Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational
As with all Josie's books I find this book inspirational (if a bit wet, but she is living proof that there is no such thing as bad weather!)
Published on 28 Jan 2011 by Donald

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Authorial Tourettes ruins a decent read.
My first Josie Dew book, and probably my last. Her account of New Zealand is negative, mainly as a result of suffering terrible weather and abuse from NZ motorists.
However, the reason for my one star rating is the constant subtitling of NZ place names in an attempt at humour. It isn't funny the first time we read something like 'Papakura ( papa can cure her)' but...
Published 9 months ago by Le Pepe'


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 28 Jan 2011
This review is from: Long Cloud Ride (Paperback)
As with all Josie's books I find this book inspirational (if a bit wet, but she is living proof that there is no such thing as bad weather!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD READ, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Cloud Ride (Paperback)
I BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR MY FRIEND WHO HAS READ OTHER BOOKS BY THIS AUTHOR. SHE LIKES THE WAY THE READER IS DRAWN IN TO THE JOURNEY AND EXPERIENCES THEY ENCOUNTER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Authorial Tourettes ruins a decent read., 8 Dec 2013
This review is from: Long Cloud Ride (Paperback)
My first Josie Dew book, and probably my last. Her account of New Zealand is negative, mainly as a result of suffering terrible weather and abuse from NZ motorists.
However, the reason for my one star rating is the constant subtitling of NZ place names in an attempt at humour. It isn't funny the first time we read something like 'Papakura ( papa can cure her)' but as there is one or more of these on most pages, it becomes at first distracting, then silly and annoying.
Ms Dew can write, but she doesn't do humour well. Leave that to Bill Bryson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Cloud Ride (Kindle Edition)
Josie at her best. Observant, wry humour carries her through her journey.reporting on the human condition that she meets at every twist & turn of the road. An excellent read for all travellers, especially those addicted to two wheels and pedals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars long cloud ride, 20 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Cloud Ride (Paperback)
another great adventure from one of the best lady writers
who ride a bike .get it and enjoy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely fun writer, Josie always takes the reader along in ..., 9 Sep 2014
This review is from: Long Cloud Ride (Paperback)
Lovely fun writer, Josie always takes the reader along in her panniers - you get more of the atmosphere of a country through her books than many guidebooks. V enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars First and Last Josie Drew............., 27 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Long Cloud Ride (Paperback)
Very disappointed by this book. Too much moaning about the weather, logging trucks, and Drewisms of Maori names, made this a very dull book. Would have been nice to read something positive about this wonderful country and its people, but alas none of that, just chapter after chapter of the same monologue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Show a little respect, 15 April 2011
This review is from: Long Cloud Ride (Paperback)
I was disappointed with Josie's constant moaning in this book. She complains about the busyness of the roads but has forgotten that unlike the rest of the World - New Zealand only has one main road that travels the length of the country. There are very few 'back roads' so all the cars and trucks use the one road. This road is gradually being widened and the corners are being reduced to cope with the increasing width of the trucks which pound up and down the country...but it won't happen overnight. She also chose to stay in some of the worst campgrounds,and if she had just checked her Lonely Planet she could have had some far more pleasant nights in bush surroundings in the same town or city. She needs to do her homework before she travels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as she has been in earlier publications, 22 May 2009
By 
Bookworm (Newbury, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Cloud Ride (Paperback)
I have read all of Josie's books leading up to Long Cloud Ride and felt they were on a par with Dervla Murphy, Anne Mustoe, Tim Moore and Alastair Murphy.
Josie has in the past managed a pleasant mix of humorous anecdote coupled with an interesting backdrop of well described local scene setting. Somehow the format felt a little repetitive and none to inspiring.

If this had been the first Josie Dew book I'd read I doubt I would have bought another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Long Cloud Ride
Long Cloud Ride by Josie Dew (Paperback - 7 Feb 2008)
£8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews