Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... a mind blowing supernatural suspense thriller
Stephen M Irwin's `The Darkening' is a mind-blowing supernatural suspense thriller. Read this book and I guarantee you'll sleep with the lights on!

After his wife's death, Nicholas, a man haunted by the past and the disconcerting fact that he sees dead people, leaves London and returns to his home town in Australia. A town which has altered little since he...
Published on 15 Mar 2010 by Karen Baxter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really? Sleep with the lights on
Bought this book because of the first review on amazon, where the person described the book as harrowing, and you will sleep with the lights on. Well I am sorry to say, but I love horrors and this did not fall into that category for me. I felt the writer had tried to do a Stephen King, but with his own lines.
It sadly did not work, you could see the Stephen King,...
Published 1 month ago by rattyratbag


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... a mind blowing supernatural suspense thriller, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Karen Baxter (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Darkening (Paperback)
Stephen M Irwin's `The Darkening' is a mind-blowing supernatural suspense thriller. Read this book and I guarantee you'll sleep with the lights on!

After his wife's death, Nicholas, a man haunted by the past and the disconcerting fact that he sees dead people, leaves London and returns to his home town in Australia. A town which has altered little since he left twenty years before.

Even `The Woods' have, somehow, escaped change, and ... something is lurking in The Woods and it knows that Nicholas is back!

Nicholas was ten years old when he discovered with his friend Tristam a gruesome talisman near The Woods. Tristram's body was found dead the next day. Now another child goes missing and Nicholas becomes a suspect.

Second sight, herbal traditions and runes appear throughout the book ... plenty for reading groups to discuss. Also look out for a powerful and primordial force known as `The Green Man' who surfaces towards the end of the novel.

Protagonist Nicholas, Suzette (Nicholas' sister) a self confessed witch and firmly on the side of good, Mrs Quill an adversary seen to be evil, Hannah the story's unlikely heroine and many others are all characterised skilfully by Mr. Irwin.

The author's unique prose being razor sharp, menacing and incredibly atmospheric made my flesh crawl and the hairs on my neck stand on end ... What more could one ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing book, 29 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Darkening (Paperback)
I am usually picking up Thrillers from the book charts, secretly hoping for a good psychological thriller or supernatural thriller to emerge from the masses of over produced crime thrillers that litter the shelves. This book stood out and I am so glad it did, what an amazing story and superbly told. I won't give anything away but Stephen is a great writer and had me finish the book in two days I was so desperate to reach the end. A very unique and enjoyably read that left me shivering more than a few times. Definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really? Sleep with the lights on, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkening (Kindle Edition)
Bought this book because of the first review on amazon, where the person described the book as harrowing, and you will sleep with the lights on. Well I am sorry to say, but I love horrors and this did not fall into that category for me. I felt the writer had tried to do a Stephen King, but with his own lines.
It sadly did not work, you could see the Stephen King, scenario, man loses wife, goes back home, starts to see dead bodies. The scene is set the village has runes, children disappear and Nicholas can see the dead. His family have some strange secrets especially his father.
The village has some strange secrets, and people start to kill themselves in front of Nicholas, I did finish the book, but would think twice before buying this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The woods were alive... ", 14 July 2011
This review is from: The Darkening (Paperback)
This will put you off walking in woods for life!

After the death of his wife in London Nicholas Close returns to his Australian home town and his mother's house, a haunted man in more ways than one. The town has changed very little since he left including The Woods. In his childhood they were the scene of the murder of his best friend Tristram.

The Woods have a bad reputation in the town, parents warn their children not to go near them and people deliberately go out of their way so as not to pass by them. It is this, hinted at, creeping malevolence that make this such an atmospheric downright creepy read.

Nicholas' return seems to stir the malignant force in the woods and as Nicholas arrives, a young boy is brutally murdered in the woods in similar circumstances to Tristram's death. The reader discovers that this mysterious co incidence is anything but...but is part of a pattern that has been playing out in area for generations.

"The woods were alive... Something inside the trees had sensed him, tasted him on the cold air. Recognised him."

Brilliantly written with strong, well drawn characters and a interesting plot that draw you in but it is the descriptions of those deep, dark haunted woods and their denizens that deliver the shivers. Having said that I did want to shake Nicholas more than once and tell him to pull himself together! Loved the primordial/pagan spin on this one, Blair Witch and The Wickerman spring to mind and the twisty ending seriously caught me out...wasn't expecting that! Suspend your disbelief and go into 'There are more things in heaven and earth' mode and you will be rewarded with a deliciously, creepy 'crawly' story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book for a first time novel, 3 Aug 2010
By 
A. J. Tainty (Dyserth, N. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Darkening (Paperback)
I picked this up very quickly at the airport on a business trip as the description on the cover was intriguing and I was rushing for my flight. I started reading on the plane and had the book finished in 48 hours. Completely enthralling (sometimes a little predictable) but wholly engrossing and entertaining. Similar to John Connolly's books in style.

I went on the authors website to see if there were any more books in the pipeline but nothing showing. It said contact the author; so I did, and amazingly I had a reply within 48 hours from Stephen Irwin himself. There is another book on the way but I won't say more than that.

If you like a good chiller thriller then this is one to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow start gives way to a riveting, scary read, 18 Nov 2012
By 
Craig Larson (Maple Grove, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Darkening (Paperback)
Very good, very creepy book that did take awhile to get going. I almost gave up reading during the first 80 or so pages, which were rather dull and overly-filled with flowery writing. But once the story got moving, it quickly became a riveting, page-turning nightmare that I really enjoyed. I don't think I've read a horror novel this scary in quite some time and would strongly recommend it. Looking forward to the author's other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Darkening, 7 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Darkening (Kindle Edition)
This was suggested based on Adam Nevill Books and was quite surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Really easy to read and well written. Some areas were repetitive but the imagery was good enough to keep me reading and would read Irwin again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Struggled at the beginning, but it was worth getting through., 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkening (Paperback)
Don't normally go for this genre, but went for something different. Not too scary, but still worth a read. I enjoyed the characters and there was one or two laugh out loud bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beware, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Darkening (Paperback)
This is the first book i have read from this author - but be aware as this is the same as his other book called The Dead Path!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's something nasty in those woods..., 25 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Darkening (Paperback)
Never having read this author before, I was attracted by the blurb. There's something about a story set in the woods,where trees creak and sway, leaves rustle, small birds and animals scutter around. Your imagination can easily run riot. Stephen Irwin has certainly made the most of the opportunities and had me riveted. 'The Darkening' had the elements of fear, the supernatural, strong characters and vivid detail that I want to see in a book of this genre. Then, finally, a great ending. I loved the twists and turns of this story and will certainly read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Darkening
The Darkening by Stephen M. Irwin (Paperback - 10 Dec 2009)
6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews