Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, amazing, can't put it down!
If you have seen the film and are thinking of reading the book, then go for it. It won't spoil the film for you. The book is slightly different, more powerful than the book in some ways and the ending is different.
If you have not yet seen the film and are about to read the book STOP right now. Watch the film first! Because if you dont you may not like the...
Published on 10 Nov 2005 by Elodie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Midnight Express
A good book, but nothing compared to Marching Powder. Having read Marching Powder first I was excited to read this in anticipation it would be on a similar level. This book failed to move me as much as I would have liked, but it still had a good read to it and nevertheless I still didn't put the book down until I had read it all.
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by M. Gould


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars brutal yet compelling, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Express (Kindle Edition)
This doesn't reflect very well on the Turkish penal or legal systems but nor should we forget that the author was a drug smuggler. The violence and corruption endemic in the nightmare world he gets imprisoned in make you glad to live in a relatively civilised country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Express (Kindle Edition)
Film is very good, book it even better. I have seen the film a good few times and bought the book years after I'd seen it. It's different than the film's adaptation by quite a large margin but it's a really awesome read and unlike the film it is the whole truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shocking and emotional, 2 Oct 2013
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
This book MIDNIGHT EXPRESS is absolutely brilliant!I loved it and it was even better since it was the first book i had read for quite a few years. I actually met Billy Hayes at a book signing in Birmingham in March 2013! He is a nice chap although maybe i wished i had read the book before i met him so i could ask him the questions about the book that i wanted to ask. All in all, a good read and there are some similarities with the film but not many! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't smuggle drugs, 15 Sep 2013
By 
Nigel Duncan "Nigel Duncan" (England uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
Highly recommend this true story even more relevant today than in 1972. Still young people are getting caught up in being drug mules & paying the price. The price is spending many years in horrendous hiltons & waiting years for a trial. Feel Billy's pain & frustration on every page & losing his control over his life. The suffering of his family & friends.
One of the best prison stories 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling read, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Express (Kindle Edition)
A compelling story of how life can take a wrong path so quickly, a story of courage and determination. Anyone tempted to traffic drugs albeit on how small a scale should read this as a warning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this one, I have been meaning to read this for years as I very much liked the film. The book goes into a lot more depth and the true story of the actual escape (different from the film) is even more gripping than Hayes capture at the beginning. Remind me not to try to bring any pot back from Turkey :) Ultimate xenophobia for westerners, I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No issues, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
This was very old looking and well read obviously but I like that so for me it was perfect value for money, afterall, the words inside are the same as they would be in a new book so I was happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Express (Kindle Edition)
After watching the film I thought I'd give the book a read. Was very interesting as they had changed a lot in the film. Bit slow going in places but all in all a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Express (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book. I took on holiday with me. Perfect sized book that fitted well in my bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Express (Kindle Edition)
Not your typical banged up abroad story, with some real touching moments both inside prison and the effects on family and friends. Couldn't put it down once I started reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3948cc0)

This product

Midnight Express
Midnight Express by William Hoffer (Paperback - 2 Oct 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews