Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gardens of The Dead
Realising that she doesn’t have long left to live, court prosecutor Elizabeth Glendenning leaves behind the work she has accumulated on a particular case in a safe deposit box, entrusting a key with her former deputy, Anselm Duffy, who has since left the court service to become a monk. The case that has occupied the attentions of Elizabeth is an old one, a...
Published on 10 Mar 2006 by Keris Nine

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just didn't do it for me!
Not unexpectedly, a female QC dies due to a heart condition. She was on a mission to correct a wrong in her life having earlier successfully defended a guilty person. Despite her death, she did leave clues to those close to her to reveal the full story of the events years ago. One of those is Father Anselm, a barrister and monk, who appeared in `The Sixth Lamentation',...
Published on 24 Jun 2007 by johnverp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Follow on Book, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is my type of story and was a follow on in a series.

Book was in a good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent style and plot, 2 July 2013
By 
Judith White (Bath England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So well thought through. It carries you away into a world which makes you forget the time and I always looked forward to when I could continue reading it. Most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Gardens Of The Dead (Father Anselm Novels) Brodrick, William, 31 Mar 2013
By 
VICTOR (WALTON-ON-THE-NAZE,ESSEX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of William Brodrick's and this I think is as good as his other work, it deserves the 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrated, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK I am going to show myself up here for the book worm (nerd?) that I am, however I am on page 110 of this book and have noticed a continuity error. There is reference to a frequented cafe used by characters Elizabeth and George as Marco's(page 42, page 54) then pages 96 and 109 refer to Carlo's before page 110 refer to Marco's again. While I have enjoyed the book so far, such editing problems frustrates me greatly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A puzzle well solved, 11 Jan 2013
Another beautifully written Father Anselm novel. I especially liked George the man who takes to the streets to escape his past. However I found Elisabeth less convincing as a character, I realize that her personality is compromised by her secret but I felt that the author is more successful with his male characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars William Broderick's novels are just so different to anything I ..., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
William Broderick's novels are just so different to anything I have read before - and I have read extensively in this genre. A real pleasure to read all of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a disappointment, 1 May 2007
By 
Avid Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gardens Of The Dead (Father Anselm Novels) (Paperback)
The sixth lamentation was a brilliantly written book with a well executed plot. This is a second book that should not have been written, what a disappointment, it does not flow, characters are confusing and it does not live up to expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "... the trial took a wrong turn and no one noticed.", 23 Feb 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gardens Of The Dead (Father Anselm Novels) (Paperback)
To be perfectly honest, reading this novel was a trial. I haven't read the author's first book "The Sixth Lamentation", but from somewhere around chapter six, I was lamenting the fact that I'd started reading it at all. The best word to describe it is "dreary".

None of the characters come to life, or HAVE lives for that matter, and none are even remotely likeable. The story goes on and on in circles, covering and recovering the same scenarios over and over again.

There's the barrister (Anselm) who chucked the bench for a monastery, and who finds himself in the middle of a mission to correct the wrongs of a trial that took place years before. The chain of events is started by his former colleague, Elizabeth Glendinning, who takes great pains to lay out a tortuous scheme related to a closed case just before she dies by natural and foreseen causes.

Said scheme includes her son, with whom she hasn't seen eye to eye for a while, and a motley collection of characters related to the case. Back and forth we go, between a long suffering lawyer, a homeless man with a dark past, a young man with a darker past, and an assortment of female characters of various ages that become difficult to keep track of as the story progresses. The one character that could have saved this is the elusive "Pieman", who unfortunately is never allowed to play a significant role in the slowly unfolding drama.

Devoted fans of literature may use words such as "allegorical", "moral", "spiritual" and intellectual" to describe this one, but in my personal and considered opinion, I'd say "convoluted", "slow" and "not-the-kind-of-novel-to-read-if-you're-looking-for-a-good-tight-mystery"

Leave this one to fans of serious literary works, and people who like to ponder.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A warm and intriguing mystery revealed by an monkish, reluctant slueth, 1 May 2007
By 
BookAddictUK "BookAddictUK" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Gardens Of The Dead (Father Anselm Novels) (Paperback)
Father Anselm is an unlikely hero in detective fiction. The former barrister turned monk displays remarkable tenacity and loyalty but he is fallible, often prevaricating, often drawing false conclusions. In this regard, he is engagingly human, without any of the gritty roughness so often associated with literary sleuths. Yet, in The Gardens of the Dead, William Brodrick has created an eminently English, eminently likeable, detective. Reminiscent of Josephine Tey's The Franchise Affair, the novels unfolds with gentle twists and turns that gradually reveal the truth behind the lie, beneath the deceit. Elizabeth Glendinning QC is a barrister on the track of a criminal who out-manoeuvred her a decade ago. Her task becomes harder when she succumbs to a genetic heart condition and dies in her car in London's East End. Her legacy is to pass the mystery on to her former colleague, Father Anselm, and she leaves him a series of pieces of information and tips which try to map his route through a labyrinth of deception. Written in lucid, sophisticated style, the plot evolves in with rigid constancy. Gripping and intriguing, this is one of the best mystery novels of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 11 Sep 2007
By 
op "Olfreda" (Buckinghamshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gardens Of The Dead (Father Anselm Novels) (Paperback)
I haven't yet read The Sixth Lamentaion, but I can't wait to do so. The Gardens of the Dead was that rarest of books, an intelligent mystery, where the characters are revealed as the mystery is revealed, and the mystery is revealed through them. So often characters in mystery novels play the roles of pawns or props. Not in this one. A very superior offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gardens Of The Dead (Father Anselm Novels)
The Gardens Of The Dead (Father Anselm Novels) by William Brodrick (Paperback - 1 Mar 2007)
6.62
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews