Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spark's best till now!!!!!!!
Nicholas Sparks has always written stories where happiness and tragedy meet, full of little co-insidencies changing people's lives forever. Some might call his books sentimental, which may be true, since they are always about love and often about sadness as well.

"The Lucky One" takes Spark's authorship a bit further. The story is less dreamy and more...
Published on 26 Jan. 2009 by Sissel M. Østdahl

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rushed
This story line is good dont get me wrong but at the end it seemed very rushed and seemed that all the drama happened very quickly.
Published on 17 Jan. 2011 by perno94


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars loved it but preferred The Best Of Me, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lucky One (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book, couldn't put it down. Waiting for the typical Nicholas Sparks tragic ending. Didn't enjoy it as much as The Best Of Me, but still a fantastic heart warming story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Becoming a slushy novel fan, thanks Nicholas Sparks, 14 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lucky One (Paperback)
I don't usually go for slushy romances, I am usually more a horror fan in the realms of Stephen King. This book nearly made me cry, it was wonderful. Call me girly but from now on I am watching his movies and reading some more books. They are on order and I spent last night watching "The vow".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My first Sparks read, 31 July 2012
By 
This review is from: The Lucky One (Kindle Edition)
Bought this as had wanted to see the film and missed it. Looked a really good love story and it is. Really enjoyed this and didn't think I would at first. The backstory was interesting and the end was good to a point, not too many war references thankfully but what there was totally relevant. I enjoyed the story although the falling in love was a bit predictable but the love scenes were lovely and not overdone very believable. Nana's sayings were a bit annoying though. I won't spoil it but one part of the end was a shock and the other not so believeable and you question how did that happen, however you wouldn't have wanted to swap the characters for it to have ended another way maybe just needed some more embellishment to finish off explain ? However a good holiday read and will now try another Sparks book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lucky One (Paperback)
Decently priced (compared to in shops). Order came sooner than I expected, and moreover, the book is wonderful! 10 times better than the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly good, 15 July 2012
This review is from: The Lucky One (Paperback)
Took as a beach read on recent holiday and I was suprisingly moved by it. Very easy reading but dealt with interetsing, topical and serious subjects so felt less like literary candyfloss than I had expected! However, I didn't feel that Clayton was a hugley rounded character and the ending was a bit too quickly tied up for my liking. Still, there was enough momentum throughout to keep me turning the pages and I believed in both Logan and Beth's stories and their actions/reactions throughout. Definitley worth consideration if you're in need of some easy but meaningful reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lucky One, 14 July 2012
By 
Aleksandra Wozniak (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lucky One (Paperback)
Great novel by Nicholas Sparks!! I am a huge fun of his writing and I bought nearly every single one he wrote! I really liked the story and looking forward to seeing a movie as well.
Would definitely recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lucy One, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lucky One (Paperback)
This book was chosen for a book club. It was very readable I enjoyed it as did the other members. Clayton was portraid as a man who was born into money but thought the world owed him a living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lucky One (Paperback)
Hard to put down once started reading! Great romantic story, enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend this book and any other of Nicholas Sparks books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Take this to the Beach!, 4 July 2012
By 
Jay Gilbertson (Prairie Farm, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lucky One (Paperback)
The Lucky One
By Nicholas Sparks

Light weight-stuff here. Author Nicholas Sparks is one of the major players in the romance genre and for good reason--he can churn this stuff out and fast. Here's another perfect summer read. Not a single surprise and I would imagine that's what people like about his writing.

The story is built around three characters and every other chapter is about each of them. Deputy Keith Clayton opens the tale and right from the get-go you smell a numero uno creep. As he hangs in the bushes snapping pictures of naked co-eds skinny dipping in the river, someone else is watching. Enter player two; Logan Thibault and his well-trained German shepherd, Zeus.

Thibault, a scruffy, long-haired ex-marine, is on a strange mission and he's doing it all on foot. He's hiked from Colorado with a simple pack on his back and a lucky charm in his pocket; a mysterious picture he found while stationed in Kuwait. And (you're not going to believe this) it's of our third character in this triangle of love; Beth Clayton, ex-wife of Keith and mother to their only child, Ben.

"He'd known she was attractive, but the faded photo didn't capture the warmth of her smile or the serious way she studied him, as if searching for hidden flaws."

Early on, you figure he'll find his `Lucky One' but as with all good romance stories, things are never as easy as one-two-three. Conflicts are tossed into the tale faster than you can say Nicholas Sparks loves himself and then, (sorry, he brings out the snark in me) surprise, surprise, an enormous, record-breaking storm blasts into the little town of Hampton, North Carolina and stirs up all sorts of trouble for our cozy trio.

"Beth watched Keith and Logan struggle just before the remaining ropes attached to the central landing snapped. Across the creek, the tree house platform tumbled into the creek in a massive eruption of water, and Ben was whipsawed downstream. In horror, Beth saw that he was still clinging to the rope attached to the central landing, which spiraled into the current..."

Okay, let's be honest here, when you grab a romance novel don't you pretty much know how this thing is going to end? I mean, isn't that why you picked the majorly predictable tome in the first place? Thought so. Sure there was a few twists in this story that were a little, tiny bit surprising, but overall I had this one pegged after the first chapter and there is something fun about reading a well-written story even if you know the girl gets the dude with the long hair in the end.

And woe is me to question that not only can the stud-muffin sway the gal into a mad, passionate love of megawatt-sizzle-your-socks-off magnitude, but the guy can play the piano, is great with the kid and can work a decent game of chess. Oh and he can chop an onion too.

"As Logan walked toward her, he smiled as if reading her mind and opened his arms."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 28 Jun. 2012
By 
Sophie (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lucky One (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely amazing!! the ending had me in tears and the outcome was so unexpected. Before i read The Lucky One i had not read a book by Nicholas Sparks and i decided to read this book before I saw the film and i have to say, i have now found a new author whose books i'll definately be reading. amazing book, i would recommend to anyone who like to read romantic novels :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lucky One
The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks (Paperback - 12 April 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews