Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sold-by thier father
This is a story about to girls sold by their father too young boys from villages in the Yemen or possibly an arrangement done between the fathers of the two boys and the girls' father.

THe girls thought they were going on holiday with Mohammed and his dad. Originally it was planned that only Nadia goes to see the Yemen for a break from everything that happen to...
Published on 8 Sep 2006 by M. Mukhtar

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good story
I thought that this was a good story but didn't like the way it was written so it was quite har to read and keep going.
Published 24 months ago by Lawsy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sold-by thier father, 8 Sep 2006
By 
M. Mukhtar "Moazma" (UK, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a story about to girls sold by their father too young boys from villages in the Yemen or possibly an arrangement done between the fathers of the two boys and the girls' father.

THe girls thought they were going on holiday with Mohammed and his dad. Originally it was planned that only Nadia goes to see the Yemen for a break from everything that happen to her in the UK over the months. Then Zana the older protective sister felt that she should accompany her sister to protect her incase something happened to her.

Thier father had arranged marriages for these girls. Nadia got married to Mohammed. She realised she was married when she reached the Yemen. Zana was married to another boy who was her dad's friends' son. Fake marriege certiificate were drawn up without the girls and their mother being aware of this. The fathers passed the girls as married without the girls saying I do three times (which is islam law for marriages). They were forced to live with husbands that were not really husbands).

The girls were left to doing daily chores as cooking, bring water daily from te wells (which were miles away from where they lived), cleaning, etc, while the rest of the families just watched them. Zana struggled more then Nadia as she was made to live with a husband that was a thin ill boy and she hated her father in-law.

Zana wanted to go home and Nadia too but not without her children. Therefore Zana decided to leave with the help of the UK press leaving behind a son. On the other hand Nadia stayed behid to be with her children.

This is a story of a mother and sister fighting to bring thier beloved Nadia home from her poor life in the Yemen and back where her family were.

This is a story about two sisters that were inseparable but had to live apart.

Countries such as the Yemen mix tradition, culture with religion and make their own law; which these girls had to live by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember: There is always someone worse off than you!, 26 May 2004
By 
KAT (Kettering, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I was first introduced to Zana's plight through a documentary about her story that I watched during an RE lesson at school. I was appauled by her story, that this can happen in the modern world and still continues today. Reading the book was even harder. I felt so sorry for Zana and it made me realise just how lucky I was to live in a 'Free' country where we can make the most of Equal Oppertunities. Zana's story is a nightmare come true, but I admire her for her courage and determination to get back home - which she has done, and I also admire her strength and courage to continue her fight against the political red tape that is stopping her sister being free. Reading the book brings out a range of emotions for the reader: Sympathy for Zana and Nadia, Hatred and Anger towards the men that inflicted this pain and misery on them, and for the authorities that chose to ignore their situation, and admiration for their brave mother who overcame seemingly insurmountable odds to try to free the daughters she loves. It makes you cry but at the same time you can't put it down, and when you do you have to read the sequal 'A Promise to Nadia'. I often wonder how I would cope under Nadia's cicumstances, and I think I know the answer: I wouldn't. Zana and Nadia's strenth and determination inspires you and forces you to take a good look at the world we live in as well as reminding you never to take anything especially your freedom for granted. It also proves that the old Cliche is true: There is always someone out there worse off than you! So next time you're having 'one of those days' think of Nadia Muhsen, millions of miles away from her family - she'd give anything to be back in Britain and have 'one of those days' again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***Highly Recommended***, 1 Oct 2006
This has to be one of the most moving and disturbing stories I have ever read. "SOLD" is about Zana Muhsen, a young 15 year old and her younger sister, Nadia 14, who lived in Birmingham. Their father tricked them into going to Yemen. They willingly went to Yemen thinking that they were going on a "holiday of a life time". But instead they were sold by their father and thrown into an illegal marriage. They were made slaves and used for sex.

This story tells us of a traumatic experience of two young girls and their mother's battle to free her children. I am actually appalled that the government allows this to happen and the way women are treated in remote villages. This book shows how people (MEN) can be so naïve and to misunderstand the Quran and treat their women like slaves. This saddens me to think that this STILL happens.

This book is a good read and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 7 Mar 2006
By 
moazma (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This book is very interesting and unbelievable that things like this can happen in a muslim country. How can religious men pass these two young girls as being wifes to those Yemen men without them saying 'they do' three times and how such comunities allow people to get away with this.
This book is gripping and encourages the reader to read on and on until the there is a happy ending. There is still no happy ending until Nadia is freed from the Yemen with her children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a sad, touching and EXTREMELY important book!!!, 11 July 2001
By A Customer
I was given this book by a friend to read,and I was completely engrossed from page 1. The horrors of the tale of Zana, Nadia, their mother and their children brought tears to my eyes. What frightens me most about this story is the fact that I was ignorant to the facts of what these women have and continue to experience and how this could actually happen. I have just ordered Zana's follow up "A Promise To Nadia" and I am praying for a happy ending to this tragic story. If you have not yet read this book then read it, you will experience emotions of sadness, grief and anger but the insight into this negative side of our world is shocking yet extremely important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sold, 27 Nov 2005
By A Customer
'Sold' is an emotional story, my heart goes out to Zana and her sister Nadia for having to go through that all that ordeal. Its hard to believe that things like this happen, let alone are still happening. Things that the two sisters went through, was unbelievable yet terrible. It really opened up my eyes. This book was a great and compelling read......each page as gripping as the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometime's it hard to know who to trust these days., 30 Mar 2000
By A Customer
"Sold" is a perfect example of a true story where two young girls believed that their father was going to take them on an overseas Hoilday. How could such a cruel and senseless man "sell" his own flesh and blood? He did it once before and then did it again. We must put a stop to this terrible terrible crime. By reading Zana's book and her Mother's book " Without Mercy" made me realise just how lucky I am and how fortunate my life has been. God bless you Zana and Miriam may we all see Nadia and the children home with you very very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book had me sold., 10 Mar 2007
By 
KAT "tatethegr8" (Kettering Northants) - See all my reviews
Zana Muhsen and her younger sister Nadia were thrilled when they learned that their father had paid for them to go on the trip of a life time. Faraway from their native Birmingham, they'd have two blissfull weeks of Sea, sand, and spectacular views in their fathers native Yemeni homeland. Due to legal discrepancies concerning the then 14 year old Nadia, Zana, 15 went on ahead of her little sister. Expecting blissful views, bare-back dessert camel rides and tropical seas - what she got was the shock of her life. On arriving in the desolate far away land Zana discovered to her horror that her father had literally sold herself and her sister into marriage and that, unable to warn her sister of her impending doom, they were now helplessly trapped! Spirited away deep into the deselate mountains of the Mokbana region where they found themselves well beyond all outside help, the two sisters were forced to endure life in terrible peasant conditions.Outwardly forced to become good Yemeni wives, behind closed doors the sisters were subjected to the horror of rape, frequent beatings and the terrifying ordeal of Child Birth in the raw with no pain relief or hospital care.

It took eight long torturous years for Zana to escape her life of hell, but when she touched back down on to English soil the world was desperate to hear her story. An now here it is, finally, in her own words. This is a remarkable true story of one families fight against red tape, racism and beaurocracy. It is a story that has left nations divided, a family torn apart and forced two cultures to clash head long into each other.

Sadly, though there is no happy-ever-after to this book. Zana may have finally made it home, but her story does not have a happy ending. Sadly, Nadia did not manage to escape, and Zana was forced to leave her baby son behind. (Her story is continued in 'A Promise To Nadia')

This story is utterly unbelievable, how one person can be so callous and unappologetic as their father, selling his own flesh and blood into a live of slavery for his own evil gains. But while this book is a painful read and tremendously tear-jerking, when you have finished it really makes you appreciate how lucky you are to live in a civilization where you have free-will and equal rights. It really shows you the other side of life, the power of hope, love and belief and above all the strength of the human spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Experinece, 13 Oct 2005
I bought this book on holiday in Pakistan and started to read it there and bought it back with me, it's a book that I couldn't put down until the end, I haven't read a book in ages, but this book just makes you think about how luck you are, and that their are some unlucky people in the worlds too, I defiantly going to buy the next book, promise to Nadia and see what happens, I would recommend this book to everyone, go on and buy it and read you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 26 Mar 2002
By A Customer
I have read the book SOLD twice now. All I can say is that I never imagined things like this still happen. My heart goes out to Zana. She had to leave her beloved sister Nadia and son Marcus behind. What a woman of strength and courage. The second book a promise to Nadia is just as heart breaking. I wish I knew how this sad story ends. Buy and read it, I promise it will haunt you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sold: One woman's true account of modern slavery
Sold: One woman's true account of modern slavery by Andrew Crofts (Paperback - 7 Oct 2010)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews