Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars70
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2013
Highly recommend this true story even more relevant today than in 1972. Still young people are getting caught up in being drug mules & paying the price. The price is spending many years in horrendous hiltons & waiting years for a trial. Feel Billy's pain & frustration on every page & losing his control over his life. The suffering of his family & friends.
One of the best prison stories 5/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed this one, I have been meaning to read this for years as I very much liked the film. The book goes into a lot more depth and the true story of the actual escape (different from the film) is even more gripping than Hayes capture at the beginning. Remind me not to try to bring any pot back from Turkey :) Ultimate xenophobia for westerners, I couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
This is an enthralling read, if only to see how it ends. Its not quite as gritty as i was expecting, but it is well-written, easy to read and i didnt put it down until i'd finished it. its definitely worth buying for less than a fiver and you wont be disappointed, but he does tend to rush through the escape part of it. now im off to read Marching Powder...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
Apart from thinking how stupid must a person be to try and smuggle anything in or out of a country, and if you get caught then you have to accept the punishment meted out. However, when you read this story it's difficuld to understand how a judicial system could be so cruel and corrupt. A great read. Difficult to put down, infact so difficult, I didn't!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
I read this powerful book in just a day, doing my best to ignore any housework that called.
Gripping from the start . Tells the true story of a young American caught in Turkey with dope.
Tells of cruel angry guards and of strong friendships.
Makes you question yourself as if you could survive in such a ditty ill forgotten place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2005
I saw the film and then read the book - the book does a much better job at really expressing Billy's feelings and the real mental pain he went through. Don't expect the Hollywood ending in the book, even allowing for poetic licence. A good read, but left me a little disappointed having seen the film first, but glad to have read it nevertheless.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2010
not as good as the film and not as informative as the documentary "the real midnight express" . it lies somewhere inbetween
never-the-less (is that one word?) it is a good story .. well written and i could not put it down .. finished it much quicker than billy's sentence .
would recomend to anyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
This doesn't reflect very well on the Turkish penal or legal systems but nor should we forget that the author was a drug smuggler. The violence and corruption endemic in the nightmare world he gets imprisoned in make you glad to live in a relatively civilised country.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
Film is very good, book it even better. I have seen the film a good few times and bought the book years after I'd seen it. It's different than the film's adaptation by quite a large margin but it's a really awesome read and unlike the film it is the whole truth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
Has the reader living Billy's scary adventure (no wonder Turkey weren't impressed by the book as a guide to attract tourists). Will have you hyperventilating in parts with the various challenges he comes up against in a foreign land. Don't mess with Turkey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse