Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Devils Edge
As always an exceptionally good read by one of my favourite authors. If you like crime fiction I recommend Steven Booth as he really brings his characters to life.
Published 19 months ago by Mrs Lesley Collins

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT PETER JAMES ...
This was recommended to me as "if you like Peter James then you'll love this." I presume they were having a laugh. This is turgid. Dull characters, with a plot (such as it is) full of holes. It is SO slow, with endless irrelevant pages about reorganisation of police forces and pointless descriptions of the Peak District, like some dreary guide book, So I'll stick to the...
Published 1 month ago by Ronaldo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Devils Edge, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Edge (Paperback)
As always an exceptionally good read by one of my favourite authors. If you like crime fiction I recommend Steven Booth as he really brings his characters to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 26 July 2012
By 
Anne "anne22998" (Orpington, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first Booth book I have read. I will definitely be downloading more, although I would probably recommend not starting with this one as there were too many allusions to past events and interactions between the characters which got a bit in the way of the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Devil's Edge, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Edge (Paperback)
One of the best and most exciting Stephen Booth has written. The final twelve pages are so detailed and descriptive that the reader is drawn into feeling that he, or she, is actually there with the people in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good Cooper and Fry mystery, 25 Feb 2012
By 
Marleen (Cavan, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
When a woman is found dead in her kitchen, with her husband severely injured in the living room, it appears to Detective Sergeant Ben Cooper and his colleagues that they're dealing with a home invasion and robbery gone wrong. The surrounding area has seen lots of break-ins in the recent past, all credited to a gang named the Savages by the press, and although those earlier crimes didn't involved murder, this one appears to fit the profile.
Riddings, the village in which the crime has taken place is a very affluent place with expensive properties and lots of security and privacy measures, yet no one appears to have seen or heard anything, apart from one man, the self-appointed neighbourhood watcher. It is also an area with lots of spoken and unspoken tension and resentment between neighbours.
When another break-in takes place, resulting in one person dying from fright, Ben Cooper starts to have doubts about the Savages being involved. His hunches have been spot on in the past, but he knows not to share them until he can find some prove. He is convinced though that the reason behind these attacks should be sought in Riddings itself, and not in some outside gang.
In the end, it will be surrounding area and specifically the sinister mountain ridge called the Devil's Edge which will provide the answers Cooper needs, as well as a dramatic finale and one more death.
Meanwhile Diane Fry has been side-lined and finds herself going to workshops about police reorganisation. When disaster strikes close to Ben Cooper's life though, it will be Fry who oversees the case and provides the answers, with Cooper having to worry from far away.

Stephen Booth's Cooper and Fry mysteries are always well plotted and realistic. His stories seem all too plausible and true to life, which makes them scarier than a spectacular crime plot could ever be.
In these atmospheric books the surrounding area with it's moors and danger spots is as much of a character as the humans are, adding a darkness all of its own. The descriptions of the landscapes are almost better and easier to visualise then Booth's portraits of his human characters.
Booth writes realistic characters though. Nobody is without faults and weaknesses, although some have more then others. While Cooper is an overall sympathetic character, Diane Fry has too many personal issues and is too self-obsessed to win much sympathy from the reader. The interaction between Fry and Cooper is fascinating though, even if there wasn't a lot of it in this book. I do hope that Booth will resolve Fry's future soon so that she can play a bigger part in future stories and get back to her complicated but fascinating relationship with Ben Cooper.
The last few paragraphs of the book in which new character Carol Villiers, a childhood friend of Cooper's, is seen by him getting into Fry's car leaves intriguing possibilities for future developments. Hopefully the wait until we find out more won't be too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 13 Jun 2011
An excellent novel from the pen of Stephen Booth.The proposed TV series should be good,providing they get the casting right and dont use actors who are "flavour of the month"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The devils edge is another good book in the Cooper and Fry series. Quite different from the previous ones and just as enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic , up to his usual standards, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Edge (Paperback)
I would recomend you read his series in order.
At Amazon prices this is possible.
This book is perfect and I cant wait till his next release. This latest is called (The Devils Edge]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Devil's Edge, 1 Oct 2011
By 
Gloria Feit (Long Beach, NY) - See all my reviews
Devil's Edge is a fairly insular world, defined, geographically at least, by the cliff edges which surround it. This book is, in a similar way, equally circumscribed. As the reader is told on the opening page, "It was one of the drawbacks of living in the countryside. Too much of the outside world intruding. Too many things it was impossible to keep out." In this novel, the outside world, and the aspects of it one would most like to keep out, intrudes in the worst way. On the eastern fringe of the Peak District, in the village of Riddings, in rural Derbyshire, there has been a rash of break-ins. The burglars have been dubbed The Savages by the press. The newest incidents escalate the anxiety when they suddenly turn deadly. The author speaks of the residents having sought sanctuary in the rural haven, noting, however, that "everyone had monsters in their lives." Suspicion turns from looking for an outside group of burglars to someone from within the community, targeting the victims, for reasons far more personal.

Recently promoted D.S. Ben Cooper is assigned the investigation. He, particularly, believes it is not the work of The Savages, being much more meticulously planned and leaving no trace of the culprit[s].

D.S. Diane Fry, formerly with the West Midlands Police "in the days before she transferred to yokel land," is brought back into the squad to take over the investigation after an almost unimaginable turn of events changes Ben Cooper's life forever. Despite the past ambivalence of their relationship, where they were both vying for the same promotion, their usually well-concealed respect for each other is here on display.

The author's descriptions bring the land to palpable life, e.g., "the distant rocky outcrops seemed to change shape. They slid slowly sideways, merged and divided, their outlines shifting from smooth to jagged to a distinctive silhouette. It was all the effect of altering angle and perspective. With each step, a transformation took place in the landscape, a gradual reveal like the slow drawing aside of a curtain. At a point halfway across the flats, a split rock he hadn't noticed before came into view. As it emerged from behind a larger boulder, its two halves slowly parted and turned, like the hands of a clock creeping past noon." Simply gorgeous. [The landscape, and the writing, that is.]

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perspective on this book, 5 Jun 2011
By 
T. Smith (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If a reader understands that the part of Derbyshire Ben works in is fictional, and can cope with the consequences (I can), then this book is another winner that bounds along, taking the story and the reader on an exciting adventure. I don't recognise the criticisms in the other reviewers' entries - I suppose it depends on your attitude. It was an exciting, engrossing read and can recommend it to anyone who likes this genre of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars NOT PETER JAMES ..., 22 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Devil's Edge (Paperback)
This was recommended to me as "if you like Peter James then you'll love this." I presume they were having a laugh. This is turgid. Dull characters, with a plot (such as it is) full of holes. It is SO slow, with endless irrelevant pages about reorganisation of police forces and pointless descriptions of the Peak District, like some dreary guide book, So I'll stick to the excellent Mr James thank you very much, and if you haven'r read any of his Roy Grace novels I would urge you to do so before wasting your time on this rubbish .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil's Edge
The Devil's Edge by Stephen Booth (Paperback - 7 Jun 2012)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews