Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars169
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2006
Scar Tissue is a cracking read. How Mr. Kiedis is still alive is a miracle. The huge amount of drugs, the accidents (bad accidents), the women, the band, the highs and lows are all honestly recounted in this oustanding autobiography.
A.K. gives an insight into the mind and behaviour of an addict with refreshing honesty; there's no preaching here. He recounts his childhood and writes much about the Chili Peppers themselves, detailing their ups and downs (there's a lot of both), their creative processes and the meaning behind some of their songs.
Whether you're a fan of the Chili Peppers or not, this is a great autobiography and I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2006
I picked up this book out of curiosity and as soon as I opened it, I was hooked! I could not put down this book and I had to keep reading to find out what happens next.
It takes you through an amazing journey with Anthony Kedids and some of the photos are fab.
Recommended for fans or people just discovering the Red Hot Chili Peppers.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2005
Despite being a massive RHCP fan i didn't know how much i would like this book. I had always got the impression Anthony would turn out not to be a nice guy but this book proved me wrong. He does obviously have an ego, but seems to be a genuinely nice guy, with lots of respect for the people round him. The book focusses more on his personal life, drugs, girlfriends etc rather than the music but it is an amazing life he has had and well worth a read. My only criticism would be i would have liked to know more about the recent times in the band, with their now massive fan base and appeal. Even if you are not a big fan of the band this is still well worth buying.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2006
This book is one of the best books I have ever read. It's the sort of book that hooks you in from the first sentence right through to the last (my fave).

How Anthony is still alive is a complete mystery. His life is full of drugs, girls n near fatal accidents. All I can say is that fate wants him around to change people's lives in ways he'll never know through the music of the amazin' Red Hot Chili Peppers.

5 out of 5 by a mile!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2004
Being a big fan of the chili peppers and of Anthony in particular, i couldnt wait for his autobiography to come out. I was not disappointed! By the end of this book you feel you really know Anthony, its such an honest account of his life. (and you have to admire him for being so honest). The whole history of the chili peppers, drug addiction; rehab, relapse and the continued cycle, sexual encounters and great stories of celebrities who have crossed his path (he's been babysat by Cher!) are all explored plus much more. He talks in great detail about his years of drug abuse which can at times be quite shocking. Whats admirable is that he never trys to pin blame on anyone for his addiction, taking full responsibility for it himself when many may try to find a scapegoat. Its not all about the dark side to Anthonys life though, theres lots of funny stories and lighthearted amusing stuff too. Theres quite a few photos, Chili Peppers ones (early days), family, childhood, ex girlfriends etc. There is also some stories about what inspired lyrics, which i found quite interesting. Some are well known like "Under the Bridge" & "Scar Tissue" but there are some stories behind the lyrics for some other songs and what inspired them that are not so well known "Porcelain" & "Tearjerker" being examples. This is a moving, truthful, funny and interesting book. I would highly recommend it!
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2006
A totally convincing and gripping account of the highs and lows of stardom. Although written chronologically this is more than another diary of a rock and roll band. Kiedis comes across at times as a man who has everything and nothing and his battle with drug addiction which flows through the pages from start to finish is both moving and horrifying. For RHCP fans it's good read, but for anyone who's been touched by addiction - in any form - this is essential.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
I was a big fan of Kiedis and the Chili Peppers (up till the mid 90s anyway) until I read this. What a tosser. I was so disappointed by the person who emerged from these pages. I learned about a rampant egotistical, chronic heroin addict who acquired Hep C as a result. I also learned that Kiedis is so cool that he never feels the need to wear a seatbelt. He also appears to fall in love with almost every woman he meets.

There are plenty of interesting and amusing stories here too, the background with his dubious father, the Spice Girl, his approaching Sly Stallone on a movie set and of course the drugs and we even get to hear about the music too. So in conclusion I would say that this is entertaining enough but Kiedis is most unlikeable and he really starts to grate on you. This bio is too long but I'd say it's worth a read but maybe borrow someone else's or get it from the library.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2005
Having been a Red Hot Chilli Peppers fan for many years i was chuffed to get this book as a gift. From the very first page it is a brutally honest, stunning, sometimes moving insight into the life of Anthony Kiedis. Far from being just a frontman, we learn a lot about the man himself - his relationships, drug addiction and the slippery slope to sobriety. This book grips from the beginning and is very hard to put down. A must for any fan or someone just looking for a good read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2006
This book gripped me from beginning to end. A brutal and incredibly honest account of Anthony Keidis' life in and out of the Red Hot Chilli Peppers. Graphic accounts of the most outrageous situations that this man found himself in and out of. This book is the ultimate sex drugs and rock and roll biography of a man that shouldnt really be alive or aloud out in public unaccompanied. Or without a straight jacket.
A truely amazing read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2005
Not being a fan of autobigraphies, I was a little hesitant picking up Scar Tissue but the blurb on the jacket looked interesting so I thought "Ah,why not?!"... well I needn't have been! It's the most enthralling book you could ever read and it'll turn you into a die-hard fan by the end!
Anthony takes you on a high-octane, haywire journey through his rollercoaster of a life! Pure rock'n roll start to finish! The narrative is very graphic and matter-of-fact which makes it all the more compulsive reading. Scar Tissue is an eye opener of a read in that whilst it's harrowing in places as it takes you through the extreme lows of Kiedis's life-long drug use, every re-lapse was heartbreaking, it'll also touch you to the very core. The scenes showing the incredibly deep bond that runs between Anthony and Flea will have the most stone-hearted reaching for the tissues. You'll feel as though you're right there going through all the drama with him and the band. What'll get you the most in this book is Anthony's honesty and just how emtional this dude is - the man has a heart the size of Texas and he ain't afraid to use it - i dare you to not fall in love with him by the end of it! Chili Peppers rock, no question.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)