Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Sam Jones Fans + Kicks ChickLit in the ***
Although this could be said to be ChickLit -- it avoids all the genre's most annoying features - the heroine is *not* broke, worried about weight, lazy/job hating, living in a crummy flat, quivering with insecurity, or yearning for a husband to rescue her. Not at all.
She's successful, she works hard and enjoys it, she has a fabulous flat, great interesting friends,...
Published on 6 Feb 2003 by Rosemary Bailey Brown

versus
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sam Jones it isn't
Which is basically the problem. Lauren Henderson's crime series with Sam Jones is very good indeed and if you come to this book with expectations about having a similar sort of witty, smooth read you're going to be disappointed in this story about Juliet who's had too much in the way of men and is suffering from blow out, her friend Gillian who isn't getting enough and...
Published on 26 April 2002 by Joanna


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Sam Jones Fans + Kicks ChickLit in the ***, 6 Feb 2003
This review is from: My Lurid Past (Paperback)
Although this could be said to be ChickLit -- it avoids all the genre's most annoying features - the heroine is *not* broke, worried about weight, lazy/job hating, living in a crummy flat, quivering with insecurity, or yearning for a husband to rescue her. Not at all.
She's successful, she works hard and enjoys it, she has a fabulous flat, great interesting friends, a full life, confidence, a spring in her step, shoes to die for, and by the way treats men like sextoys.
The book is about her evolution - one day she wakes up and doesn't want casual sex anymore, but the reverse petrifies her. Kids, yuck. Committment, terror. It's female Peter Pan Syndrome coming to an end, and what do you do when that happens?
If you are a Sam Jones Fan (as I am) this book may fascinate you, because it's really a closer examination of the exact situation that Sam finds herself in at the end of the last novel Pretty Boy. Do you hang out in your old life, or do you move in with Hugo? It's a bigger terror for Sam than any of the murderers she's met.
I suspect that Lauren Henderson used this book to delve into the hip-female-committment-phobe idea much further, perhaps to resolve some things in her own mind, before returning to Sam Jones' next step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sam Jones it isn't, 26 April 2002
This review is from: My Lurid Past (Paperback)
Which is basically the problem. Lauren Henderson's crime series with Sam Jones is very good indeed and if you come to this book with expectations about having a similar sort of witty, smooth read you're going to be disappointed in this story about Juliet who's had too much in the way of men and is suffering from blow out, her friend Gillian who isn't getting enough and Mel the dominatrix. And tied in with this there's her feckless, selfish brother whom she feels responsible for (why?) and a tiresome, disatisfied mother whom she can never please. I can't help wondering if Henderson didn't write this before she started on the Sam Jones books and really found her voice - for instance the scene in the fetish club here just doesn't match up to the one in Freeze My Margherita. This isn't a bad book, it's a lot better than much of what gets published in female fiction these days, and Liam the celebrity cook on the verge of breaking through is a wonderful charecter, it's just that if you know Henderson's work you know she can do so much better. And I still can't wait to read Pretty Boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, feisty, frothy, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Bee of Good Cheer (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: My Lurid Past (Paperback)
Chick-lit - you know what to expect - single woman (or unhappily married one) looking for love, even though she's independent, smart, sexy ... trials and tribulations along the way to a happy-ish ending, at least for the protagonist. Of course, the bitchy friend gets her come uppance and ... well, need I go on?

Lauren Henderson's take on the genre is witty, funny, and probably a bit more earthy than usual.

As the blurb says:

Take one single girl with a commitment problem (for that, read shags everything in sight! - um, that's my comment, not the blurb), one friend stuck in a sexless marriage, a celebrity chef with the sex drive of a rhino on Viagra, two very large Dutchmen, a mother from hell and a successful dominatrix ...

Fun fast read, ideal to read when lounging in the bath with a large glass of something alcoholic. Not good for maiden aunts or grannies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny AND insightful, 16 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: My Lurid Past (Paperback)
I loved this book. No, it's not a Sam Jones book, and it's much racier but also more emotionally truthful than other chick lit (at least that which I've read). I wasn't surprised that the heroine is sharp and funny, with enough neurosis to be believable but still be strong and confident, but I was surprised at how sharply the family tensions are drawn - the triangular relationship between the heroine, her brother and their mother was realistic and full of insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Lurid Past, 14 Oct 2002
By 
Elisa (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Lurid Past (Paperback)
My Lurid Past, by Lauren Henderson is a must read for anyone single or married and over 25. I LOVED this novel and really enjoyed the realistic portrayal of a 30ish career woman, with "a history," family problems, and insecurities-- similar to ...well...mine!
Thank you Lauren Henderson for creating a flawed character who somehow triumphs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing., 1 May 2003
This review is from: My Lurid Past (Paperback)
I was really disappointed with this book. The write up on the back of the book sounded intriguing but in my opinion, the author didn't put the story together well. I think there is too much detail on fetishism which left you thinking that it would play a better part in the story later on, but it didn't. The storyline between the family was good but again it left you thinking that more was going to happen but it didn't. As for the end, well I thought that I'd had pages ripped out of the back as it left you in the middle of the story! The story was not wrapped up and could of gone on for a few more chapters probably. A near dull read for me I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Lurid Past
My Lurid Past by Lauren Henderson (Paperback - 18 April 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews