Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frank, 30 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent and perceptive book. Highly recommended for all Sinatra fans and people interested in the big band era. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank: The Making of a Legend (Paperback)
If you want to read the Sinatra story this is all you need? The good, the bad, and the ugly..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book but only covers his earlier musical and film ..., 9 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Frank: The Making of a Legend (Paperback)
Great book but only covers his earlier musical and film career , nothing much about his work after capitol or ratpack era or even the later film work ignored completely. An early epic of 700 pages mainly concentrates on Ava Gardener affair/marriage and 'From here to eternity' film. Makes a good read though for a dedicated fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars definite biography, 29 April 2014
This review is from: Frank: The Making of a Legend (Paperback)
This book is incredibly well researched. Where his opinion differs from the standard view he argues his point and states his case.

I just hope it will not be much longer until we have the next volume, assuming one is planned. I speak for many when I say we will be disappointed if he does not finish the story.

When you look at the life of Sinatra it is as incredible as the greatest novel you will ever read. Compared to that of most of us, we have barely scratched the surface of life. He will fascinate many generations who love his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frank: The Making of a Legend Book, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank: The Making of a Legend (Paperback)
It was a present for my friend, but she thought it a very interesting insight into Frank's life. a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best FS Life story ever, 11 Jan. 2014
I have read a couple of biographies of the great Frank Sinatra, and I think this one is the best so far. It goes into detail about his often conflicting emotions and is written with a great deal of sympathy, even while acknowledging the fact that Sinatra was a flawed genius. Kaplan uses previously published bios not just of Frank, to illustrate his points. He obviously loves the man and that shines through. It is a fascinating insight into Frank Sinatra's complex personality and a good summary of the events that went into the Making of a Legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank: The Making of a Legend (Paperback)
Took over a week to arrive but its fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank: The Making of a Legend (Paperback)
Could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for Friend, 16 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Frank: The Making of a Legend (Paperback)
Bought this book for a friend's birthday.
I was impressed with it. A large book, well worth the money, with lots of photots. As it was a gift, obviously I havent read the book, so can not comment on content.
My Friend was very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Sept. 2013
By 
jaydle (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank: The Making of a Legend (Paperback)
Truly incredible book. Whether you're a longtime fan or have only recently sparked an interest in the legend that is Mr Sinatra, you will not be disappointed! Kaplan has clearly done a tremendous amount of research and has used a great number of sources, and the fact that he's clearly a fan of Sinatra's music adds a really nice personal touch.
The book only goes up to about the mid 1950s but there is so much information about Frank's early career that you don't feel as though you're missing out.. Can't wait for the next volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frank: The Making of a Legend
Frank: The Making of a Legend by James Kaplan (Paperback - 3 May 2012)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews