Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller
in fact it's more than just a great thriller, it's a well-written spy novel. It's fast-paced, funny, intelligent and even quite moving (when hero Sam Capra is sad at what has happened to him, he waits for the "comfort of the crook of my elbow"). As mentioned by previous reviewer this is not the end of Sam Capra (there is clearly more for him to do at the end of...
Published on 23 Aug. 2010 by Alison Wilson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If Michael Bay wrote novels, they'd read like this
Sam works for the CIA. One morning his pregnant wife phones him and tells him to get out of the building immediately before an explosion rips it apart. Now she's missing and he's the CIA's number one suspect, all the while desperate to find his wife and child.

This is a VERY fast paced thriller. It's lucky that it is, because the breakneck pace allows you to...
Published on 12 July 2011 by Julia Flyte


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller, 23 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Adrenaline (Sam Capra) (Paperback)
in fact it's more than just a great thriller, it's a well-written spy novel. It's fast-paced, funny, intelligent and even quite moving (when hero Sam Capra is sad at what has happened to him, he waits for the "comfort of the crook of my elbow"). As mentioned by previous reviewer this is not the end of Sam Capra (there is clearly more for him to do at the end of "Adrenaline"), can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If Michael Bay wrote novels, they'd read like this, 12 July 2011
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Adrenaline (Sam Capra) (Paperback)
Sam works for the CIA. One morning his pregnant wife phones him and tells him to get out of the building immediately before an explosion rips it apart. Now she's missing and he's the CIA's number one suspect, all the while desperate to find his wife and child.

This is a VERY fast paced thriller. It's lucky that it is, because the breakneck pace allows you to (mostly) ignore the often ludicrous plot twists, paper thin characters and many plot holes. It tears along at 100 miles per hour - in the first 50 pages alone, the building is blown up, Sam is arrested, tortured, held for some weeks and then released.

If you want a fast and occasionally dead exciting, can't-put-down read, this is not a bad choice. It's literary junk food, disengage your mind time. I don't mean that in a judgmental way - sometimes we all feel in the mood for something like that. It's like going to a Michael Bay movie. However there's nothing memorable here and I'm not quite sure how it made it into Amazon's "best of July" selection. Recent thrillers that I've enjoyed more are The Secret Soldier, Misery Bay (Alex McKnight Mysteries) and Buried Secrets (Nick Heller 2).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book I couldn't put it down, 4 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Adrenaline (Paperback)
This is one of the most gripping books i've read in a long time. The constant action and suspense that is built throughout the plot will keep you wanting to read more. It would make a great film and I hope there are many more Sam Capra books to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great story, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book very much. It ripped along at a fast pace and has a serious side in pointing out the serious side of International criminal gangs that have high ranking politicians on their payroll. Beware people this is a serious business. Another good thing about Jeff Aaott is that he likes the same sort of bars that I do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
recommended by a friend, what a story line, kept on your toes all way though, nice change as I usually read thrillers, and though this was it was so different I will certailnly read more of this authhor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart stopping., 1 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You can't put this book down, it pulls you in and you're willing Sam to find out the truth.Edge of the seat reading. Pure brilliance.
I couln't wait for the follow up (Last minute) to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 11 May 2012
What a great read i could not put it down. Stromgly recomemd reading as it draws u in at the start. I shall read on to his next book. Sharon from London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will be reading again!, 22 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Adrenaline (Sam Capra) (Paperback)
Absolultely amazing novel by Jeff Abbott, I have read all of his works and this easilly ranks in my top three. Although another reviewer has claimed this plot is holey and unrealistic I beg to differ!

If you have enjoyed his other works such as Panic and Fear then you will love this too.

The plot follows an agent who falls victim to a bombing at his work place and his organisation turns against him, his wife disapears. He fights and struggles to prove the innocence of both, escaping the people who condemn him and putting his trust in a stranger so he can fight back.

Although the plot does not have as many twists as I usually expect from Abbott, the story is at such a fast pace so that you are constantly wondering where it will take you next!

Would recommend to any Abbott fan and any lover of spy/thriller novels! Excellently written, as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps you up at night., 16 May 2013
This review is from: Adrenaline (Sam Capra) (Paperback)
I almost feel embarassed admitting I enjoyed this book. Violent, unbelieveable, plain daft and it somehow works. Enjoyed in particular descriptions of Amsterdam and how much I could appreciate a hero who was so utterly corny and expert at offing villians by the dirty dozen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 1 Oct. 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sam Copra certainly pumps the adrenaline whether on his spy adventures or roof-jumping. This is a captivating novel that keeps the pulse racing throughout. No doubt more to come from the author and his hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adrenaline (Sam Capra)
Adrenaline (Sam Capra) by Jeff Abbott (Paperback - 24 Jun. 2010)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews