Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another rollicking good read from Robotham...
After the disappointment of my last crime read it was heartening to seek sanctuary in the criminal bosom of Michael Robotham. Robotham is a firm favourite of mine and once again provides a fine lesson in the craft of crime fiction with an utterly absorbing read. Drawing closely on real-life incidences of child abduction Robotham weaves a compelling tale focusing on the...
Published 23 months ago by Raven

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work. Very predictable.
First Sentence: My name is Piper Hadley and I went missing on the last Saturday of the summer holidays three years ago.

Two girls went missing. After three years, the body of one of the girls is found, frozen and mutilated. Is the other girl still alive? A family has been murdered in a farm house and the house torched. A young man is accused, but...
Published 3 months ago by L. J. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another rollicking good read from Robotham..., 16 Sep 2012
By 
Raven (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Kindle Edition)
After the disappointment of my last crime read it was heartening to seek sanctuary in the criminal bosom of Michael Robotham. Robotham is a firm favourite of mine and once again provides a fine lesson in the craft of crime fiction with an utterly absorbing read. Drawing closely on real-life incidences of child abduction Robotham weaves a compelling tale focusing on the case of two missing teenage girls and the changing public perceptions of the both the case and the two as individuals under the glare of media scrutiny and the heightened sense of purpose the police investigation gains when one of the girls turns up dead. Once again clinical psychologist Joe O'Loughlin is called to assist in this troubling case and with the help of retired policeman Vincent Ruiz, seeks to determine the whereabouts of the remaining missing girl. The plot is taut and throws up many a quandary for our loveable duo as the investigation unfolds in different directions but what this book highlights more than most is Robotham's consistently great characterisation.

This was particularly noticeable in Robotham's portrayal of Piper Hadley a sporty and slightly ungainly teenager but who during her enforced incarceration is revealed as a very perceptive and thoughtful girl grappling mentally and physically with the challenges of the danger she finds herself in. The sections of the book where she narrates her day-to-day suffering at the hands of her abductor are truly moving and incredibly well-realised. I liked the way that her experiences are offset by the traumas caused by Joe's own teenage daughter Charlie as she navigates her way through these difficult years, at times to the chagrin of her father, as she herself has been held captive in a previous criminal investigation involving Joe. Hence Joe draws on the feelings he had when his own daughter was abducted to aid his own mission to try and ensure the safe return of Piper to her family. On the theme of characterisation we are once again witness to the good-natured ribbing and heartfelt friendship and respect between Joe and Vincent. I adore Vincent despite his propensity for being an eminently unsuitable husband but totally counterbalanced by his mix of intuitive and ballsy approach to police work retired or not. Joe also finds himself involved in a little extra-curricular romantic action which added another facet to plot as well highlighting his slightly rusty skills with the fairer sex!

All in all this is a great read with a perfectly balanced plot, skilled characterisation and dialogue and just a twist or two along the way to add to the tense and thrilling denouement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A class apart, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Kindle Edition)
Say You're Sorry is one of the most gripping thrillers I have read in years. Dealing with the story of abduction and the way young women are seen in our society the book not only delivers toe-curling thrills but also takes a long hard look at sexuality and societal expectations. Throughout the book we not only see it from Joe O'Loughlin's POV but also have sight of the diary of Piper one of the young women who was abducted. Reading her story I was reminded of 'The Collector' and although the books are very different I think Robotham surpasses Fowles in delivering a wholly realistic narration of a young girl struggling in the most extreme circumstances. Cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one from a favourite author, 9 April 2013
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Hardcover)
Clinical psychologist Joe O'Loughlin is back helping the police deal with the case of two girls who disappeared three years earlier. Vincent Ruiz, his ex-policeman buddy, plays a cameo role in providing support. The story is told here in two first person accounts, one being Joe's.

I have to admire Robotham's consistently high levels of skill as a narrator. The plot is well-constructed and throws up a number of viable contenders as possible kidnappers. He also writes with great insights and throws in occasional gems of wit. Joe is flawed, and medically burdened by Parkinson's, but remains such a likable character. His interactions with his friend Vincent also round things off for his followers, like me.

Some Amazon.com reviewers have criticised Robotham for writing a book about abuse. Although the core theme is disturbing, there is nothing graphic in the writing.

Robotham is a very impressive author and this book is up there with his best novels. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb thriller, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Kindle Edition)
The author is a well accomplished writer within the thriller genre. Say you are sorry proves the point clearly.The psychological aspect is insightful and well researched. It is a complex subject, as it gives you an insight into the human mind and what triggers their behaviour. The tonne is straight away set from the opening pages. It is all ready, set and go from the first page, as if you are in a race circuit. The plot is gripping, thrilling and enthralling. It concerns the disappearance of two teenagers in a small town. What prompted their sudden disappearances? Clinical psychologist works in conjunction with the police force to assist in the investigation. His approach is different from the police. There are few suspects in the picture. It is a guessing game, as you never know what to expect. The trail becomes warm. The pace increases, as you flip every page.The author knows how to keep readers interested with a cracking plot. It is filled with a dark atmosphere and high levels of suspense. Michael Robotham's forte is writing quality thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Kindle Edition)
I love Michael Rowbotham, the pages turn so fast and I enjoyed it so much I started reading it again straight away. Having the story coming from both the captive and the investigating team was great, got this on my kindle then brought the book to share round my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, difficult, wonderful, 30 July 2013
By 
covergirl14 (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Kindle Edition)
It takes some guts and not a small amount of skill to write about the disappearance of two young girls, especially when the author is so keen to mention real-life, recent, tragic cases and names. I did wonder where this was going - it could have been so voyeuristic and tasteless - but luckily, this is an author who can handle huge issues with some aplomb. It's never crass or graphic, and really opens the reader's eyes to the manipulation of the public by the media during these cases. Our perception of a missing girl relies solely on what the media are feeding us, and sometimes what the police are feeding the media. It leaves a bitter taste in the mouth.
It's a bittersweet novel all round, sometimes as ice-cold as the Oxfordshire fields in winter, other times raising a wry smile as Joe O'Loughlin battles with his troublesome daughter and rusty love life.
Robotham generally does pretty well with the narrative voice of Piper - it can't be easy for a middle-aged bloke to get into the head of a teenage girl - and only really slips up on some time-line issues. Would Piper, born in around 1993 by my reckoning, really recall all the teddies and candles at Diana's funeral? Would her peers really be called Gerard or Monica? And surely her mother couldn't have been a 'debutante' - the last one was presented in 1958? Sometimes Piper seems much, much older than fifteen and it jars a bit. I can hear the man with a lot more life behind him coming out in her voice!
A minor issue though, and a really cracking read. I will now go and read all his other books pronto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down, 24 Jan 2013
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Hardcover)
This is the first book I've read by Australian crime writer Michael Robotham. I found it very hard to put down - as evidenced by the fact that I read it in two sittings. The main character, Joe O'Loughlin, is a clinical psychologist who assists the police with criminal profiles. He has featured in several of Robotham's previous books, the events of some of which are referred to over the course of this book, but I did not find it a problem to have not read the others previously (nor feel that they are now spoiled for me).

O'Loughlin is asked to consult on a the mental stability of a suspect who has been arrested after the murder of a husband and wife in a remote farmhouse. He begins to suspect that there may be a connection between this case and the disappearance of two teenage girls from the area three years previously. At the same time, one of the missing girls is narrating her story from captivity. It's not the most original plot formula in the world, but it's very well told and holds your attention from the first page through to the last. I enjoyed it very much and will definitely be tracking down other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from start to finish, 15 Jun 2014
By 
G. Perfect (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Kindle Edition)
After reading my first Michael Rowbotham novel I am hooked! He is everything I look for in a good author. Gripping story. Great and believable characters, humour and a mystery thriller. A chriminal psychologist who is unique. Human and witty. I'm on my second novel of his straight after I read SAY YOUR SORRY. It's called SHATTER I can't put it down. I have recommended it to friends and family and they are all hooked now! Can't wait to read the rest of this wonderful writer's other novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, unputdownable thriller, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Kindle Edition)
Having read quite a few of Michael Robotham's, mostly of which I really liked but a couple where I found the main character irritating and obnoxious, wasn't sure what I was getting into. However, had me gripped from the first few pages. Very well written, disturbing and keeps you guessing as to what is going to happen. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional roller coaster !!!!, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Kindle Edition)
Wow emotionally drained, what a book, , I so wanted them to survive, Brilliant, fantastic, Congrats to Michael Robotham Amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Say You're Sorry (Joe O'loughlin 5)
Say You're Sorry (Joe O'loughlin 5) by Michael Robotham (Paperback - 18 July 2013)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews