Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel and strife
Charley Boorman as a pure travel writer is up there with the likes of Michael Palin and Victoria Woods with his interesting and at times very amusing descriptions of the countries he visits and the people he meets.

For the 'petrol head'his sheer joy of riding any motor bike comes over in his descriptions of pulling wheelies, riding in driving rain, and even...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by Jm Gubbins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok but.....
The book was a bit heavy going and seemed to start and stop and going backwards. When it picked up tempo I thought great but then it was back to being slow and to be honest a bit dull
Published 16 months ago by Janiebeth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travel and strife, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Jm Gubbins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Charley Boorman as a pure travel writer is up there with the likes of Michael Palin and Victoria Woods with his interesting and at times very amusing descriptions of the countries he visits and the people he meets.

For the 'petrol head'his sheer joy of riding any motor bike comes over in his descriptions of pulling wheelies, riding in driving rain, and even falling off demonstrate his lifetime enthusiasm for bikes
However, a part of travel writing rarely touched on by other writers is the very honest sharing of his homesickness for his wife and daughters,& his black moods when the frustrations due to the delays to the journey darken his normal cheerful narrative .
If you love travel and all things mechanical, this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Exciting Read, 14 Dec 2009
By 
Nicola Hesdon (Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have never read any of Charley's books before but decided to buy this one after hearing about it on the TV. It is an amazing read and you really feel that you are there with Charley, with his description of events, having you captured. This is a real page turner and opens your eyes to different ways of life and customs all over the world.

I loved it.

Nicola, Merseyside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars charley boorman rides again, 30 Oct 2009
By 
David Edmunds (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent read well up to the high standard we have come to expect from charley boorman and the team that work and travel with him can,t wait for the next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its ok but....., 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right To The Edge: Sydney To Tokyo By Any Means: The Road to the End of the Earth (Paperback)
The book was a bit heavy going and seemed to start and stop and going backwards. When it picked up tempo I thought great but then it was back to being slow and to be honest a bit dull
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars charley right to the edge, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Right To The Edge: Sydney To Tokyo By Any Means: The Road to the End of the Earth (Paperback)
As ever a rocking great read. One to revisit time and time again. Descriptive and entertaining from start to finish. I felt as if I was on the journey with him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Right to the Edge, 30 July 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
`Right to the Edge' is Charley Boorman's journey from Sydney to Japan via any form of transport he can arrange or come across. This is very similar to his previous journeys and if you are familiar with them then you know what to expect from this. Charley (and friends) travel from place to place sampling a variety of the local delights and travelling in forms of transport. These are as diverse as cars, rickshaws, Jeepneys, Spitfire planes, the ubiquitous motorcycles, boats and way more besides. This is written with Charley's usual sense of humour and yet again, as with his other solo travels, there doesn't seem to be the same levels of tensions and arguments that are prevalent in his travels with Ewan McGregor. This book basically recounts the exploits from the TV series, as well as a few more for good measure. Some of the adventures are in a different order from the series (due to TV editing), but the core journey is the same. This takes in Australia, Papua New Guinea, Indonesia, Philippines, Taiwan and finally Japan. This book has four separate colour photo plates that illustrate the various things Charley experienced reasonably well and show the countries and people off wonderfully. All in all this is another fine travelogue from Boorman and is a worthy addition to the other books he has written.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, personal travel book, 8 Jun 2011
Enjoyed the book immensely, as fast and action packed as the shows, but very much written from Charley's own personal perspective. He's a man who loves to travel, loves motorbikes, loves people, and sometimes gets as worried and a bit down. In the end you can't help but feel that you've shared part of the journey with him.

-One negative thing-
Text-to-Speech: Not enabled

Message to the publisher- look a terrible robot voice is not going to affect any audiobook sales (not that there is one). Switching Text-to-Speech off also switches off auto page turning and it's irritating when you're eyes are tired, but you would like to finish off a chapter before sleep. Please enable text to speech, you're really not protecting anything, as it is now I'm certainly not going to be buying any more Hachette Digital books on impulse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charley Boorman Book, 24 Feb 2010
By 
A. S. Ferris "Hoodie" (Swindon England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thanks for quick/prompt delivery of book. It was exactly as described. Delivered in great condition. Will recommend to my friends and colleagues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Right To The Edge: Sydney To Tokyo By Any Means: The Road to the End of the Earth
7.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews