Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Read
Kay is called to a murder of a reporter, Ted Eddings on New Year's Eve. The body is found underwater, which gives the reader Kay's first underwater crime scene. This cases pulls together Lucy, Pete and Benton as further murders follow. The story weaves in the usual dectective work with the high tec world of Lucy. As with all Scarpetta novels, the lives of the characters...
Published on 3 May 2004 by Victoria Megginson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
'Cause of Death' is the seventh book in the Kay Scarpetta series from Patricia Cornwell and begins when a reporter is found dead in the icy waters of the Elizabeth River in Virginia. This then leads Scarpetta, Marino, Wesley and Lucy into the world of terrorism when the death is found to be related to an investigation into the terrorist group The New Zionists...
Published on 19 Nov 2007 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Read, 3 May 2004
By 
Kay is called to a murder of a reporter, Ted Eddings on New Year's Eve. The body is found underwater, which gives the reader Kay's first underwater crime scene. This cases pulls together Lucy, Pete and Benton as further murders follow. The story weaves in the usual dectective work with the high tec world of Lucy. As with all Scarpetta novels, the lives of the characters have significantly moved on since the last novel, you are only given snipbits of information at a time to try and piece together what has happened in the intervening time period. Another great novel. The relationship between the key characters just gets better and better and there is a part of me that is routing for Marino and Kay to get it toegther - who knows....??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 19 Nov 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
'Cause of Death' is the seventh book in the Kay Scarpetta series from Patricia Cornwell and begins when a reporter is found dead in the icy waters of the Elizabeth River in Virginia. This then leads Scarpetta, Marino, Wesley and Lucy into the world of terrorism when the death is found to be related to an investigation into the terrorist group The New Zionists.

I've been reading through the Scarpetta novels in order for about a year now and this was the first one that didn't really grip me at all and in places I was even a little bored. The Kay/Benton relationship is also getting a little tiresome as well as Kay's over-protective relationship and over-exageratted problems with her neice Lucy.

The actual murder investigation is ok, if a little unbeliveable. I did find it interesting how forensics were becoming more advanced at the time that the book was written, as some of the procedures and equipment used are things that are fairly basic in this day and age and really made me think how things have rapidly progressed over the past 10 years.

Overall it is a fairly entertaining read for the most part that unfortunately does get a little boring at points, but is one that regulars to the series should read to keep up to date with the flow of the series. If you're new to the Cornwell books, I'd definitely start at the beginning (Postmortem) as the first six books are much better thank this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves, 7 Oct 2007
By 
The first half of the book was quite good - Scarpetta was doing her job etc etc (although the reference to Lucy listening to Melissa Etheridge was a bit hamfisted). However, the second half of the book was ridiculous! Dr Scarpetta goes from being the literary equivalent of Quincy to become some kind of undercover CIA operative! I mean, I don't expect my fiction to be believable, but I don't expect it to be this unbelievable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cause Of Death, 23 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Cause Of Death (Scarpetta Novels) (Paperback)
This is another good read in the Kay Scarpetta series. This book centres around the death of a reporter Ted Eddings who is found in icy water. This then leads into another investigation a scond murder and a also a police cover up. You still have your other main characters aswell Lucy, Marino and Wesley. I liked this book as it one of her old ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cause of Death, 21 Jan 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
After rattling through this, the seventh, instalment in the Dr Kay Scarpetta series, I had the blinding revelation that I'd done all this before.
Although the book is just as solidly written and accurate as all the others, it is basically the same plot with slightly different scenery. Here you have Scarpetta on the trail of the perpetrator of the latest big news murders. Here you have Scarpetta verbally fencing with Marino in their own special brand of love/hate relationship. Here you have Scarpetta fretting and concerned about both her professional and personal relationship with FBI profiler Benton Wesley. Here you have Scarpetta playing both mother hen and fighting with niece Lucy as she struggles with her sexuality and her own professional life.
And to top it all, the book ends with Scarpetta saving the day as once again this medical examiner gets herself into the most unlikely of SWAT team action situations.
As I say, don't get me wrong, the book is good. It ticks along nicely, the evidence and clues are intriguing and educational and as ever the supporting characters are great, Marino especially. I'm just happy to say that the next book is set in Ireland and I'm hoping for something with slightly different angles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stretching credibility, 15 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cause Of Death (Audio Cassette)
This was the 4th or 5th Scarpetta novel I'd read. In a number of others it was difficult to believe how she managed to be so closely involved in so many parts of the cases. This one takes that beyond the limit of credibility.
I don't think it gives away the plot, but several areas are totally unbelievable: how does her ex-assistant get a job in London without any references? How on earth did the terrorists expect to get their contraband to the destination once they had recovered it from the site? Was Kay Scarpetta really the only person who could make the trip to London (in the middle of a national emergency), or gone into the middle of the siege? Is it likely that the same small group of characters from different agencies would be involved in so many cases together?
From their reputation, I was expecting far more realistic stories from this series, I am dissapointed. Ms Cornwell should stick to what she does well (the procedural stuff and some of the characterisation) and not stray into Tom Clancy territory (especially when it is done as badly as here).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another Kay Scarpetta mystery is solved albeit slowly, 7 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Cause Of Death (Paperback)
I was rather disappointed with this slow moving story. The plot is barely credible and ends rather abruptly leaving the reader with many unanswered questions. As a fan of the early books, I find this one to be a poor rehash of the same old formula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one, 3 July 2014
By 
Denise Copley (Chesterfield, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Five stars for Scarpetta and co. I have read every book already but thought I'd revisit them, so glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Book, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the book and they are so easy to download. My kindle is always with me so can be read any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Irritating, 24 Feb 2014
By 
A. H. Mccormack (St Helens, Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read all Patricia Cornwells books in the Scarpetta series but this one irritated the hell out of me. Her constant putting of adjectives before the verbs really grated on my nerves. Eg but not literally, "she moodily looked", "he manfully said". Plus if I was related to the incredibly rude and impertinent Lucy she'd have felt the back of my hand long since. And why anyone would carry on with the smug, self satisfied Benton is beyond me.

That said,in will read the next one in the hope that Patricia finds her way back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cause Of Death (Scarpetta Novels)
Cause Of Death (Scarpetta Novels) by Patricia Cornwell (Paperback - 13 Jan 2011)
6.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews