Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TRULY EXCELLENT !!!
I found this book a bit hard to get into at first but after about chapter 4 i was hooked.
Nicholas Sparks has done it again, he has wrote a truly amazing book. I felt as if i knew Lexie and Jeremy. I won't give anything away but read this book !!
I have just started reading the sequel at first sight and am hooked to that one too !!!!
Published on 4 Feb 2006 by Ms. C. Sabin

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Love works in mysterious ways, but.........
New York journalist Jeremy Marsh goes to small town Boone Creek in North Carolina in order to find out the reasons behind the mysterious lights that appear in an ancient cemetery.

In addition to talking to several people in town, he studies lots of old diaries and documents at the local library. Most of what he finds is of no help whatsoever, only theories...
Published on 7 Dec 2008 by Sissel M. Østdahl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TRULY EXCELLENT !!!, 4 Feb 2006
This review is from: True Believer (Paperback)
I found this book a bit hard to get into at first but after about chapter 4 i was hooked.
Nicholas Sparks has done it again, he has wrote a truly amazing book. I felt as if i knew Lexie and Jeremy. I won't give anything away but read this book !!
I have just started reading the sequel at first sight and am hooked to that one too !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost busting and changing relationships - a good read, 24 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: True Believer (Paperback)
True Believer

Jeremy Marsh is an investigative TV journalist who specializes in using science to disprove the claims of conmen and scammers. In Boone Creek strange lights have been appearing at an old cemetery, being attributed by many of the townspeople to restless spirits. Doris McClellan, owner of a café in the town, writes to Jeremy that she knows that the lights are nothing to do with spirits, and invites him to come and investigate. He stays in the only hotel, which is very basic, with rooms decorated with a startling array of stuffed snarling animals.

It seems that Doris has some psychic powers. Doris's daughter, Lexie, runs the local library where Jeremy settles down to do his initial research. Jeremy is attracted to and intrigued by the lovely Lexie, who is sometimes helpful, at other times distinctly unhelpful to the point of obstruction.

The whole town turns out to meet its celebrity visitor.

Investigations take place at the cemetery.

It really would spoil it to tell you anything else. This was a good read. I found the science of the `ghost busting' interesting, as well as the changing relationships, and the unexpected ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Love works in mysterious ways, but........., 7 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Believer (Hardcover)
New York journalist Jeremy Marsh goes to small town Boone Creek in North Carolina in order to find out the reasons behind the mysterious lights that appear in an ancient cemetery.

In addition to talking to several people in town, he studies lots of old diaries and documents at the local library. Most of what he finds is of no help whatsoever, only theories based on wishful thinking and imagination. Until he finally hits the truth on one single sheet of paper.

Why is it then that we have to read through all this boring documentation together with Jeremy? Uninteresting and repetitious as it is. A few colourful townspeople at the local café do little to brighten this gloomy undertaking.

A love story has been thrown in. It's well known that love works in mysterious ways, but when Jeremy falls for town librarian Lexie, the wonder of love is stretched mighty far. Super attractive Jeremy lives in New York which is full of gorgeous and NICE!!! women, and he picks Lexie. The most annoying, stubborn, peculiar "heroine" there ever was. I wanted to it her more than once, downright impertinent and badly behaved as she was.

I managed a third of the book before I gave up, skimmed through the rest and peaked at the end - yess, the lovebirds do finally shake hands - and closed it with a sigh.

I got this book in hardcover, and based on previous experience, looked forward to another excellent read. What a total waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A warm love story, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Sheri A. Wilkinson (Princeton, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Believer (Hardcover)
True Believer by Nicholas Sparks

Jeremy Marsh is a New York journalist with the popular magazine "Scientific American,". He is a skeptic in anything supernatural, fortune tellers, mind readers, ghost hunters, etc. He is sent to a small South Carolina town named Bone Creek, to investigate the legend of "lights" being seen in the local cemetery.

Lexie Darnell is the town librarian and the one he goes to for researching this story. Jeremy soon fall for the lovely Lexie, although she is hesitant to give up her heart so easily. Soon Jeremy is faced with a major life altering decision. Should he follow his head or his heart?

I liked the story like, the main characters were likable. The descriptions of life in a small American town (in my opinion) were very accurate. I also loved the cover, yes I do admit Lighthouses are appealing to me, the cover drew me in, Nicholas Sparks name caught my interest, and the story kept me reading until late at night.

Romance lovers should enjoy this read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "...portions of the foggy light began to churn in a small circle before suddenly spreading outward...like an exploding star.", 19 Jan 2014
This review is from: True Believer (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of occult and psychic detectives, and stories involving them. So, when I found out that bestselling writer Nicholas Sparks had written a novel involving an occult detective/debunker I was interested in reading it just to see how he would handle such material.

In "True Believer" Jeremy Marsh is a columnist for magazines like "Scientific American" and after years of toiling and struggling by doing articles involving scientific subjects, and debunking psychic or occult phenomena, Marsh seems to be on the verge of hitting the big time. He's just exposed famous spiritualist Timothy Clausen, and he is now weighing his new-found options.

To relax, the jaded, divorced, and cynical Marsh travels from his base in New York to Boone Creek, North Carolina because he has received a letter from Doris McClellan, who owns and operates Herbs, the local restaurant/bar/watering hole for the small, and dying, town. The supernatural phenomena involves the sightings of phantom lights that are seen by people on certain nights when the town's weather conditions are right.

After talking to Doris, Marsh heads over the local library to start on his research, and it's here that he meets the head librarian Lexie Darnell, who is Doris' granddaughter.

The plot thereafter is rather simple and uncomplicated, as Sparks spends the rest of the novel either investigating the phantom lights, or pursuing his passive/aggressive relationship with Lexie. Now, for me, who likes doing research, the only time that this novel EVER becomes interesting is when Marsh is doing research into the local phenomena.

And that's the problem. Both plot and characters are just not enough to sustain a three-hundred plus page novel. We start off with some pretty dull characterization on Sparks part because, basically, all of the characters in his novel are clichés right out of central casting. There's the uptight, distant, and psychically wounded librarian, the good-hearted waitress, the flighty best friend, the uptight cop, the shifty mayor, etc. In the end, only Marsh is ever sufficiently developed, unfortunately, he, and his relationship with Lexie, which is the vast majority of this novel's plot, was just not interesting enough to hold my interest, although things finally do pick up somewhat in the last third of the novel. Even so, Marsh just doesn't cut it as a leading man, and Lexie is an annoying passive/aggressive woman whose bs would be enough to drive anybody away. Mayor Gherkin, given a clownish name so that Sparks can make him a clown, is potentially an interesting character; and he could have been an interesting sub-plot. After all, it is he that has to figure out how to keep his dying town alive, especially since this novel's principal characters are out to destroy the only thing that comes his way that he sees that he can use to keep the dying Boone Creek afloat. But when he comes up with an interesting sub-plot, and there are several in this novel, Sparks blows the opportunity to develop them, almost every single time.

And as far as the phantom lights go, the phantom lights that are very reason that Marsh is even in Boone Creek, I have almost never read a novel with such an anti-climatic dénouement. In his 1973 story 'With Morning Comes Mistfall', George R. R. Martin managed to do a story dealing with the same theme of somebody who must constantly demystify EVERYTHING, and Martin did it without the maudlin bs, and without a weak, and over-long, romance. In "True Believer" the end result is that any mystery in this world should be debunked, and this debunking should be embraced. Unfortunately, without mystery, what a boring place this world is, much like this, ***Yawn***, pedestrian novel. I was so bored that I found sitting in a doctor's waiting room more interesting than reading this, at one point, I dug out my 1996 video tape of ESPN's "World Toe-Nail Clipping Olympics" to watch rather than continue reading. If I hadn't OCD and because I was reading "True Believer" as a form of homework for another website, I would never have finished this.

But, what the heck, why listen to me, I'm certainly not the target audience of Sparks' novels, but, for me, "True Believer" may have been smoothly and commercially written, but at the end of the day, this novel is nothing more than a novelette that has been expanded into an over-long, and bland novel. The events in this novel take place over a period of several days, but it seemed like years to me. I guess I'm glad I read it, I guess, but I ain't gonna read the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Believer (Kindle Edition)
Well, he did it again! Another amazing book by Nicholas sparks. I was hooked from the very beginning, definitely worth a read! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Believer (Kindle Edition)
I was hooked on this book from page one and could not put it down. Was a great read. Have read a few books now from Nicholas Sparks, and they only get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nice read, 20 Aug 2013
This review is from: True Believer (Kindle Edition)
Having seen a few movies based on his books and enjoyed them i decided to read one of his books that i had not seen in movie form. A really good read. Didn't want to put it down. Will be buying more to read now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So moving, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Believer (Kindle Edition)
I loved this. Book and love author a perfect love story
I recommend you read first sight sequel to true believer
Moving makes you believe in dream
Highly recommend as a romantic novel
Nicholas sparks really pulls your heart strings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Good read., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Believer (Kindle Edition)
This is another great tale from Nicholas Sparks. You can actually believe you are in this small town and see the streets and surrounding countryside and old industries. Good build up to a dramatic climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Believer
True Believer by Nicholas Sparks (Paperback - 4 Dec 2008)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews