Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a Delight for the Reader
I know that historical fiction is not usually at the top of the best seller lists and I guess that it is not really a subject that appeals to the mainstream book reading public, but if ever an author deserved best sellers Susanna Gregory is certainly one of them.

She is not as prolific a writer as many of the authors who write this style of book and the...
Published on 2 Aug 2006 by J. Chippindale

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed ex-fan feeling cheated
Having read all Gregory's Chaloner books I've been working working my way happily through the Bartholomew Chronicles. But feel utterly disappointed and disillusioned by this one, as Gregory herself inadvertently provides her key murderer with an alibi that makes the 'solution' totally impossible. Also, the chronology of when the key murderer obtained the neccessary...
Published 19 months ago by Clare


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a Delight for the Reader, 2 Aug 2006
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hand Of Justice: 10 (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) (Paperback)
I know that historical fiction is not usually at the top of the best seller lists and I guess that it is not really a subject that appeals to the mainstream book reading public, but if ever an author deserved best sellers Susanna Gregory is certainly one of them.

She is not as prolific a writer as many of the authors who write this style of book and the anticipation of waiting for a new title can be quite frustrating for the reader. However the wait is always worthwhile.

I am not sure whether it is Matthew Bartholomew himself, or the setting of Cambridge in the mid-fourteenth century but Miss Gregory's books seem to carry an aura all of their own. Certainly for me and hopefully for other readers as well.

Cambridge 1355, the townspeople and the students of Cambridge are as always at one another's throats. Although the students bring status and wealth to the City the people of Cambridge still consider them louts and trouble makers.

The tension has increased with the return to the City of two well-born murderers. They have been released by none other than the King himself, after he deemed that a Royal pardon was appropriate. The pair are showing no remorse whatsoever and are more than ready to confront the citizens who helped in their conviction in the first place.

In the middle of all this Bartholomew is called to a local mill where two corpses have been found. Is there a connection between the bodies and the release of the murderers. Is anything that simple in 14th century Cambridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent author and novel, 23 July 2004
By 
Mr. Sr Harrup "nehpetsrh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Susanna Gregory has written nine previous volumes about her medieval sleuth set in 14th century Cambridge, all of them were excellent, this is no exception, except she has excelled herself with characterisation and descriptive narrative.
Historical crime novels seem to be the poor relations when it comes to sales, but Gregory, Bernard Knight, Paul Doherty and Peter Tremayne are every bit as good as the 'moderns' such as Harlan Coben and the like, indeed, I would suggest that more research goes into their books as the settings are acurate for the time periods. So, if you are looking for a crime novel and want to read the best - buy this book and put Susanna Gregory and her medieval world at the top of the best sellers list where she belongs. Oh, and don't forget the other authors I mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER stories, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am reading this series of books in order and I wonder at Susanna Gregory's ability to keep the stories fresh and exciting.Taking the real events and people of Cambridge in and around the years of the great plague she weaves tales of murder and mayhem in the young university town of Cambridge.I like the relationship between Matthew Bartholomew a physician and Michael the portly friar who keeps the peace amongst the students.They are deftly weaved storylines and plots and well worth getting to know especially if the medieval period appeals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historical murder mystery, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the work of this author, especially as it is set in a place I know - even though centuries ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oh susanna, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hand Of Justice: 10 (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) (Paperback)
i have read most of your books and enjoyed all of them but must say this is one of the best and i love your sense of humour. was completel baffled by the crimes this time. really great writing and enjoyed meeting 'old friends' again more please a.s.a.p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hand Of Justice: 10 (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew), 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hand Of Justice: 10 (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) (Paperback)
Can't comment as bought for someone else. Ones I have read are very good if you like history and murder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 24 Oct 2013
By 
SuziB - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hand Of Justice: 10 (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) (Paperback)
I'm loving this series of books, I literally can't put them down! Susanna Gregory really takes you back to medieval Cambridge, so that you can almost smell/feel/hear the sights & sounds of a time gone by. And the mysteries themselves are true page turners with really likeable &believable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hand Of Justice: 10 (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) (Paperback)
There's nothing bad to say about the Matthew Batholomew stories and this one, as per the others, continues a few months after book 9. I love the murder mystery of the middle ages and the attention to detail is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Read, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Susanna Gregory shows once again that she is the master of historical mysteries. This book is well researched and written with a skill that totally absorbs the reader, taking you with her heroes on an adventure in 14th century Cambridge. Twists, turns and the occasional red herring keep the pages turning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crime with a difference, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great fan of the Matthew Bartholomew Chronicles. They all have a beginning, middle and end and are a great read. The characters are all believable and the way Susanna Gregory describes the times you can almost smell the dirt that is lying around in the town of Cambridge. It is also possible after reading just 2 of these chronices to really imagine the charactes and almost feel that you would meet them in the street.

I have all the rest of the books on my Kindle waiting to me read.

I would recommend anyone who wants to read a rattling good story that will, in parts, make you smile if not laugh outright.

Gilly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hand Of Justice: 10 (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew)
The Hand Of Justice: 10 (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) by Susanna Gregory (Paperback - 26 May 2005)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews