Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRAWLERMAN
Ihave been looking forward to this book since I heard that Jimmy was to write a book.I was not dissapointed.It was very well written,and once I had started reading I could not put it down.As an ex fisherman i was taken back to the days when i started the Fishing,Back in 1958.Shear hard work and a good paying job.Jimmy describes it all and I had some really great memories...
Published on 5 Jun 2011 by JAMIE

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TRAWLERMAN
This is a book that at the start promises interest with conflict and danger. However whilst there are passages in the book that relate to the constant threat to trawlermen from the elements these take a backseat. There is lengthy discussion about the rules and regulations imposed on fishermen and the hardship that results. Important and significant to the developing...
Published on 16 Mar 2012 by Sally


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRAWLERMAN, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: Trawlerman: Life at the Helm of the Toughest Job in Britain (Paperback)
Ihave been looking forward to this book since I heard that Jimmy was to write a book.I was not dissapointed.It was very well written,and once I had started reading I could not put it down.As an ex fisherman i was taken back to the days when i started the Fishing,Back in 1958.Shear hard work and a good paying job.Jimmy describes it all and I had some really great memories of the fishing.Like Jimmy I started off as Engineer after i completed National Service in th Royal Navy and i worked my way up to 1st mate and skipper.Lots of good times in his book and lots of sensible suggestions for the future of the Fishing.Well worth waiting for and a really Good read.Trawlerman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 7 Aug 2011
By 
E. Winter (NEAR EDINBURGH SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trawlerman (Kindle Edition)
I watched the tv serial program about these wonderful men who go to sea and the book was wonderful I enjoyed it as it was so easy to picture what was going on.
My thanks to these brave men who have the sea in their blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A view of the fishing industry from an insider, 18 Jun 2011
This review is from: Trawlerman: Life at the Helm of the Toughest Job in Britain (Paperback)
Jimmy provides a pithy and no nonesense view of the fishing industry and the dangerous conditions that prevail on the North Sea. Having read this book you'll never look at a plate of fish again in quite the same way without wondering quite how hard people had to work in dangerous conditions to get it to you. As an added bonus I bought my copy from Jimmy on board Amity 2 when he was in London promoting the Fisherman's Mission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TRAWLERMAN, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: Trawlerman (Kindle Edition)
This is a book that at the start promises interest with conflict and danger. However whilst there are passages in the book that relate to the constant threat to trawlermen from the elements these take a backseat. There is lengthy discussion about the rules and regulations imposed on fishermen and the hardship that results. Important and significant to the developing history of the UK fishing industry but not ultimatey of great interest to a reader who is not so closely connected to the fishing fleet. Nevertheless a well written book by a larger than life character who demands respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trawlerman: Life at the Helm of the Toughest Job in Britain (Paperback)
I brought this for my husband who is a big fan of the show and he loved reading so much he has read it at lest 3 times already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compassionate and interesting, 17 Jun 2013
By 
D. Miller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trawlerman: Life at the Helm of the Toughest Job in Britain (Paperback)
I bought this book for reference for some writing of my own. Jimmy Buchan puts you right on the deck in the foulest of weather in the biggest seas creating a picture of the hardest job in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not so much a biography of a man, but of an entire way of life,, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trawlerman: Life at the Helm of the Toughest Job in Britain (Paperback)
Not so much a biography of a man, but of an entire way of life, "Trawlerman" was a privilege to read from beginning to end. I found it a very good and liked the fact that he put in the funny side, as well as the danger, and boring times.
I think that even if you have had nothing to do with the sea, it is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TRAWLERMEN JIMMY BUCKHAN, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trawlerman (Kindle Edition)
the book had me sat in the wheel house stinking fish and holding on for life you don't have to know about the sea YOU WILL IN THE END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect holiday reading, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trawlerman: Life at the Helm of the Toughest Job in Britain (Paperback)
I bought this for my husband to read on holiday as a complete change from his usual work/technical stuff. He is a fan of the TV series and this book gives a lot of background information in far more detail. He thoroughly enjoyed it and is even more impressed by "Trawlermen" if that's possible. A book to keep and read again when he thinks he's under pressure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my fisherman other half, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trawlerman: Life at the Helm of the Toughest Job in Britain (Paperback)
Bought this book for my other half who has his own trawler boat too, so alot of what Jimmy writes he can relate to, and when asked says its a good read :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trawlerman: Life at the Helm of the Toughest Job in Britain
Trawlerman: Life at the Helm of the Toughest Job in Britain by Jimmy Buchan (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
6.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews