Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lazy Ways to Make a Living - "Dolce Far Niente"
This has to be the best book ever to be given away on the front of a magazine. I know that completely contradicts with another reviewer's opinion, but that is all they really are, so read between the lines to make up your own mind. However, I cannot help but love this book. It is my comfort reading. And this review is long overdue. It's a book I always come back to; I'll...
Published on 26 Jan 2007 by Nancy Carter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reading for a lazy afternoon
This is a story of two people starting off an unequal relationship - she is the kept woman, against her principles, to a ridiculously rich man; and the problems that ensue, and consequent outcomes.
It is a fairly predictable story, but written in an entertaining way. The characterizations are a bit thin at first, but they fill out in the second half , and there are...
Published on 13 Dec 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Educational chick-lit!!, 21 May 2011
By 
J. Watts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lazy Ways to Make a Living (Paperback)
Hooked by the first paragraph I knew I was going to love this book and I wasn't disappointed. Apart from being romantic and full of "will they? won't they?" type suspense, it's also pretty educational!

I feel like I've come away a cleverer person, with all kinds of knowledge relating to etymology and strategies for playing chess! These snippets of quirky esoteric knowledge are what make this novel all the more entertaining. The characters are likeable in an oddball way and the writing is sparkling with wit throughout.

Am off to order "A Nice Girl Like Me" in the hope that it is as good as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant !, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: Lazy Ways to Make a Living (Paperback)
This Book is great , It grips you straight away , Funny & light hearted . I honeslty couldn't put it down ....I wish I knew Rose personally ..ha ha ha ....I would recommend this to any reader . I have recently ordered her new book, A NICE GIRL LIKE ME. fingers crossed its as half as good..xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lazy ways to make a living, 25 Oct 2010
This review is from: Lazy Ways to Make a Living (Paperback)
This was a creative and enthusiastic page turner throughout. The synopsis on the back gives the impresion of chick-lit. It is not. If it is, it is chick-lit with attitude. There is an impressive theme that runs through the book and keeps you intrigued. The charactures are beautifully written and there is a self deprecating humour that will ring true to many a reader. The ending is not predicatable but is satisfying and true to life. It will want you to search out the next book by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Janie P, 28 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Lazy Ways to Make a Living (Paperback)
This is one of the better examples of the chick lit genre, with an original and quirky heroine and writing that sometimes truly fizzes with wit and erudition. In the Budleigh siblings, the author may have created one of the most memorable families of sisters in romantic fiction since the Bennets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars like champagne!, 23 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Lazy Ways to Make a Living (Paperback)
Don't listen to the negative reviews. I thinks some of these people didn't get the humour and took the whole thing at face value. This is a brilliantly entertaining book. Delicious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant!, 11 Mar 2013
By 
M. Richardson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a confirmed man, i was very pleasantly surprised to actually enjoy a 'woman's novel' after being coerced / blackmailed into buying it by a (female) work colleague.
I liked the heroine (could have been horribly girlie with a name like 'Rose'), but she wasn't wet & pathetic yet i did still feel sympathetic towards her and (thankfully) she wasn't a modern-day man-mocking superwoman either.

Most surprising it actually came across as a sexy(!) book, not jilly cooper 'sexy' (see blokes do read some women authors) but actually 'real people, real feeling & real passion' sexy.

Very importantly, i found something funny every couple of pages and a decent laugh at least three times a chapter.

The chess metaphor wasn't over my head, i even understood a bit of the Jane Eyre stuff. The Edinburgh references amused me, as i know the city, enough to recognise places i've been (and it is a great restaurant), the GM potatoes are very contemporary, but still comic, the Vegas bit is more realistic than it sounds, the kept woman heroine is an intriguing concept done well and i even learnt the origins of certain words, to show-off with.

And it was romantic, with being sickly bile-inducing sweet. I was actually on the edge of my tube seat for the final 'will-they-won't-they' 12 pages.

Not really a total page-turner but a fine long weekend / holiday / way to work book.

It gets the fifth star for shamelessly flicking Vs at political correctness, and doing it in a very intelligent way.

I'd recommend it to anybody who can read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun read for a rainy day, 2 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Lazy Ways to Make a Living (Paperback)
The book follows the story of Rose, who moves from depressing bedsits and depressing jobs, to outrageous luxury and idleness as a kept woman. But is the latter really a sustainable situation, and if the bubble bursts, what happens next?
Full of chess metaphors (but this shouldn't put non-chess players off, and yes, it definately is a girl's book!), and loose parallels with Jane Eyre, it is a lightweight, undemanding, but very enjoyable read. The start is a bit slow, mainly because the characterisation at the beginning is shaky; but it's interesting enough to keep going, and the pace picks up considerably about a third of the way through, and turns in to a good yarn, peopled by an characterful cast list - the concerned, nosey sisters, the suave enigmatic chess player, the politically correct colleague, the blustering politician; issues - genetically-modified potatoes, career vs. being kept, the penalties of lying (to others and yourself); and entertaining situations - a wedding in a swimming pool, conducted by Elvis.
Not a meaty read, but good fun, witty in places, and possessing that rare thing, an ending which isn't a let down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How many cliches can you get in one book?, 7 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lazy Ways to Make a Living (Paperback)
This one has it all. Characters without a single dimension, a plot that creaks along like a square wheeled cart, and a truely dreadful ending. There are some interesting ideas and occassionally the writing is witty, but characters are introduced to move the plot along with little regard as to how they would actually interact. This novel should have been left on the shelf as just a learning tool for the author and I would urge any buyers to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money on this one ..., 4 Mar 2005
By 
A. Linton (Manchester, Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lazy Ways to Make a Living (Paperback)
Sigh - there are so many mediocre books around - and this is yet another one. Still what can I expect from a book given away free in a glossy magazine? I got the feeling that the author has led an interesting life herself and is no doubt a delightfully eccentric person, however this didn't quite translate to her character. Whereas Rose is no doubt intended to be a quirky charmer I found her merely irritating and affected. At one point her boyfriend describes her behaviour as 'whimsical silliness' and this just about sums her up for me. As for the chess motif running through the book - what's that about? Whereas I could easily believe in Rose as a head-in-the-clouds academic in some obscure subject I just couldn't buy her as a chess genius - and as for the chess-related headings at the beginning of each section - they just seemed like a transparent device to impose an illusion of order on a novel which is actually a chaotic mess. The structure is hopelessly contrived and I didn't believe that most of the events could take place on this planet - or any parallel universe for that matter. I got so bored that I gave up about half away through and flicked to the end to see what happened to these cardboard thin characters - no surprises there either I'm afraid ... Avoid this one at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars hopelessly mediocre, 28 Jan 2006
This review is from: Lazy Ways to Make a Living (Paperback)
To be honest, this book really isnt worth buying. The beginning was reasonably good, but the rest of it is rubbish. The plot and the characters arent credible.....how can catherine be the clever one, when roseis so brilliant at chess and has a phd?? and what exactly do her sisters have against her? and what KIND of sisters let their other sister work as their cleaner? reminds me of cinderella. and about 99% of the population, including me, just wont be able to relate to the whole chess theme thing. Plus, everything from the first page to the last is totally predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lazy Ways to Make a Living
Lazy Ways to Make a Living by Abigail Bosanko (Paperback - 17 Oct 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews