Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY
Bought this on a bit of a whim. Actually he's a lot funnier in print I think, and I read this in a day. Deathrow is really quirky, often weird but it really appealed. If your sense of humour is slightly off middle then check it out.
Published on 1 May 2005 by S. Stevens

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hill-larious?
As whimsical and madcap as you'd expect from the self-styled 'Big Collared Loon', this 'novel' is really just a bonkers stream-of-consciousness and as utterly deranged as it could possibly be. A must for HH fans, but I did begin to wonder whether this represented several hours of my life I'd never get back...
Published 15 months ago by Scaroth, Last of the Jagaroth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY, 1 May 2005
By 
S. Stevens "cranberry66" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flight From Deathrow (Paperback)
Bought this on a bit of a whim. Actually he's a lot funnier in print I think, and I read this in a day. Deathrow is really quirky, often weird but it really appealed. If your sense of humour is slightly off middle then check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does harry hill usually make you laugh?, 6 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Flight From Deathrow (Paperback)
if so, then you have to buy this book. does it make sense, like novels are supposed to? who cares? it's extremely funny and silly and if you're looking for the meaning of it all then you'll be searching a long time.
my friend felt sick with giddiness and giggles just reading the chapter titles. as you can imagine, he's finding it a bit of a struggle to actually get through the book. i recommend taking one chapter at a time (or three, if they're very short ones) whilst sitting down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comic tour de force, 16 Mar 2003
By 
Richard Gray "rugfoot" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flight From Deathrow (Paperback)
In his first novel, Flight from Deathrow, Harry Hill spins a comic yarn that recalls and rivals the surreal novels of Raymond Queneau. Like one of his rollercoaster live shows, his prose helterskelters ever onward in unforeseen directions, in an unrelenting flow of bizarre imagination. Don't expect a beginning, middle and end. But let yourself go with the flow and you'll be laughing out loud and moving through a colourful world of C-list celebrities, topsy-turvy suburbia and upside-down logic. A rollicking good read - more please Mr. Hill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flight From Deathrow, 31 Dec 2002
By 
MR S J MORSE (Wirral, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flight From Deathrow (Paperback)
Ok, so you've seen him on TV. You might have heard the radio shows from days of old or even been lucky enough to catch a glimpse of the funny-collared man on one of his sell out tours, but nothing will have prepared you for this...
Harry's world has just become even more surreal and, if i may say, disturbingly funnier. The book takes us from the Ford open prison (driving along, changing gear, taking left turns etc.) to tower records, from the British Artificial Foot Trade Awards (BAFTAS) to Islands in the mouth of the Thames and from Pigs to Gonks, all delivered in the fantastic style of Harry Himself. I can understand people who have no interest in his humour not liking this book, but if you've ever laughed at one of his jokes, then you're in for a treat. The plot is thick and runny and the twist ... the twist is sublime.
In all, even tastier than a plate of chops and mash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars could it be funnier? i think not., 9 Dec 2004
This review is from: Flight From Deathrow (Paperback)
whether a fan of harry hill's stand-up or not (and i know a lot of people are not) this book is definitely worth a read. he places a mix of strange b-list celebrities and completely ficticious characters in the most bizarre situations, always taking each joke so much further than you thought he could.
this was clearly created from the mind of a genius - i laughed so hard when i was reading it that i thought i was going to die. almost every paragraph had me wanting to turn round to people next to me and say "just read this bit, its brilliant" - i wanted to share it with everyone and have them laugh as much as i did. not only did i laugh as i was reading it but sections and ideas from it kept coming back to me throughout the next few days which would set me off spontaneously guffawing.
word of warning though: don't read it in public places. people will stare and think you are a crazy person when they see you giggling to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simultaneously stupidest and funniest book for ages, 30 July 2003
By 
Nigel Collier (Hull) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flight From Deathrow (Paperback)
I'm no fan of Harry Hill on TV but heard him interviewed on radio and just suspected that I may like his book so I took a chance. Flight from Deathrow is extremely good, but curiously for all the same reasons that make his TV show rubbish. If you think he's just TOO silly and surreal on TV (like me) then I think you'll still find this book funny, if you're a fan of the TV show you LOVE it.Basically it's is a series of ludricous and surreal sutuations and sketches strung together with an underlying plot which itself obviously developed as Harry Hill went along. He's making it up all the time, contriving plots and a central story by juxtaposing the most unlikely characters and situations and then just seeing where it takes him. In doing this he carries running gags and sketches to the most outrageous ultimate conclusions and it's all just so, so stupid and at the same time funny enough to make you actually laugh out loud whilst reading.Before books are published, publishers get their legal advisers to give them the once over to check they are not libelous etc. the legal team for this book apparently said that their report would be thicker than the actual book itself. The central characters of the book are either the most eclectic and unlikely mix of real life political figures and B-List celebrities or fictitious people (and animals) with the most exotic and unlikely names.The main story (not that it matters) is about Deng Xioping coming to the UK to track down the 12 inch of Status Quo's 'In the Army now'. It also follows the struggle of a fictitious minor celebrity trying to make the opening ceremony of a gonk factory. On the way we meet too many characters to list or remember but a highlight for me was disgraced MP Jonathan Aitken in an escape bid from the mobile Ford Open Prison and putting on a Divas of Rock show with tattoos of Tina Turner and Sam Fox on his shins.To help the reader keep abreast of the utter mayhem and tangents of the book, Hill provides a handy 'mind map' of all the characters and their relationships at the end. But it really doesn't matter, this book is intended to be read in short bursts and there is no benefit in nor expectation that you will understand what's going on. Just enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 19 Sep 2008
This review is from: Flight From Deathrow (Paperback)
I came across this book while on a camping holiday in France, they had a small library at the campsite and if you wanted to take a book to keep you had to replace it with a book of your own...i took this book and have never looked back! Flight From Deathrow is bizarre in the extreme but as long as you don't expect a plot that makes a whole lot of sense, i would recommend this book to anyone.

The reason i rate this book so highly is because i'm so impressed with Harry Hill's imagination, some of the mini-stories within the book are just complete bonkers but in a very comical way, for example the story at Arty who worked at an embalming factory who was them embalmed by his wife and taken on holiday..

The only people i would say should not read this book, are people without a sense of humour..BUY THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 7 Mar 2008
This review is from: Flight From Deathrow (Paperback)
This is the funniest book i have read in years and it made me laugh just as much when i read it again - a year later!

My wife refused to let me continue reading it whilst on a flight - she said i was laughing too loud - "The Coma scene"

Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flight from Deathrow, 14 Nov 2010
This review is from: Flight From Deathrow (Paperback)
I couldn't put this book down and laughed virtually all the way through it. It's like no other 'novel' I've ever read. You will love this book if you enjoy sureal humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Milligan is dead, Long live Hilligan, 29 Oct 2010
This review is from: Flight From Deathrow (Paperback)
I read this book (for the first time) eight years ago. I was already a fan of Harry Hill but I wasn't sure that his style of comedy would translate from his "zany" live delivery into the written word. I needn't have worried as this book had me in stitches from start to end. I only have to think the phrase "dancing sticks" and I am gone again. Harry Hill has since become more mainstream whilst keeping his off the wall humour intact (which is a feat in itself). He has taken over the baton from late, lamented, Spike Milligan (even moreso than the Pythons) read Puckoon (Milligan) then read Deathrow and you will see what I mean.

I can imagine many people reading this novel without raising so much as a smile but (thankfully) I'm not one of them. Reading this book has now become a regular pastime for myself.

One word of warning though - do not read this book in a public place (unless you want to get stared at).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flight From Deathrow
Flight From Deathrow by Harry Hill (Paperback - 31 Oct 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews