Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read
this is a great insight to the taboo subject, and how some mothers will do anything for their kids. the excellent written story i feel was true and significant
Published on 26 Dec. 2012 by Angela L. Cunliffe

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A brave lady, but...
I read this book in three days and I really did feel for the plight of 'Elizabeth' and what she was forced to put herself through to help her family survive. I thought it was a good read and it was enlightening as to how these things actually work and how people can fall into such professions quite by chance.

However, for all that enjoyed about the book, I was...
Published on 14 Sept. 2006 by Katerina4488


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Riveting!, 21 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Call Me Elizabeth: Wife, Mother, Escort (Paperback)
Dawn Annandale is an utterly remarkable individual, I say individual because she is truely unique. What courage and personal strength she behold's in her heart and her soul, all of which seems to radiate from her happy, healthy and secure children. What more could a mother's love and perseverence hope or aim to achieve. What a woman, what a mother. I do not judge her in anyway, shape or form, In fact I respect her wholeheartedly.

This book is absolutely mesmerizing, an addictive page turner. I cannot wait for her second book to be published. Hurry up Dawn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Womans Courage, 12 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Call Me Elizabeth (Paperback)
An amazing book about a woman and the undying and unbelievable courage and determination she had. Excellent heartwarming book that I sure to inspire. I have found similar books such as NIGHTMARES ECHO and THE GLASS CASTLE. I thought they were magnificent inspirational books but this one, CALL ME ELIZABETH even tops them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing true story, 13 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Call Me Elizabeth (Paperback)
I read the book from front to back within a couple of days... great read..
Anyone with an interesting or amazing life should write their story.. We're all interested in how other people live, and in this book you really see the ups and downs of life..
Have already passed it onto friends to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL READ, 9 Aug. 2005
By 
This review is from: Call Me Elizabeth (Paperback)
This book is amazing it makes you feel sad and sorry for what elizabeth has to go though just to save her family. I felt myself change emotions so many times. I read this in two days I couldn't put it down. well worth the read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Call Me Elizabeth, 10 May 2005
This review is from: Call Me Elizabeth (Paperback)
This book is so well written it is very difficult to put down. Telling the true story of a woman with an awful start in life and how she, through her own fault it has to be said, finds herself at a relatively young age with 6 kids, huge debts and a hopeless husband. She freely admits her own irresponsibility but it wasn't all her fault. There were many times throughout the book I felt she could have taken an alternative path than the one she chose to be come a prostitute - very few women, even in real financial dire straights as she was, would sink this low to obtain money, but one has to admire her guts and stamina and the focus she had to continue with this exhausting and potentially dangerous lifestyle in order to secure her childrens lifestyle. I empathise that immoral high earnings were probably the only way she could have done this. I admire that she finally gave it up and I would be intrugued to find out how things turned out for her in the end. An excellent read and insight into the world of an escort girl and, above all, a dedicated and loving mother, despite how she may be judged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courage, Integrity and Responsibility, 14 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Call Me Elizabeth (Paperback)
This woman has the most appalling childhood, useless husbands and its no wonder she dreamed of a perfect life for her own kids. She was partly to blame for the situation she was in but she freely admits that and accepts responsibility by putting her childrens stability first. She wanted their lives to be happy and undisturbed so she made a huge sacrifice for them. She doesn't see it that way and in no way does she ever come across as a victim. Dawn is merely a mother determined to give her kids the love she missed out on when she was a child. This is a very moving story and if I were Dawn I would be so proud of myself. Well done, for accepting responsibility and having the courage and selflessness to put your children first. Amazing story, cant wait to find out what happened next. This should be made into a film - it would be fantastic. I have the utmost admiration for you Dawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOTALLY UNPUTDOWNABLE!, 6 Jun. 2008
By 
Leeanne Maginn "Leeanne" (Coleraine, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Call Me Elizabeth (Paperback)
THIS IS A TRULY HEART BREAKING STORY OF A LOVING MOTHER PUSHED TO THE BRINK OF BANKRUPTCY WHO TURNS TO ESCORTING TO PAY THE BILLS AND GIVE HER CHILDREN A STABLE LIFE. BY THE END I TRULY FELT LIKE COMMENDING THIS WOMAN WHO HAD ENDURED SO MUCH ALL FOR THE GOOD OF HER CHILDREN. FANTASTIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and gripping, 4 May 2005
This review is from: Call Me Elizabeth (Paperback)
Although this book isn't one that i would normally read i.e. it doesn't have the adreniline rush that i need to turn the pages, i found this book a very nice read.
Very rare is this subject looked at in such detail of the desperation of people and how far exactly they will go to keep what they cherish most going and thriving. This book is easy to read good one for going on holiday but one you can easily get lost in the world of.
Beautifully written and desipte the subject matter taht may not be everyones taste i believe that this book should be one to be read. I believe it would do very well for GCSE school pupils to read as i think it is a book they would be vastly interested in instead of the rubbish they require the kids to read nowadays.
A pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars call me Elizabeth, 6 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Call Me Elizabeth (Paperback)
This I feel is an honest view of Dawn Annandale life and the reasons why she did what she did. It could not have been easy making the choices she did and my heart goes out to her. I would do the same if I were in her shoes. And I would love to chat to her sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 20 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Call Me Elizabeth: Wife, Mother, Escort (Paperback)
Dawn Annandale comes across as a tough uncompromising woman. Her experiences are not so much salacious as 'school of life'. Here is the reality, not just of a prostitute but of a woman doing what she has to do to give her six children the things they need. It is an interesting character study - she makes her decisions and sticks by them, riding very close to the wind. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call Me Elizabeth: Wife, Mother, Escort
Call Me Elizabeth: Wife, Mother, Escort by Dawn Annandale (Paperback - 27 July 2006)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews