Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STUNNING novel! Would highly recommend! xxx
I had never read a book by Kate Furnivall before, and after finishing this, it definitely won't be my last...I'm already very excited about reading more of her novels.

I loved this book, I'd even say that it is one of my favourite books of this year, and such a find! I can't believe that I have not discovered this wonderful author before now, and after this I...
Published 20 months ago by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor effort
I have read a few of Kate's books before, but I have to say this was really poor and doesn't resemble the quality of previous books. Characters were not developed, it was like two opposing stories had been lumped together! Generally she weaves great adventure into her books, again very weak and superficial in this book. Wouldn't recommend.
Published 18 months ago by Mrs. A. Hood


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A STUNNING novel! Would highly recommend! xxx, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shadows on the Nile (Paperback)
I had never read a book by Kate Furnivall before, and after finishing this, it definitely won't be my last...I'm already very excited about reading more of her novels.

I loved this book, I'd even say that it is one of my favourite books of this year, and such a find! I can't believe that I have not discovered this wonderful author before now, and after this I will be investigating her other books. With shadows On The Nile, I was hooked from the first page, it is one of those books where I was drawn in very quickly and sucked into the story, and once I'd started I didn't want to stop reading. In fact, I actually read the entire novel in one sitting because I was so engrossed in the plot line and what was happening!

The characters were very-well written. I warmed to the main character, Jessica straight away, she was easy to like and I particularly admired her strength, courage and determination as she set out on her search to find out the truth about her brother.

The setting of Egypt was the perfect choice I feel. I loved the description of the setting, I could picture every scene clearly in my mind and it felt as though I was there with Jessica following her on her journey. I could see the sights in my mind, feel the atmosphere and smell the scents of Egypt around me. I think Egypt also helped to give a sense of mystery and the unknown to the story, it definitely heightened my interest in the novel and made me keen to read on to see what would be uncovered there.

I don't want to say anything about the plot line because I thoroughly enjoyed going into the story not knowing too much and letting it all unravel at the right moments, but what I will say is that this is a gripping book! I was constantly guessing and re-guessing about what I thought had happened, and I must say I didn't guess it. I was completely absorbed by this beautiful novel from start to finish and I am already looking forward to reading it over again.

Shadows On The Nile is full of mystery, intrigue, history, suspense and romance too. It is a novel that will take you in from the first few words and I'm sure many readers out there will enjoy losing themselves in this stunning novel. I would HIGHLY recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Feb. 2013
Great story with lots of gripping action and absorbing characters. The heroine, Jessie, is a resourceful young woman, driven by her determination never to lose a brother again, so that she tracks him through danger across Egypt following the cryptic clues he leaves behind, with surprising results. The Egyptian context is well researched and adds real glamour and interest. The character of Georgie, in particular, is beautifully developed, both convincing and moving in his growing relationship with his brother. This is a well written and absorbing book that I very much enjoyed and thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get reading!, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
E. Tuson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am pleased to see that once again Kate Furnivall has been nominated for a Romantic Novelist's Association award. 'The White Pearl' was an excellent read and 'Shadows on the Nile' is equally as good. The hot desert sun and the sounds and smells of Egypt are the perfect antidote to the miserable English winter. As usual, this book has a fast moving and cleverly woven plot. Fascism and eugenics are not subjects you would expect to find in your average historical romance but this is far from average. The historical context is spot on and there is even an element of detective work to keep the reader guessing. My favourite part of the book was the development of the relationship between the two brothers. Furnivall has written some really touching scenes. I most highly recommend this novel, so get reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor effort, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
Mrs. A. Hood (Tranent, East Lothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a few of Kate's books before, but I have to say this was really poor and doesn't resemble the quality of previous books. Characters were not developed, it was like two opposing stories had been lumped together! Generally she weaves great adventure into her books, again very weak and superficial in this book. Wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars adventure-tastic!, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this is Kate Furnivall's best novel so far. It has everything. SHADOWS ON THE NILE combines mystery, drama, romance and intrigue in a brilliantly wild chase from the sleek jazz clubs and polished drawing rooms of 1930s London, to the heat, dust and adventure of an Egyptian treasure hunt. The characterisation is superb, especially Georgie, whose autism is explored with great tenderness and care, and Jessie, the fearless, fabulous heroine. If you're looking for excitement and escapism, this is the book for you. There are twists and surprises galore, Conan Doyle puzzles, as well as a rich seam of Egyptian history. A fabulous read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones and Mills and Boon medley, 15 July 2013
This review is from: Shadows on the Nile (Paperback)
This book contains more than a few clunky, silly, and often mixed metaphors. In short, it is riddled with cliché and a lack of realistic description or well-written details about the time when the story was meant to happen means you never really feel like you are reading about the pre-war world. The plot is completely unbelievable and the ending is plain ridiculous. Most of all, I got completely fed up of the heroine's heart flinging itself about inside her chest nearly a dozen times each chapter, variously beating wildly, thumping, pounding and hammering. Emotionally overwrought all the way through - this is a very silly novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Would try another book by this author, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shadows on the Nile (Paperback)
Having never read any of Kate Furnivall's books before I was unsure what to expect when I received a copy of Shadows on the Nile out of the blue.

We first meet Jessie at age 7 shortly before her brother Georgie, who was a troubled child, is sent away by her parents and replaced by a new brother Tim. Fast forward 20 years and Jessie and Tim are now as close as any brother and sister could be but she's never forgotten Georgie and often wonders where he is.

When Tim disappears suddenly Jessie senses that he's in trouble and sets out to look for him following the little clues, in the form of snippets from Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes, that eventually takes her to Egypt. Along the way she gathers a travel companion in the form of Montague Chamford, Monty, who was one of the last people to see Tim, and we also discover that Tim has found out where Georgie is and has been visiting him.

It's during these interactions between Tim and Georgie that we are led to assume that Georgie has some form of autism, which I'm guessing wouldn't have been a recognised condition back in the 1930s, but it's still hard to believe that parents would send their children away just because they were different and couldn't function in normal social situations.

The story had a little bit of everything in it, mystery and intrigue as to where Tim has disappeared to and why, plenty of drama as Jessie and Monty try to follow Tim's clues, and of course the obligatory romance. But for me the build up was a little too dragged out as it took almost 200 pages for Jessie and Monty to reach Egypt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly Furnivall's best so far, 12 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Shadows on the Nile (Paperback)
This is a slight change of direction from Kate Furnivall’s previous work. Whereas the Concubine series were largely historical romances, this is a detective thriller set in 1930s Britain and Egypt. The interwoven narratives of Jessie, Tim and Georgie help to give depth to the characters and the plot is revealed at a steady, good pace. The way that Furnivall deals with Georgie’s autism is particularly impressive. It was a bit of a gamble for Furnivall to change direction and genre like this, but or this reader, it paid off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 17 Dec. 2013
By 
Book lady "Marylou" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows on the Nile (Paperback)
I loved all Kate Furnivall books to date and was really looking forward to this one. It is poorly written in my opinion and confusing to say the least. It was almost as if she had thought of several story lines and had tried to bring them together in one book - and it really did not work. I battled on to the end to see what it was all about but it is so convoluted and unrealistic that my patience was spread very thinly indeed. I look forward to a far far FAR better novel next time round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where only scorpions care to venture..., 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows on the Nile (Paperback)
I hesitated whether to give this novel four or
five stars: I found the first part and the description
of the mental institute where poor, intelligent Georgie
is interned quite gloomy. I also found the final twists of
the plot a bit "too surprising". But finally I decided
that Kate Furnivall's description of the desert, "where
only scorpions dared to venture..." deserved five stars. Her style
is very beautiful.

The characters of Jessie and Monty are very likeable and
Kate Furnivall repeats her method of "lover's characterisation".
Jessie (like Connie in "The White Pearl) is strong, honest,
courageous and beautiful and we know it from the beginning.
Sir Montague Chamford's - Monty's - image is first blurred and
becomes clearcut and likeable as the story and their love
affair unfold.

It's a good thriller set in an interesting historical period (England
in the turmoil of the Depression and the birth of fascism, Egypt
in the turmoil of the birth of nationalism and religious fanaticism).
And for those who like Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, it's a treat.
Kate Furnivall is evidently a Sherlock Holmes fan. Elementary...

Elisheva Guggenheim-Mohosh, Geneva, Switzerland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadows on the Nile
Shadows on the Nile by Kate Furnivall (Paperback - 20 Jun. 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews