Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Le Freak, C'est Chic
The music of Nile Rogers was the soundtrack to my early adult years. I knew little of the man until I discovered the blog through which he has chronicled his fight with aggressive cancer over the past year.

Beginning with the recollections of a childhood from which few would have emerged unscathed, the narrative moves to Rodgers discovery of a passion and hard...
Published on 9 Nov 2011 by T. Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Thin on the main event.
Enjoyed the detail of Nile as a youngster. However I feel perhaps the marching powder took its toll on the memory as the detail or stories around the Chic good times were thin on the ground and that period was over in a flash. Just too few anecdotes to make it a rivetting read.
Published 16 months ago by Mr. Robert Wells


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funking good..., 18 Sep 2013
By 
Mick "Flint & Steel" (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant and absorbing look at Chic, Nile Rodgers and the music industry in it's heyday. I would love to see an update/addendum to include the Daft a punk, post cancer period and (of course) the return of the mighty CHIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disco Heaven! Great Bio!!, 16 July 2014
By 
C J. Lafferty "Col" (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Freak: An Upside Down Story of Family, Disco and Destiny (Paperback)
This is a great biog of a musical legend from the late 70's / early 80's. Quite sad in places, it really sums up the high and lows of living and working in the music industry at this time. It continued to amaze me, the amount of musicians, singers, writers, and composers that Nile has worked with over the years. I would say that the start of the book is slow to start with, which details his early family life (thats why ive given it 4 and not 5 stars). But it soon kicks in to his musical journey in LA and NYC, leading to Chic, Bowie, Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, and randomly - the Thompson Twins!!! Buy this book and relive your disco days - Le Freak C'est Chic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 24 Sep 2014
By 
G. F. Wise (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Freak: An Upside Down Story of Family, Disco and Destiny (Paperback)
Very well written by Nile himself, it's an extraordinary story of a resourceful little boy growing up amongst strung-out jazz junkies, who goes on to pioneer a disco sound and then creates a string of hits for some of the biggest names in pop music. All while taking partying to the highest highs... and nearly paying the price, as many of his friends did. Intriguing insights into the music business, Madonna, Bowie and others. A fascinating book that I couldn't put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
K. L. Pearson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 22 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written biography.
Really interesting, what a man!
Great descriptions of New York.
Would recommend to anyone with any interest in the history of popular music.
Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disco Fever, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you fly too close to the edge you will crash. The life and times of a musical pioneer in the greatest period of top knotch dance music. Hugely enjoyable and well worth your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very full story (although he has done a lot more since!), 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reads at a logical and comfortable pace. Gives a very interesting insight into how much work he put into becoming a success, how lucky he was at just the right time and how his up bringing was not "perfect" by any real measure. A wow story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A dip into the unknown, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband told me about Niles after seeing him on TV, so I bought his book and found it such an interesting read. A talented man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Le Freak, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Freak: An Upside Down Story of Family, Disco and Destiny (Paperback)
I bought this for my husband & once started couldn't put it down. An unbelievably honest account of his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
total legend. honestly written account.
having loved Nile's music, and playing style for over thirty years, hearing his influences and experiences in his own words is an unmissable treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Le Freak: An Upside Down Story of Family, Disco and Destiny
Le Freak: An Upside Down Story of Family, Disco and Destiny by Nile Rodgers (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews