait avidly for the next release so far but I looked forward to reading it on a daily basis and will download next in series I believe a television foray is in the offing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could almost taste the hot chocolate and café lattes from the bistro! The story is so descriptive it is almost tangible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6c4f318)

This product

Still Life: 1 (Chief Inspector Gamache)
Still Life: 1 (Chief Inspector Gamache) by Louise Penny (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews