Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chadwick's first novel, and Book One in the Ravenstow Trilogy
Guyan, a Marcher Lord marries Judith of Ravenstow at the order of King William Rufus. They meet on their wedding day, and Guyan finds himself with a not fully matured 16 year old wife. Judith is skittish around her new husband as her now dead father was extremely abusive to both her and her mother. Not everyone is happy with the union, as some would prefer Judith married...
Published on 27 Oct 2007 by Misfit

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable
Reading the other reviews, I was wondering if we were talking about the same book...

I read a lot of historical fiction, but I gave up on this after about 20 pages. The introduction was slow and uninvolving, the characters very hard to care about, the 'love talk' between the characters slightly sick-making, but most of all, the language was just dreadful. A...
Published on 5 Sep 2011 by Apple-eater


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chadwick's first novel, and Book One in the Ravenstow Trilogy, 27 Oct 2007
By 
Misfit (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wild Hunt (Paperback)
Guyan, a Marcher Lord marries Judith of Ravenstow at the order of King William Rufus. They meet on their wedding day, and Guyan finds himself with a not fully matured 16 year old wife. Judith is skittish around her new husband as her now dead father was extremely abusive to both her and her mother. Not everyone is happy with the union, as some would prefer Judith married elsewhere and Guyan must guard his back against attempts on his life. As Guyan and Judith struggle with the treachery and intrigues of the courts of both William Rufus and his brother Henry, they manage to forge a strong and passionate marriage, and Judith grows into a strong willed woman and a force to be reckoned with.

This is the second time I've read this book, the first being two years ago before I had read much of the author's later works. It was very interesting to revisit one of her earlier books and see the contrast between them and how the author has grown. While a very well told tale, I did not find the effortless sense of time travel she shows in her later works, as she seamlessly blends the sights, sounds smells, clothing of the medieval period into her stories. I understand she will be rewriting this book in the coming year and would like to see how her current writing style might bring this story up to the five star quality of her later books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good first novel, 25 May 2010
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wild Hunt (Paperback)
this is the first novel that chadwick wrote as she explains in the introduction to this story and it doesnt show. it does however show her great attention to detail and bringing these long lost worlds to life, all this atmosphere adds to the story rather than just setting the scene. another story of two people who are thrown together through no choice of their own which was very much the way of life at that time but they still manage to find the love for each other. the character judith was the most interesting as she had the biggest changes from being a 16 year old child bride to a worthy companion and wife to guyon. excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chadwick's first novel, and Book One in the Ravenstow Trilogy, 3 Dec 2008
By 
Misfit (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wild Hunt (Paperback)
Note: this edition is a newly rewritten version of this book, and my review is based upon the earlier version. I'd very much like to see how her current writing style might bring this story up to the five star quality of her later books.

Guyan, a Marcher Lord marries Judith of Ravenstow at the order of King William Rufus. They meet on their wedding day, and Guyan finds himself with a not fully matured 16 year old wife. Judith is skittish around her new husband as her now dead father was extremely abusive to both her and her mother. Not everyone is happy with the union, as some would prefer Judith married elsewhere and Guyan must guard his back against attempts on his life. As Guyan and Judith struggle with the treachery and intrigues of the courts of both William Rufus and his brother Henry, they manage to forge a strong and passionate marriage, and Judith grows into a strong willed woman and a force to be reckoned with.

I've read this book twice now, the first being about two years ago before I had read much of the author's later works. It was very interesting to revisit one of her earlier books and see the contrast between them and how the author has grown. While a very well told tale, I did not find the effortless sense of time travel she shows in her later works, as she seamlessly blends the sights, sounds smells and clothing of the medieval period into her stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth Chadwick's First Novel, 17 Mar 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Wild Hunt (Paperback)
Much of Elizabeth Chadwick's research is carried out as a member of Regia Anglorum, this is an early medieval re-enactment society. This is her first novel. It would be fair to say that it is a historical romance, but I feel that it will be equally enjoyable by both men and women.

The Story takes place in the feudal domains of Norman Lords occupying lands in Wales during the reign of William Rufus. Elizabeth Chadwick has the ability to bring to life the everyday happening of an occupied Wales and the occupying Norman's are brought vividly to life. These were hard and cruel times when life was cheap and women were thought of as little better than brood mares whose only role in life was to provide an heir for their husband's.

Since writing this book, Elizabeth Chadwick has become a successful and much read author. Her writing style has dare I say it become much earthier and are all the better for it. Women still make up a large part of her writings and why not, they are just as interesting, if not more so than the men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A totally absorbing read, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Hunt (Kindle Edition)
Having read The Conquest and really enjoying, i decided to take a leap of faith and read another of Elizabeth Chadwicks book. Really glad i did as this was even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, Sexy, Romantic, History-Rich Novel, 5 April 2012
By 
This review is from: The Wild Hunt (Paperback)
Welsh Marches, Eleventh Century, and William Rufus is on the throne, steps shadowed by the wily Prince Henry and the eldest of William the Bastard's brood, Robert Curthose, from across the water. And then William is killed in a suspicious hunting accident, and Henry flies to claim the throne. In these turbulent times, war always beckons, but now its shadow looms large over the lives of those living on the Marches, who will be called upon to choose sides...

Elizabeth Chadwick's first novel is, as she says herself in her foreword, more romantic than some of her later works where she always writes about real as opposed to fictional characters, but for me, that extra touch of hope, laughter and love mixed in with her usual realism of the times just makes this story all the more appealing. Both her hero and heroine are steeped in the times, and because perhaps they aren't reproduced figures from the history books, she has been able to make of them strong, sexy in places and yet vulnerable people who embrace their environment and no matter if they win or lose, come up fighting - the best kind of characters!

I would thoroughly recommend this book, not only for the relationships and dealings with the events of the times, but the wonderful evocation of that era, which she is so skilled at reproducing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Wild Hunt (Paperback)
Personally I think this is onwe of Chadwick's best novels, even if it is a reworking of one of her earliest works. The characters are engaging and different from the usual, her description is excellent and it is an altogether engaging read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 22 May 2009
By 
Mr. David A. Knapman "Jackie" (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wild Hunt (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book, have read all Elizabeth Chapman books up to now, I know people say that this book is not like her other books as it is not based on real history but I found this book which has been revamped since the first edition to be quite easy to read and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chadwick Fan, 7 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Wild Hunt (Paperback)
Being a huge fan of Elizabeth Chadwick I was delighted to see that she had a new title out. I was not disappointed!! Wonderful historical detail threaded by carefully researched basic details of the period, a great storyteller!! Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wild Hunt (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book, the story, the characters, everything about it. Another great read from Elizabeth Chadwick, never wanted to put it down, would recommend this to anyone who loves historically correct novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wild Hunt
The Wild Hunt by Elizabeth Chadwick (Paperback - 4 Dec 2008)
5.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews