Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace
One of the most fascinating, and at times disturbing, accounts of one of the most (in)famous tennis players of the Open era.
Whether you loved or hated the Super Brat, admired his skill,or despised his behaviour, this autobiography is a candid and reflective look by McEnroe over his life, with special focus on the past twenty five turbalent years in the public...
Published on 18 July 2002

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars John McEnroe, the charismatic and wonderful tennis player
John Patrick McEnroe, born in 1959, was the world's best player between 1980 and 1984. He has won 76 singles titles, of which 7 Grand Slam, and 76 doubles titles. Nowadays he is one of the best (perhaps even the best) tennis commentator.
In this book McEnroe discusses his childhood, his rise to tennis fame and success, his fantastic 1980 and 1981 Wimbledon-finals...
Published on 3 Nov 2002 by Gerard Kroese


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars john mac, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Serious was very good, it was John McEnroe as I always knew and loved him. Indeed Superbrat turned supermac. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious (Kindle Edition)
My tennis hero did not disappoint and I loved his references to Borg. I love to read these books and learn how, through sheer hard work and determination such great athletes have kept us on the edge of our seats for so may years entertaining us whilst playing the greatest game. Well done John McEnroe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good gift, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious: The Autobiography (Paperback)
bought as a present for my niece as she loves tennis and reading autobiographies. she was very happy with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Tennis l;overs, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious: The Autobiography (Paperback)
if you want a review of JMs career and the period he played top level tennis this book is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing personality, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable read. An argument could definitely be made for McEnroe being the most well known tennis player of all time. It is a highly unusual combination for a person to not only be the best in the world in their field but also the biggest personality as well. This is a well written book and praise must be given to McEnroe for being so honest and forthright with his opinions. Love him or loathe him you can be sure of two things about Johnny Mac. One, he was genuinely one of the greatest tennis players who ever lived and two he did and will tell you exactly what he thinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book on the gretatest tennisplayer, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious: The Autobiography (Paperback)
A wonderful read about the greatest tennisplayer in history. It gives also a good insight in the tennisworld and why he behaves like he does. Book was send fast to a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace tennis autobiography, 2 Dec 2013
This review is from: Serious: The Autobiography (Paperback)
To become a multiple US Open and Wimbledon champion takes some skill and determination, and McEnroe certainly had both. In this story of his life, we hear McEnroe's own take on his career. He doesn't analyse himself a great deal - he talks a lot about incidents where he became angry on court, but never really gets to grips with why he was such an angry player compared with many of his rivals. However, it's fascinating to hear McEnroe's point of view. He comes across as a little self-centred and there are a lot of excuses when things don't go his way - whether it's the end of his marriage, his descent down the rankings, or falling out with other players as a TV pundit - but one senses that this combination of selfishness and ruthlessness was a character trait that was vital in driving his rise to the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting so far before I stopped..., 14 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Serious (Kindle Edition)
Cover 4.0 Not sure whether intended or not showing his face partly in light partly dark. I wonder which part of him player or personality fits what colour. Admire his grit but Borg did it without the antics. Perhaps he could have got on with his game better if he had the playbacks as in 2013. Found I got bored with the book at about half way. Lent it to a friend who plays tennis well and she did not finish either. The book going as part of my two going for every new one bought. I like his commentary now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great insight into his life, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. Reading helped me understand and sympathise with his attitude to authority and elitism in the Sport
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to know him better, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Serious (Kindle Edition)
As one who felt McEnroe a real brat and rude in the extreme I now see him in a different light . I still think good manners should be part of sport but can see why one can get really angry. A good read which confirms the fact that I could never have been a top tennis player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x11070744)

This product

Serious: The Autobiography
Serious: The Autobiography by John McEnroe (Paperback - 5 Jun 2003)
6.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews