Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Brother is coming to get you.
Another B.DuBois book pitching the plucky heros against the evil forces of the establishment. This time its MIA's from Vietnam who fight the good fight and well worth fighting it is too. The action is well paced and the plot extremely credible leaving you with the feeling that the author may have some inside knowledge on this piece of virtual history. Excellent holiday...
Published on 4 Jun 2003 by ndes110

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but not great
I've read all his books and the first two were excellent this one seems rushed especially near the end it's as though he went over the publishers deadline .There are two main stories which are both good but you'll find the flash back story intresting and well detailed with cracking characters that make you smile.The present day story has it's moments especially the evil...
Published on 29 Aug 2003 by Kj Illman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but not great, 29 Aug 2003
By 
Kj Illman "bubblecop" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Betrayed (Paperback)
I've read all his books and the first two were excellent this one seems rushed especially near the end it's as though he went over the publishers deadline .There are two main stories which are both good but you'll find the flash back story intresting and well detailed with cracking characters that make you smile.The present day story has it's moments especially the evil killer who is ruthless.As I say the ending seems rushed and is a little soppy but otherwise if you are a fan of Dubois read away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Brother is coming to get you., 4 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: Betrayed (Paperback)
Another B.DuBois book pitching the plucky heros against the evil forces of the establishment. This time its MIA's from Vietnam who fight the good fight and well worth fighting it is too. The action is well paced and the plot extremely credible leaving you with the feeling that the author may have some inside knowledge on this piece of virtual history. Excellent holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 22 April 2003
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Betrayed (Paperback)
I was torn between a 3 and 4 star rating, but this is quite good.
Much in common with his previous two books (both of which I enjoyed) it has a mix of conspiracy and the good guys being hunted down while they try to get the bad guys exposed.
There are two plots here, one deals with a Vietnam MIA turning up 30 years after being asumed dead, and the other is his story of what happened.
Good stuff if a little rushed at the end, some things were tied up very quickly and that is what probably pushed my score down to 3. Still worth a few hours of your time though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking, 30 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Betrayed (Hardcover)
this was the first book that I read by Brendan DuBois and I loved it. The possibility that this could happen was fascinating. I have since read several of his books all with possible alternatives.Great topics for discussions! I can't wait to read the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 5 July 2014
This review is from: Betrayed (Paperback)
Prompt delivery, great stuff thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Paul Cambridge (Republik of Mancunia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betrayed (Kindle Edition)
I picked up this book on holiday a few years ago from the hotel ' library'. I find it a brilliant, thought provoking read. I'd forgotten the title when I got home and it took me a while to track it down again. Read it, enjoy it and you'll never trust your government again ( if you ever did).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Dave Arthur (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betrayed (Kindle Edition)
But I do hope that all American cops aren't as stupid as this makes them out to be. Though this doesn't diminish the overall concept and execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Books by brendan, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betrayed (Kindle Edition)
What a superb story. Couldn't put it down well written ,pact and exciting with a nerve shredding ending . That's two of his read and both great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Betrayed, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betrayed (Paperback)
I really loved this book. Really exciting and I couldn't put it down. Well written and I would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK conspiracy fantasy., 9 Oct 2007
This review is from: Betrayed (Paperback)
I like Brendan DuBois, but the plot for this book is like all conspiracy theories... superficially plausible, but closer examination reveals giant holes in the plot. The biggest is that in real life there are only SIX of the 2,200 Vietnam MIA's who's fate the US government can't explain. Partially to hide an increasing body count in the later years of the war and partially to avoid someone believed dead turning up to find his wife has remarried the US wouldn't list someone as Killed in Action unless they actually recovered a body. Pilots who's aircraft blew apart 100 miles out to sea are MIA's even though there is no doubt what really happened to them. This makes up a major part of the plot in Lee Childs 'Tripwire' which I'd recommend to anyone who loves a good thriller, but with no 'unaccounted for' MIA's there's no real basis for the plot of this book.

Betrayed is a decent enough pageturner to read on the beach or on the train, but its lack of historical base makes it an inadequate 'What if' novel. If you've never read any of DuBois's previous give 'Resurrection day' a go, but I'd skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Betrayed
Betrayed by Brendan DuBois (Paperback - 17 April 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews