Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding from start to finish
Every now and then, a book comes along which you don't want to end. Accused is one of those books, and Mark Gimenez's finest novel to date.

This is the fifth Mark Gimenez novel and the first to follow up a previous one. Accused carries on where his debut The Colour of Law left off, the other novels all standing alone. A. Scott Fenney receives a desperate phone...
Published on 20 April 2010 by Phil Robertshaw

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheat [SPOILER]
One can talk endlessly about whether this is an entertaining read or not, but Mr. Gimenez introduces a very hard-to-swallow twist at the end that makes the whole story collapse and exposes an underlying lack of planning and coherence. I think one of the first rules of these genre is DO NOT CHEAT WITH YOUR READERS. The last chapter and the first are at odds. It's either...
Published on 8 Mar 2012 by Alberto Gemin


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding from start to finish, 20 April 2010
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Accused (Hardcover)
Every now and then, a book comes along which you don't want to end. Accused is one of those books, and Mark Gimenez's finest novel to date.

This is the fifth Mark Gimenez novel and the first to follow up a previous one. Accused carries on where his debut The Colour of Law left off, the other novels all standing alone. A. Scott Fenney receives a desperate phone call from his ex-wife Rebecca, who left him for a professional golfer, Trey Rawlins, but is now accused of his murder. The story follows Scott and his small team's investigations into who could possibly have been responsible for Trey's murder, leading up to the trial itself.

What makes this such a great novel? It's hard to know where to begin. Certainly the quality of the writing is excellent, and Gimenez has created a set of immensely likeable characters - Scott's daughters and his four associates all feature throughout, and are all well drawn. The prose is very, very readable and it is a page-turner; not of the James Patterson ilk, where two page chapters are used to keep the reader racing through - this is just such a pleasure to read that you see no reason why you should put it down. And you shouldn't.

From the prologue, which pulls the reader straight into the action, to the breathtaking denouement, Accused is a fabulous legal thriller. If you haven't read The Colour of Law, it's advisable to do so first in order to fully understand the history of the characters and to appreciate why they behave in the way they do. Accused also contains several revelations about the previous book which you would be best to avoid if you plan to read it. But that said, I believe Mark Gimenez will really make people sit up and take notice with this latest book, and it's about time he was recognised more widely. Forget the Grisham comparisons - this is an author who is going places and making his own name the benchmark to live up to. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - I couldn't put this down, 28 April 2010
By 
CK (Gloucester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Accused (Hardcover)
This book is a follow on from a previous book so it was nice that you already knew most of the characters although it is also a book in its own right and you don't have to have read the previous one to enjoy this.

It is not often that a book has me guessing all the way through. This book was totally unputdownable! I read a third one night and grudgingly put it down at midnight and I planned on reading the following third the next night and the final third the night after, I had to finish it the following night, stayed up till 2am, was tired and grumpy at work the next day but it was well worth it.

The book states it is better than John Grisham or your money back - it leaves Grisham standing! Can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life goes on, 18 April 2011
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Accused (Paperback)
This is a better book than 'The Colour of Law' and, given that the book is pushing 600 pages, it is a story which is easily read. It would be better for new readers to start with the previous book, since just about all the characters - certainly the main ones - have background which relates very much to the first book. The author explains some of this as we go along but, even so, you need to catch the flavour and the style of writing, I think, the better to see where this book goes.

There is the still the same rather simplistic attitude to relationships which in real life just wouldn't pan out like that. However, it's an intriguing story as Scott Fenney acts as his ex-wife's defence lawyer, the wife being accused of her boyfriend's murder. Did she or didn't she? As the story unfolds, the number of people who could be considered as alternatives mount up, unlike, for a change, the body count.

It seems the boyfriend is not all he tries to portray to the general public. His off-course antics during the major golf tournaments in the US present a somewhat different picture. In fact, if you are a golfing fan, you'll probably enjoy the book even more. I'm not but it didn't put me off the the main thrust of the investigation.

The author is at his best in the court room scenes. These, however, take place towards the end of the book but it's an enjoyable read to that point and a better one after that.

It's probable that the character of Scott Fenney has gone as far as it can but as for Rebecca Fenney, his ex-wife, maybe there's another story looming. Could be quite an event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kindle price!, 17 Jan 2011
By 
Organic (Shropshire,UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Accused (Hardcover)
5 stars for the book as I thoroughly enjoyed it. However, I can only give the book 4 stars due to the fact the kindle edition costs more than the paperback version. Madness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheat [SPOILER], 8 Mar 2012
By 
Alberto Gemin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accused (Paperback)
One can talk endlessly about whether this is an entertaining read or not, but Mr. Gimenez introduces a very hard-to-swallow twist at the end that makes the whole story collapse and exposes an underlying lack of planning and coherence. I think one of the first rules of these genre is DO NOT CHEAT WITH YOUR READERS. The last chapter and the first are at odds. It's either one or the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 21 Feb 2011
By 
R. A. King "RAKING" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Accused (Hardcover)
this book was bought as a present for a friend, - she had read it in a day and could not put it down and thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the accused, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: Accused (Hardcover)
Having read all of Mark Gimenez books I was looking forward to this one.
Following on form his first novel The Colour of Law we visit A Scott Fenney again. I am not going to spoil the book for you, just read and enjoy - it is superb and has a great ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic, 27 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accused (Hardcover)
Following on from the Colour of Law this book is a masterpiece in suspense. I couldn't wait to get to the end to find out who the killer was and yet I didn't want it to finish. Had a job to put it down and only then when I really had to. If I ever get into deep,deep water I want A Scott Fenney as my lawyer. Grisham better look over his shoulder 'cause there's a new man in town. Can't wait for the next novel and hope it uses the same characters as I am getting so used to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gimenez Triumphs Again!, 13 May 2010
By 
J. H. Heath - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Accused (Hardcover)
Mark Gimenez triumphs again with "Accused". His use of misdirection throughout the novel is unmatched. "Accused" keeps you guessing till the end and is a fantastic read for the mystery fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woman on trial, 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: Accused (Paperback)
I always like books about women on trial - especially for murder (e.g. A Fool for a Client) and this one was no exception. But whereas in Client, the tension sprang from the woman defendant's refusal to cooperate with her standby counsel, in this case it springs from the fact that the accused woman is the ex-wife of the defense attorney. And the fact that the deceased is the man she left him for enhances the tension and intensifies the drama. This is a first-class legal thriller that I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Accused
Accused by Mark Gimenez (Paperback - 20 Jan 2011)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews