Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Morlands
I have bought the whole series of books and am reading them for the second time around. I agree with all the comments of the other three reviewers. I have learnt more about WW1 (and history in general) since reading this series of books. Every book you read leaves you desperate to read the next instalment. I was particularly interested in the fate of Bertie and Jessie...
Published on 5 Dec. 2009 by JennyB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story
Not really my type of book or author but enjoyed it Cant say I would read anymore from this author
Published 12 months ago by Penragon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Morlands, 5 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have bought the whole series of books and am reading them for the second time around. I agree with all the comments of the other three reviewers. I have learnt more about WW1 (and history in general) since reading this series of books. Every book you read leaves you desperate to read the next instalment. I was particularly interested in the fate of Bertie and Jessie - what a twist at the end. Roll on the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never fails to enthral 500 years after starting, 27 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This family has characters who live fully on the pages of the saga, as the years roll by. The author researches every period of history so well,to capture the highs and lows of the years as they pass, I have enjoyed and understood more of the history of England throughout the series than ever I did at school. Recent additions to the saga have focused on the period of World War 1 but this only highlights the amazing changes that occurred with the freedom this created for women.Highly recommended - start at the beginning and learn to love the Morlands on their journey through the ages. Every book leaves you waiting eagerly for the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fallen Kings, 27 Nov. 2009
By 
Marion E. Scoular "Morland devotee" (Duluth, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Reading a Morland Dynasty book is like devouring cookies. Creation obviously took a LONG time but can be demolished in such a relatively short time. Cynthia's research is amazing, her characters vividly described and I am already looking forward to the next story. Her website is enjoyable. too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latest in Morland Dynasty, 23 Nov. 2009
By 
Mrs. A. C. Sansbury "Aly" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit to being biased as I am a huge fan of these books. It didn't disappoint and I am very sad to have finished it. Cannot wait for next one. A fantastic series to get into with lots to keep you interested both historically and romantically. To do it justice you need to start at the beginning, which I do with each new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book in fantastic series, 10 July 2010
By 
Miss Amanda Jones (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This whole series (this book is no. 32) is wonderful, and this book in particular is a fantastic read. Unlike many historical novelists, she doesn't write about 21st century people in the past, but places people properly in context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OUT OF WAR - THE HEARTACHES AND THE THOUSAND, RANDOM SHOCKS, 19 Nov. 2011
By 
KOMET (WASHINGTON, DC - U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fallen Kings: The Morland Dynasty, Book 32 (Paperback)
"THE FALLEN KINGS" begins in France in January 1918. Bertie, at a formal investiture ceremony, is awarded the Victoria Cross (VC) by George V for bravery and is promoted to the rank of colonel. The war grounds on relentlessly. There is an anticipation that the Germans, now that Russia is out of the war and has more troops at its disposal, will launch a spring offensive in the West aimed at defeating the British (and, by extension, crushing an already tired and bloodied France) before the Americans can arrive in strength.

Before the year is out, the lives of the Morlands (men and women alike) and their families will be radically changed. Some of these changes, alas, will be tragic. War, influenza, unrest in Russia, the search for love --- these separate, yet interconnected, factors figure prominently throughout the novel. And in the denouement, set in a restaurant of a London hotel in 1919, the reader is treated to a mind-blowing cliffhanger, which may have unforeseen consequences for the Morlands.

For the Morland Dynasty series fan (like me), this novel is a savory treat that will grab and hold you from start to finish. And for those readers new to the series, you will want to learn more about this incredibly resilient family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another gripping read!, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fallen Kings: The Morland Dynasty, Book 32 (Paperback)
This volume begins in January 1918 and covers the last months of the Great War. I love the way it involves the reader in the lives, loves and losses of the characters. Individual personalities are described so well that the reader can identify with them. They seem so real! Besides being a darned good story one can learn the social and political history of the time. Ms Harrod-Eagles has put so much effort into making sure it is as historically accurate as possible. Some readers' eyes have glazed over at the detail inculded regarding individual battles, the position of various battalions etc. Personally, I feel that these details enhance the story lines, and with much to-ing and fro-ing between the maps at the front of the book (there could have been more!) one can get a clearer picture of what was going on. This review can serve just as well for books 30 and 31 -The Measure of Days and The Foreign Field. I'm looking forward to reading the whole series. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morland, 31 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fallen Kings: The Morland Dynasty, Book 32 (Paperback)
Having read all theprevious books in the Morland Dynasty Saga, this latest book lived up to my expectations. Excellent details of life after the Great War of 1914/18
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fallen Kings (Dynasty), 5 April 2010
By 
Mr. F. Smallpage (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is number 32 in the series and is the culmination of WW1. A wonderful read.
I thoroughly recommend this authorto anyone who wants a serously good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fallen Kings, 16 July 2010
By 
Kmplumb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fallen Kings has stood up to Cynthia other books, was so interesting read it in a week, patienty waiting for her next volumne.
Have the whole series.
KMP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fallen Kings: The Morland Dynasty, Book 32
The Fallen Kings: The Morland Dynasty, Book 32 by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles (Paperback - 3 Mar. 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews