Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff
A good thriller with lots of interwoven twists and turns all the way through. As has already been mentioned by other reviewers, I did find some of the characters a bit wooden or even unlikeable in the very beginning but as I read on, this definitely changed for the better. Most notably with Grace's mother, Elizabeth Brice. The other main characters who kept me going...
Published on 6 May 2008 by Cosmic

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible disappointment!
I was attracted by the short summary of the plot and I found out later that it is entirely inconsistent with the book. The father does not lead anything: he is a dim-witted useless non entity. The mother is depicted as a cold-hearted virago and the result is pathetically unlikely. The hero is granpa Vietnam hero sporting amazing skills, real hard to swallow. The girl is...
Published 16 months ago by Silvana Cecere


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 6 May 2008
By 
Cosmic (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Abduction (Paperback)
A good thriller with lots of interwoven twists and turns all the way through. As has already been mentioned by other reviewers, I did find some of the characters a bit wooden or even unlikeable in the very beginning but as I read on, this definitely changed for the better. Most notably with Grace's mother, Elizabeth Brice. The other main characters who kept me going i.e. Grace, her father, John and grandfather, Ben are also brilliant.

This is an enjoyable read, maybe some parts are a bit unfeasible but I think this only lent to the enjoyment and suspense of the story.

Well worth a read..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars crime drama thriller mark gimenez, 29 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abduction (Paperback)
This is a thoroughly enjoyable read,the short chapters at the start move it quickly,and you feel as though you get into the book very easily.The characters are brought together well and you are able to understand who is who right from the start.It starts off as an abduction of a ten year old and as her father is just about to become a multi billionaire the thought is this is all about money, but not so, as that would curtail the book to a very short story. The grand father is a vietnam war veteran and is very high profile all through out the book. There is a chapter at the start giving an insight into the vietnam side of the story and again further on ,which i found a little too much as it is established early enough who is involved in the vietnam side of things. The story has a good surprising and unexpected twist to give a satisfactory ending. The author has you thinking that the girl has been abducted by someone who seems slightly loony tunes and weird, and the girl is bright enough to know she has to leave clues as best she can.The mothers involvement turns out to be much more than first thought and I completely missed what is probably so obvious to another reader that an ordeal she went through, only told later in the story, had events that changed her life but that she kept to herself,but turned out to give leverage to the abductors plans. The father,who is more a computer geek than adventurer and seemed to live quietly in the back ground has been living all his life with the feeling of being a let down to his father; is by the end a surprise to himself realises he has just as much backbone than the rest of them. This is a great book and story,easy to read and get into, all characters are totally believable. I would without hesitation recommend this book and myself will definitely read more of this authors work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 1 Mar 2008
By 
JM (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Abduction (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it took a little while to get really stuck into it as at first I found the charachters other than Grace herself rather dull and not particularly likeable, but by about 60 - 70 pages it was starting to get interesting and the charachters were developing a bit too. By this point it was one of those books where you keep thinking you'll just read another of the short chapters, and then found yourself reading lots more simply because it was so gripping. Lots of surprises along the way too.
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars abduction, 21 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abduction (Paperback)
well written book fast pace really enjoyed it

cant wait to read more of this authors books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible disappointment!, 5 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: The Abduction (Paperback)
I was attracted by the short summary of the plot and I found out later that it is entirely inconsistent with the book. The father does not lead anything: he is a dim-witted useless non entity. The mother is depicted as a cold-hearted virago and the result is pathetically unlikely. The hero is granpa Vietnam hero sporting amazing skills, real hard to swallow. The girl is presented as wonder woman: how could she be such a wonder with this family? This book is just clichés, badly put together. Boring, predictable, uninteresting. I was bitterly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grisham with added humour, 24 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abduction (Paperback)
For fans of John Grisham, and especially his earlier (dare I say his best....?) works, Mark Gimenez will be an easy transition to make; well structured plots, interesting characters, pace and pathos in good measure, plus some real laugh out loud lines....Thoroughly recommended; I read one and then bought all four others!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over the top..., 5 Mar 2007
By 
Keris Nine - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Abduction (Hardcover)
Preposterous though it is, you can't help admiring the scale and ambition of The Abduction - a big, bold, in-your-face American blockbuster of a thriller. The kidnapped child at the centre of a major furore is Gracie, the tough-cookie daughter of an outrageously rich and successful family. Her father is a computer billionaire, her mother a high-flying, high-profile lawyer. When Gracie is abducted at a school soccer game, it inevitably turns into a huge media event, particularly when a reward of $25 million is offered for her safe return. But surprisingly the kidnappers don't take the parents up on their offer and there is no ransom demand made. Eventually, the family have to come to terms with the fact that their daughter is almost certainly dead.

However, Gracie's grandfather - a grizzled Vietnam veteran, fighting to contain the demons of the past and the flashbacks that torment him through heavy drinking - has a mystical psychic connection with the child and is convinced that she is still alive. When the FBI give up on the case, he sets out to rescue her himself, and do it his own way - particularly as the kidnapping seems to be linked in some way to his past as a Green Beret in Nam.

Everything about The Abduction is BIG - over-the-top scenario and characters, clipped dialogue, almost declamatory prose, even the emotions are pumped-up to the max, full of macho posturing, screaming, hard-bitten dialogue and threats of a bloody and violent death for Gracie's captors ...and that's just the mother. Gimenez clearly takes this all very seriously and for the novel to work it is essential that he does - but that doesn't mean the reader has to. All of this would be utterly laughable if you took it at face value. Go along for the ride though and this is a complete blast of a read, constantly maintaining a blistering pace, keeping the reader gripped (and incredulous) at the subsequent revelations, thrills, action and inevitable explosive finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Abduction, 5 April 2010
By 
A. R. Hogg "Alan R" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Abduction (Paperback)
I only discovered Mark Gimenez by accident in a 3 for 2 book shop, and was impressed how easy it was to get lost in the plots and characters and sub plots, I have read Grisham, but found Gimenez to have more of a cerebral challenge to him.
have bought the remainder on here for summer holls but started on them already!!
worth the read. The Abduction is one that for recent events will touch you know matter how we reacted to the news of the last three years.
A very enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great characters, great plot, great story......., 25 Mar 2008
By 
Jules "policechick" (Hertforshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Abduction (Paperback)
I read the first book by Mark Giminez and enjoyed it enormously. So I was looking forward to this one and I was not disappointed.

It tells the story of Gracie Brice a feisty ten year old tomboy who is kidnapped. Her grandfather is Ben Brice a Vietnam war veteran who bears battle scars, enormous guilt and a haunted memory of his time as a soldier - with an alcohol problem that only highlights the bad times.

Between them exists an unbreakable bond - it's all that has kept Ben alive until now and it's all that is keeping Gracie alive as Ben begins his rescue mission.

These are the two incredibly strong central characters around whom the plot is woven but Mark Giminez weaves together a colourful and challenging supporting cast.

There is Elizabeth, Gracie's mother whom it's hard to initially like and who closes herself off from the rest of the family in order to survive this ordeal.

John, Gracies father is an internet geek who is most at home with sotfware programmes and who is almost childlike in his outlook. He has tried to befriend rather than parent his children and is almost helpless to react and support his family at such an awful time.

And then there are the kidnappers who have masterminded the whole affair.

This is a great thriller that keeps you just burning the midnight oil to get through the pages. It's fast paced, well written and has an oh so clever twist at the end.

This book is just begging to be made into a film. So read it first to enjoy it most!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent one-off, 29 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abduction (Paperback)
It's a shame Gimenez doesn't create a hero or heroine, his books are really without fault as "good reads" and leave you wishing for a sequel...as always, a great twist at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Abduction
The Abduction by Mark Gimenez (Paperback - 21 Feb 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews