Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it is a winding road
The long awaited "The Winding Road" is as beautifully written, well researched and unpredictable a story as the others in the series by Ms Harrod Eagles. The book as a whole is rather sombre but after the euphoria of the end of WW1 I think the world was a sombre place. This book covers from 1925 to 1930 and includes all the important events over both Britain and The...
Published on 15 Nov 2011 by Mrs. A. Wright

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on previous Morland books
Let me start by saying I was one of the Morland Dynasty's biggest fans. I LOVED this series and have read and reread the earlier books. In fact I am such a fan that I got this book as a present from my Dad (who had to order it into the local bookshop especially for me), and a friend. They were so used to me raving about these books as must haves. But I had already bought...
Published on 27 Jan 2012 by avidreader


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it is a winding road, 15 Nov 2011
By 
Mrs. A. Wright "wright0072" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The long awaited "The Winding Road" is as beautifully written, well researched and unpredictable a story as the others in the series by Ms Harrod Eagles. The book as a whole is rather sombre but after the euphoria of the end of WW1 I think the world was a sombre place. This book covers from 1925 to 1930 and includes all the important events over both Britain and The U.S.A. during this period. The lifestyle at that time is clearly described. As ever I constantly read little tidbits of knowledge that fascinate. The characters are true to life and there is some periods of light humour. As it approaches modern days it is a series that would be appreciated by many more readers. The history fans who have grown with the family will continue to enjoy it but I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a family story or has an interest in more modern history. This is the last book to be published by Little, Brown Book Club but Ms Harrod Eagles is working hard to find another publisher or other method of publishing so that The Morland Dynasty can continue. Roll on Book 35

WONDERFUL NEWS THAT ANOTHER MORLAND SAGA IS TO BE PUBLISHED TAKING IT UP TO 1938.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars is this the end?, 8 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been reading the Morland Dynasty since its beginning and every year in November I really look forward to getting the latest one. Although I would normally rate all CHE's books as 5 star, I felt this one didn't have quite the same magic.

It had a feeling of something ending and I wonder if this is the end of the Morland saga. if so, then I'll miss it terribly.

As for the book itself, whilst the historical detail was there, the stories of the characters seemed shallow, and as if the author needed to bring them to a conclusion.

I understand that the contract was extended to 34 books in this series, and this was Book 34 so...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Admitted fan, 21 Feb 2012
I have read all of the previous books in this series, enjoying some more than others but always with enjoyment. I couldn't stop reading barely putting it down. Like another reviewer I had a feeling that we were bidding goodbye to the characters, but I sincerely hope not. They didn't leap off the page as in previous books in the series, but were intriguing neverthless. I remember reading that the author intended to take the Morland Dynsasty to the present day so I do hope this is not the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read xxx, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Winding Road: The Morland Dynasty, Book 34 (Paperback)
The Morland series are very popular books, and it is easy to see why! Straight away I was captivated by the storyline, and although it is a large book, it does not drag at all and I found that I raced through the chapters in no time.

One thing I would like to focus on is the amount of detail in the book. The story follows the Morland family through the 1920′s and the detail and descriptions are wonderful. Cynthia has done a great amount of research and it really makes the book as I could picture every single scene in my mind. It felt as though I had been transported back in time and that I was watching the events unfold in front of me. I completely lost myself in the setting and everything was brought to life, I had the most enjoyable time reading this!

The characters were brilliantly written, Polly in particular was a favourite of mine. I loved how as readers we got to know each character very well, so that we understood how they acted, their thoughts and their feelings. I felt as though their hopes and dreams shone from the pages, and in the sad moments, I was gripped to see how they would deal with the situations they were faced with.

This book is compelling, it is addictive and the characters are truly fascinating people who deserve to be read about. It is worth pointing out that this is actually book number 34 in the Morland series, and so if you like period books with amazing detail and a long series to get stuck into, then I suggest you try Cynthia Harrod-Eagles novels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dynasty, 19 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. W. S. Jackson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having purchased and read this series from the first publication Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is always at the top of my Christmas list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wholly satisfying read., 13 Nov 2011
By 
Mrs. O. D. Crompton "Ericcrompton" (Hampshire U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wholly satisfying and beautifully written book. The story of the Morlands comes to an end but with the return of Polly to Yorkshire there is a sense of a circle being closed with only a moment's regret that Lennie was not with her. I tried to ration myself to a couple of chapters a day but it was impossible and I finished the book in two evenings' reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Winding Road, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winding Road: The Morland Dynasty, Book 34 (Paperback)
Book 34 in this fabulous series - I love them all and can't wait for the next one to be published
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on previous Morland books, 27 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me start by saying I was one of the Morland Dynasty's biggest fans. I LOVED this series and have read and reread the earlier books. In fact I am such a fan that I got this book as a present from my Dad (who had to order it into the local bookshop especially for me), and a friend. They were so used to me raving about these books as must haves. But I had already bought it.

Its the first book in the Morland Dynasty that I have yet to finish and I started reading it the week it was released!!!! Sorry but this is not the usual standard of writing. The characters are boring and the plot predictable - like HELLO - I know they didnt have twitter or facebook in the 1920's but if Polly Morland was a famous personality surely her long lost lover would have known she was in town.

I usually finish a book in a few days at most but now I am debating whether to just give up on it or finish it through to the end.

Please write another one but bring back the old magic. I would love to see the Second World War covered as the first was covered beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read the entire series & enjoyed everyone . Long may CH-E continue !
Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morland Dynasty, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winding Road: The Morland Dynasty, Book 34 (Paperback)
I chose this book as I have read the other thirty three books in the series and already have number thirty five. The book arrived very promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Winding Road: The Morland Dynasty, Book 34
The Winding Road: The Morland Dynasty, Book 34 by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles (Paperback - 31 Oct 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews