Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on golf competition I have ever read.
In The Greatest Game Ever Played, Mark Frost provides a brilliant account of 20-year-old Francis Ouimet's 18-hole playoff victory over Britons Harry Vardon and Ted Ray in the 1913 U.S. Open at The Country Club in Brookline, Massachusetts, where Ouimet once caddied. That said, I think his account of an 18-hole match at Cypress Point Golf Club on the Monterey Peninsula...
Published on 22 July 2008 by Robert Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Match by Mark Frost
This book was also for my husband, again he said he enjoyed it, but it was not as good as other Mark Frost books
Published on 24 Oct 2011 by F. Whitham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on golf competition I have ever read., 22 July 2008
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Match (Hardcover)
In The Greatest Game Ever Played, Mark Frost provides a brilliant account of 20-year-old Francis Ouimet's 18-hole playoff victory over Britons Harry Vardon and Ted Ray in the 1913 U.S. Open at The Country Club in Brookline, Massachusetts, where Ouimet once caddied. That said, I think his account of an 18-hole match at Cypress Point Golf Club on the Monterey Peninsula (just before the annual "Crosby Clambake" in 1956) between professionals Ben Hogan and Byron Nelson against amateurs Harvie Ward and Ken Venturi describes a match at least as significant. His is certainly the best book on golf competition that I have ever read.

With the curiosity of a cultural anthropologist and the skills of a master storyteller, Frost establishes and then explores a context within which four of the greatest golfers in the 1950s agreed to a "friendly match." They knew each other, respected each other, and enjoyed each other's company. However, in his own unique way, each was a ferocious competitor, especially when engaged in match play competition. Frost provides a hole-by-hole account (the primary story line) but he also brings to life each of the four competitors, explaining their respective backgrounds, personalities, and motivations while stressing their passion for the game of golf. The supporting cast includes Eddie Lowery who, when years old, caddied for Ouimet during his Open victory and is now a wealthy car dealer and among the leaders of the USGA. Also George Coleman, also a multi-millionaire as well as a member of Cypress Point who accepts Lowery's challenge to select any two professionals to compete against Ward and Venturi.

Credit Frost with accomplishing two separate but related objectives: to provide a riveting account of the match itself over an especially challenging as well as beautiful course designed by Alister MacKenzie, and, to place the match within a much larger frame-of-reference that includes the emergence of professional golf following the retirement of Bob Jones, real estate development of the Monterey Peninsula area, and the evolving controversy about the meaning of the term "amateur," given the fact that both Venturi and Ward were two of Lowery's salaried employees who devoted almost all of their time and energy to competitive golf.

Even those who have little (if any) interest in golf will thoroughly enjoy reading this book. It has everything: a full cast of colorful characters, several compelling story lines, multi-dimensional social commentary, and following the conclusion of the match, an "Afterward" that provides what Paul Harvey calls "the rest of the story" concerning the four competitors and their two supporters. Then in an Appendix, Frost provides historical information about the Peninsula before focusing his attention on Marion Hollins and her involvement in both competitive golf and efforts to realize her "oversized dreams" for the area.

This is one of very few works of non-fiction that I have read in recent years that created in me a growing sense of sadness as I approached the last few pages. I really enjoyed it that much? Yes. In fact, I began to re-read it the next day and although I knew the outcome of the match, enjoyed the second reading at least as much as the first. Thank you, Mark Frost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richly Told Tale of an Amazing Day of Golf at Cypress Point in 1956, 19 Jan 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Match (Hardcover)
Golf is a game whose attraction is built in part from legendary events like Ouimet's historic win in Brookline. You need to add this story from Cypress Point to your after-round repertoire.

Two wily veteran pros, Ben Hogan and Byron Nelson, help accept a challenge on behalf of George Coleman made by Eddie Lowery, Francis Ouimet's caddy at The Country Club in the U.S. win, that no one can beat Eddie's two amateur employees, Ken Venturi and Harvie Ward. Bets are placed and the game is on.

To make the story even more interesting, Mark Frost gives us the histories of the people involved against the backdrop of the switch from an amateur focus for the game to a professional one. You'll also learn about how Cypress Point was developed.

Working primarily from the memories of Byron Nelson and Ken Venturi, Mark Frost captures the scene almost as though he were an eye witness. Needless to say, the match contained some remarkable golf. I won't go into it, but I found my heart pounding many times as the competitive situations unfolded in the high stakes Nassau.

I've never seen Cypress Point in person, and the story also interested me for its fine explanation of the course's layout in 1956.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Mark Frost, 10 July 2009
This review is from: The Match (Paperback)
Mark Frost is THE MAN to read if you love golf: his writing just brings the characters and places alive in a way that few sports writers can do.

The Match tells of a little known event, played by 4 great players over a great course, for a bet between 2 wealthy men. Promising enough material for a great story, but you come away feeling like you've known the people involved your whole life, such is the thoughtful insight given to their lives.

The description of the match and the course is such that you feel the exitement as if you there..it's nail biting, page turning stuff, and I would certainly recommend this as a present to anyone who likes golf or wants to learn more about the great players of the past.

This is right up their with another great golfing book, Tommy's Honour, and I'd struggle to seperate these 2 books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MATCH mark frost, 9 July 2009
By 
Mr. V. Young "THE READER" (LIVERPOOL U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Match (Paperback)
the book THE MATCH by the author MARK FROST, is one of the best golf related books i have ever read. so much so, that immediately after i read the book i went online to find out more about the golf course where the game, that the book is essentially about, was played , and again i found the , ithink, definitive book about that golf course CYPRESS POINT GOLF CLUB in california u.s.a. , whilst i accept that i as an ordinary golfer, will never be allowed to play on these hallowed links, i would like to say to anyone who has not done so, to read the book THE MATCH alongside ALISTAIR McKENZIES CYPRESS POINT GOLF CLUB by GEOFF SHACKLEFORD to gain a small insight into how a great golfer thinks particularly the greatest ever player MR HOGAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Match! Compelling, 18 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Match (Paperback)
The MatchA thoroughly enjoyable read that many golfers and traditionalists will enjoy. The book is well constructed and a potted history of all the players sprinkles the narrative, which blends well with the tension created. I particularly liked the bit where Ben Hogan arrived at the course and emerged from his car. As his trademark white cap appeared the observers gasped "Hogan" Just like a gunfighter arriving in town. Marvellous! It was a shame that this book was so brief as I felt the tension built well in the swansong of the gifted amateurs days of major participation. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Match - Compusive reading, 18 Mar 2009
By 
S. FENNY (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Match (Paperback)
A fantastic read. Mark Frost paints vivid pen pictures that put you in touch with the characters and then leads you through a fascinating game of golf at one of the worlds finest courses. The historical detail is superbly researched and woven into a very readable format. Frost does for golf what Stone does for art. This really is an 'Agony and Ecstacy' at Pebble Beach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: The Match (Paperback)
Good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Match, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Match (Paperback)
The match is only a part of the book.
I found the life stories of all the participants (both golfers and those behind the scenes) more interesting than the actual match.
Having claimed that, I actually went back and read the parts about the match with a course layout of Cypress Point, to get a bird’s eye view idea of how it had played.
It was quite entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Match (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed it even , not just about golf also how the professionals started. Ben Hogan was so brave .Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great read for golf lovers, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Match (Kindle Edition)
Brings back an era much missed in today's commercial world. Give it a try and then look at cypress point on google earth and dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Match
The Match by Mark Frost (Paperback - 31 July 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews