Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for bike fans
Finally,a book on the privateers of the Dakar rally. Although this book is about Charleys' adventure he brings in the stories of other lone riders;their stories and tradgedies. This is no macho event. The women have a high finish rate and come from all walks of life. As he asks other riders throughout the rally what motivates them, there are a variety of reasons but...
Published on 14 Oct 2006 by J. A. Kilburn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good insight into a terrifying race
A light read perfect for holiday reading, dont look at the pictures as it will spoil a fundamental part of the story - wait until you are 3/4 the way through. Not spectacular reading but easy to pick up and put down again and generally entertaining.
Published on 16 Feb 2012 by Sharknose


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for bike fans, 14 Oct 2006
By 
J. A. Kilburn "haggard fan" (Hants England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Race To Dakar (Hardcover)
Finally,a book on the privateers of the Dakar rally. Although this book is about Charleys' adventure he brings in the stories of other lone riders;their stories and tradgedies. This is no macho event. The women have a high finish rate and come from all walks of life. As he asks other riders throughout the rally what motivates them, there are a variety of reasons but perhaps the most apt, is that in an increasingly sanitised world it is one of the last tests of mind over matter on the planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey... how hard can it be ?, 30 April 2007
By 
R. Watson (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Race To Dakar (Hardcover)
If there were ever a book that would let you delude yourself into thinking you could take on "The Dakar", this is it.

A great read from start to finish. You don't need to be a biker to appreciate the magnitude of the effort, as the book details more "behind the scenes" dramas than any sanctioned video ever would.

After reading this, you'll understand the quote at the end which goes (and I might be para-phrasing) "if you're thinking about doing the Dakar, you never will. For the people who enter the race, there never is any question."

Quite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Race to Dakar is a must read book!, 4 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Race to Dakar (Paperback)
If you were a fan of the long way around, you will love this book. Having no past knowledge of the Dakar rally, i was enchanted by the story and gripped as the events unfolded. Race to Dakar is a must read for anyone interested in adventure, motorbikes and determination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Adventure Everyone can Enjoy, 3 May 2008
This review is from: Race To Dakar (Paperback)
I don't know anything about motercycles, and could not put this book down! Even though I havn't seen the show I really felt like I was there for the whole journey. Charley does an excellent job of recording his reactions, even when they are all over the place. I really apreciate the honesty he put into the book. The inclusion of so many other Dakar stories really rounds it out, creating a true picture of the race, not just a celebrity's attempt, and would be an exciting, inspiring read no matter who wrote it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 21 May 2007
By 
Woodspoon (Southend, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Race To Dakar (Hardcover)
It's mindbending, bicep busting, heart pounding, brain breakingly good!

The way Charlie has written the book takes you through every emotion he and the crew experience as if you were there yourself, the high's, the low's, the determination, the exhaustion, everythings there.

It's an amazing book written by incredible people about an awe inspiring event.

Read this book because, it is that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great look at what the bikes are all about, 18 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Race To Dakar (Hardcover)
I have read almost all other books relating to the Rally, yet I found this one great insight into what modifications are made to the vehicles and what kit is used in the great race across the desert. The first few chapters are jam packed and mechanics dream of info relating to the vehicles. the rest of the book is also great, as it's simple to read and gives a nice step by step account of the teams progress along with a few humorous stories they heard along the way. I couldnt put the book down and wished it had been a bigger book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Boy's Own stuff!, 1 Sep 2006
This review is from: Race To Dakar (Hardcover)
I got this book at the Edinburgh Book Festival after a talk by Charley on the Dakar rally (hence in advance of th eofficial release). It's a wonderful story of his follow up to a Long Way Round, where he entered the 2006 Dakar Rally. It details his trials & tribulation and the pain & emotional rollercoaster that took place. If you like bikes, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 July 2009
This review is from: Race To Dakar (Paperback)
Charley's best so far!!

The DVD is great but as he can't say a sentence with using the Fword it does get a bit tiring... and smacks of lack of intelligence (Sorry Charley we love you man but control that tonugue). As a book is more thought out it's very informative and the best part of the story, one of his team members getting lost, is incredible - and only just mentioned on the film. If you like bikes, buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way better than Long way down!, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Elizabeth Fiona Mcdonald "efmcdonald" (Wokingham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Race To Dakar (Paperback)
Its not very often that we get to see the Dakar race and what actually happens.
Its a really fascinating documentary which is well worth watching and reading about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Race To Dakar (Paperback)
Book arrived within 3days of ordering, one day later than expected but no to worry who can complain at that price.
Will definitely use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Race To Dakar
Race To Dakar by Charley Boorman (Paperback - 7 Jun 2007)
£8.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews