Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic read!
Ms. Chadwick has scored again. In this, her eleventh novel, she fictionalizes the life of sometime outlaw Fulke Fitzwarin. I started the book on an icy November afternoon, with a pot of tea and plate of gingersnaps at my side, and was immediately drawn back to the 12th century. As with all her books, Ms. Chadwick blends history and fiction with an expert touch. The...
Published on 10 Jan. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lords of the White Castle
'Lords of the White Castle' tells the epic true story of Fulke FitzWarin and his enmity with Prince (later) King John. Fighting to reclaim his family's rightful inheritance, Whittington, the white castle of the title, Fulke is thwarted time and again by his royal enemy. Eventually he turns outlaw. Clearly Fulke is one of several historical persons who could have...
Published on 2 Jan. 2013 by Carroty Nell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic read!, 10 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
Ms. Chadwick has scored again. In this, her eleventh novel, she fictionalizes the life of sometime outlaw Fulke Fitzwarin. I started the book on an icy November afternoon, with a pot of tea and plate of gingersnaps at my side, and was immediately drawn back to the 12th century. As with all her books, Ms. Chadwick blends history and fiction with an expert touch. The romance between Fuke and Maude de Vavasour is touching, as they overcome great odds to marry and have a family while he battles with King John to recover his family's primary seat, Whittington Castle.
The plot was well paced and full of just the right combination of romance, adventure and history.
Fans of romantic historical fiction should not miss this latest triumph by one of the brightest stars in the world of medieval historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chadwick never disappoints!, 30 Jan. 2007
By 
Misfit (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
While serving as a squire at the court of Henry II, fifteen year old Fulke FitzWarin runs afoul of a drunken Prince John and fights back when John attacks him with a wooden chess board, leaving a grudge that both men carry into adulthood. The FitzWarin family fights to have Whittingdon Castle, that was taken from them during the Civil War, returned to them, yet upon Richard I's death the now King John refuses to consider Fulke's plea out of spite. Fulke and his brothers rebel against John and become outlaws, living in the woods and robbing whenever they can from John (hmmm, a bit similar to a certain legend?).

Fulke has carried a torch for Maud Walter, who was married to a much older Theobald Walter when she was very young. Recently widowed, and at risk of being married off to one of John's henchmen, Fulke literally whisks her out from under John's nose and marries her and she joins Fulke and his brothers as outlaws as they continue to fight to regain Whittingdon Castle.

There's a whole lot more to the story than that, but as usual I'm not into book reports, read it for yourself. As always with Chadwick's books, the way she brings the medieval period to life in such a graceful and effortless way, be it the sights, sounds, smells, food, clothes and battles is just awesome. As quoted on some of her book jackets, the next best thing to time travel. Chadwick has also written a prequel of sorts telling the story of Fulke's parents, Shadows and Strongholds: A Novel that I also highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, The best writer of medieval fiction around., 21 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
Fantastic reading, I am an avid fan of Elizabeth Chadwick and reading Lords of the White Castle I have not been disappointed, but enthralled, the book kept me captivated from beginning to end. A lover of medieval, romantic fiction, but not corny romance this is a story of playful rivalry between Prince John and a young courtier named Fulke FitzWarin that turns into something bitter between the two and so the personal rivalry carries on through their lives.
Fantastic historical detail, and for not one moment was I distracted from this entertaining storyline, I praise the author Elizabeth Chadwick for giving us another wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING!, 6 July 2007
By 
Misfit (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lords Of The White Castle (Paperback)
While serving as a squire at the court of Henry II, fifteen year old Fulke FitzWarin runs afoul of a drunken Prince John and fights back when John attacks him with a wooden chess board, leaving a grudge that both men carry into adulthood. The FitzWarin family fights to have Whittingdon Castle, that was taken from them during the Civil War, returned to them, yet upon Richard I's death the now King John refuses to consider Fulke's plea out of spite. Fulke and his brothers rebel against John and become outlaws, living in the woods and robbing whenever they can from John (hmmm, a bit similar to a certain legend?).

Fulke has carried a torch for Maud Walter, who was married to a much older Theobald Walter when she was very young. Recently widowed, and at risk of being married off to one of John's henchmen, Fulke literally whisks her out from under John's nose and marries her and she joins Fulke and his brothers as outlaws as they continue to fight to regain Whittingdon Castle.

There's a whole lot more to the story than that, but as usual I'm not into book reports, read it for yourself. As always with Chadwick's books, the way she brings the medieval period to life in such a graceful and effortless way, be it the sights, sounds, smells, food, clothes and battles is just awesome. As quoted on some of her book jackets, the next best thing to time travel. Chadwick has also written a prequel of sorts telling the story of Fulke's parents, Shadows and Strongholds: A Novel that I also highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant!!, 6 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This is by far Elizabeth's best book to date. As usual, it takes me into the Mediaeval period where I can almost experience the life for myself. It's historically accurate too - I've checked!
This book has the accolade of being the only book (out of the many 100's that I have read) that has made me cry, such is the emotional content.
For readers awaiting a new novel, I would recommend Diana Gabaldon. Again, she absorbs you into the period and she is historiacally correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making the legends of Robin Hood look dull!!, 30 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: Lords Of The White Castle (Paperback)
Im a great reader of Elizabeth Chadwick and enjoy the escapism and feel for period each one gives. I would say that Lords of the White Castle is her finest work to date. Fulke Fitz Warin is a real historical character who truly deserves his fascinating story to be told. This true story of an outlaw during King Johns reign will really appeal to those who enjoy the Robin Hood legends as it captures the very essence minus cheese. Its romantic, exciting, accurate and un put downable, and as an added bonus it features "The greatest Knight" William Marshal having both Historical heros in one book makes it perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 17 April 2001
By A Customer
I enjoyed the story, but wondered if it was a bit far fetched in places for an "historical" novel - as an historical romance, however, it was a good read. I think Sharon Penman and Helen Hollick perhaps have a slight edge over this particular novel though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent tale from Elizabeth Chadwick, 30 May 2014
By 
EleanorB - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lords Of The White Castle (Paperback)
This author really knows how to weave a tale, making it real and believable without dropping pace or losing the thread of her narrative.

This is the story of Fulke, legitimate heir to his family's property and lands not far from the border between England and Wales. As this is the 12th century, the system of inheritance is very much in the gift of the King as the liege lord to whom Fulke has to swear allegiance. As the King is John (runt of the Angevin litter and very much in the shadow of his older brother Richard the Lionheart) things do not go well. There is enormous animosity between the two men, which dates from Fulke's time in the then Prince John's household and this bitterness means Fulke spends much of his adult life fighting to rescue his inheritance, Whittington, from the family to whom John has granted tenure.

Early in the book he meets Maude, a lovely and very young bride on the brink of her marriage to an older man. That marriage is not entirely unwelcome as it will free Maude from her unfeeling and unsympathetic father. Her mixed feelings for Fulke soon become a mutual attraction which is masked by indifference and the appearance of dislike. Fulke is by nature a warrior, a fighter on many levels, and King John delights in using his talents, discarding him, harrying him and threatening him and his brothers. When, Maude's elderly and devout husband who has virtually become a monk passes away, she is left as a woman of substance and a vulnerable widow, who having caught the roving eye of King John is, in time honoured royal fashion, offered the role of mistress. Revolted by this suggestion, Maude admits her feelings for Fulke and a passionate and fulfilling marriage begins against the background of his endless questing for his birthright.

Fulke finds joy and fulfilment in his growing family, adding impetus to his part in the struggle which culminates in the forcing of King John into signing Magna Carta and Fulke's reclamation of his property. This new security means he can begin to plan futures and marriages for his children and his young ward, and to rebuild the conflict damaged Whittington in stone thus producing the White Castle of the title.

This is a cracking piece of work, with a well matched hero and heroine surviving in dangerous times, sustained by their love and mutual desire, and on occasions frankly little else.

An imaginative and fulfilling book, whose ending will perhaps surprise. I shall not spoil that for anyone. Great stuff. Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lords of the White Castle, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Carroty Nell "Nell" (Alaska, USA (summer) Manchester, England (winter)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lords Of The White Castle (Paperback)
'Lords of the White Castle' tells the epic true story of Fulke FitzWarin and his enmity with Prince (later) King John. Fighting to reclaim his family's rightful inheritance, Whittington, the white castle of the title, Fulke is thwarted time and again by his royal enemy. Eventually he turns outlaw. Clearly Fulke is one of several historical persons who could have engendered the Robin Hood legend.

Elizabeth Chadwick is not an especially talented writer - she doesn't have a particularly distinctive narrative voice and her prose rarely shows quirkiness or originality. I also have a problem with her dialogue: either her characters should speak Middle English/Norman-French, or modern English, but sticking a few 'forsooths' into modern English syntax is amaterurish and unsatisfactory.

This is a hugh book(it didn't fit through my letter-box and I had to arrange a special delivery.) The reader's interest in the story rarely flags, but it could have been cut by about a quarter and still been a great book. Chadwick's strength, though, is in bringing the medieval world vividly to life. Chadwick excels in finding such little-known but fascinating stories as that of Fulke and creating a page-turning novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable - but maybe in need of an edit., 12 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
When I first got hold of this book I was gripped - I literally could not put it down. But then somehow, in the last fifth or so, it seemed to lose its way, and from being gripped I was - well, rather bored. So maybe it would have been better shortened down a bit. I did find Maude a bit stroppy - it would be nice just for once to have a medieval heroine who is not a proto-feminist. Too much to ask perhaps?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lords Of The White Castle
Lords Of The White Castle by Elizabeth Chadwick (Paperback - 7 Sept. 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews