Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tea and Biscuits, 22 April 2007
By 
Laura Nixon (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down (Paperback)
If you like a good cup of tea with some biscuits, this is definately the book to read with it! It's a humourous book all about the leisurely art of having a cup of tea and describes some great biscuits in detail. You'll love this if you're a fan of the website of the same name and also if you enjoy knowing random things like how many Penguins are made each day. It's an enjoyable read and worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Hil (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down (Paperback)
This is very very silly and great fun - perfect to dip into and cheer yourself up (much like an actual nice cup of tea and a biscuit in fact). Nicey writes in an easy style of innocent classic British humour with a good dollop of nostalgia - especially strikes a chord for us baby boomers who remember brightly coloured Playbox biscuits (there never were enough pink ones!) My sister complained because I left the book on the bedside table in my guest bedroom and she was up half the night reading and giggling.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely funny and oddly informative, 1 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down (Paperback)
Hilarious but heartfelt book detailing the importance and varitey of tea and biscits.
Some that you've forgotten, from the distant days of your youth and some of the ever present staff-of-life favourites. It's a slick and funny read with some lovely moments of glowing nostalgia. A really great little gift for a friend or work collegue but, like me, you'll probably find you have to read it yourself before giving it to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have a cuppa and put your feet up with this book, 19 Aug 2007
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down (Paperback)
What a lovely little book, the perfect accompaniment to a nice cup of tea! Find out what your work cup says about you; whether Wagon Wheels are smaller than they used to be; why fig rolls have a 'sense of mystery' and why shortbread is a biscuit with delusions of grandeur!

I particularly enjoyed Nicey's thought about the pink wafer and fully concur that it is the biscuit equivalent of 'The Singing Detective'. The only glaring omission, for me, was the toasted teacake.

A great 'gift book' that you can dip in and out of. Funny and engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what she needed!, 14 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down (Paperback)
This was purchased as a present for my wife, who needs no excuse for a brew and to contemplate life as we know it. Therefore a book that describes the intimacies of tea drinking, and its companions of cake and biscuits, was spot on. OK the tone of the book may be old fashioned and a little bit 'middle England' but its amusing, easy to read tone is perfect for a relaxing browse. Enjoy tea and the book and don't take life so seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biscuit Lovers Rejoice, 13 Nov 2009
By 
A. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down (Paperback)
This book is fantastic if you love biscuits!!! The only thing missing is an index!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny book and so true., 16 Jun 2014
By 
Steve (Herefordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down (Paperback)
Anyone who likes a cup of tea and a biscuit will recognise the humour in this book. Love the section about office etiquette when it comes to making tea. The section on US immigration is spot on. Everything in this book is just what we do, when drinking tea. Good observations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Joy, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down (Paperback)
A wonderful trip down memory lane. I bought this book after watching the Nigel Slater programme on biscuits that featured 'Nicey'
who wrote it. I Love this book ! Such a Joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Raymond A. Hook (Dereham, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down (Paperback)
I love this book. The first part involving tea, is interesting enough. But the real stars are in the biscuit department, lovely to dunk in and out of. I borrowed it from the library and enjoyed it so much I've just ordered myself a copy.I never re-read books but this one is such a spirit lifter, I can't resist it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down (Paperback)
Clever, funny, interesting and surprising. I have learned a lot from this book and recommend it to anyone, whether they like a 'nice cup of tea and a sit down' or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down
Nice Cup Of Tea And A Sit Down by Nicey (Paperback - 1 Sep 2005)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews