Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read!!
Strachan is a super book and if you already have heard or seen Gordon Strachan on TV, you will know he is a sharp and witty man, and the book doesn't disappoint. He is very honest and open about his career, and i would recommend the book to any football fan
Published on 10 Sept. 2006 by S. Woods

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly Good Autobiography
In this book Gordon gives a good account of his playing career from the successful Aberdeen team of the early 1980s, to Manchester United, and then onto Leeds and Coventry. He also discusses his falling out with manager Alex Ferguson.

The part that deals with his managerial career is also interesting, particularly his time with Coventry and Southampton. He...
Published on 8 Jan. 2009 by J.Flood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read!!, 10 Sept. 2006
By 
S. Woods - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Strachan is a super book and if you already have heard or seen Gordon Strachan on TV, you will know he is a sharp and witty man, and the book doesn't disappoint. He is very honest and open about his career, and i would recommend the book to any football fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly Good Autobiography, 8 Jan. 2009
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
In this book Gordon gives a good account of his playing career from the successful Aberdeen team of the early 1980s, to Manchester United, and then onto Leeds and Coventry. He also discusses his falling out with manager Alex Ferguson.

The part that deals with his managerial career is also interesting, particularly his time with Coventry and Southampton. He gives a good insight into the stress and strain of managing those two clubs, that were often struggling to stay up in the Premiership, and had to sell their top players in order to survive.

I had been expecting a few more funny stories/anecdotes, though, from his long career in football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wee man, 13 Feb. 2007
As quick witted with his words as he used to be with his feet.

A frank and honest account of his career, he lets us understand the strains managers are constantly under.And why quite often they make wrong decisions.

Why he and Fergy still do not get on amongst other gems.

One of the better football books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible disappointment., 3 Jun. 2007
By 
R. S. Bennett "Fooball book addict" (Bishopville, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Strachan is one of the wittiest men in football. Shame it didn't come through in the book. Glosses over the newsworthy stuff, labours over the mundane. The wee man got it all wrong with this book. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fergie, 3 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strachan: My Life in Football (Paperback)
I bought this book because I could listen to the wee man talking about football all day . I did enjoy the book but was hoping for more of his famed wit .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strachan: My Life in Football
Strachan: My Life in Football by Gordon Strachan (Paperback - 3 May 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews