Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2015
I love all the Cadfael books, and reading this one, I was not disappointed. A good mystery tale, very well written. It takes you back to a calmer, more settled time, where things seemed to be much simpler. Everyone lived a life which revolved round the daily toil, and a supreme faith in God. The Church was much more powerful, and attendance was the norm. The character of Cadfael is most appealing, a mixture of the secular and monastic. You wish you could meet him and talk with him, a most interesting man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2002
When the body of a beautiful young woman is found in a field belonging to the Abbey Cadfael is forced to put his regular duties as herbalist on hold while he sifts through the clues to detect the murderer. This is of course and excellent thriller, as usual, from Ellis Peters, I envy anyone who has not read this series yet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2002
Ellis Peters manages to write a most surprising mystery book. The end is totally unexpected and, as always, we find Brother Cadfael thick in the middle of murder but even he can be mislead and this time he is no better than us, his humble followers and admirers. The characters are fascinating but, curiously, this time, the most interesting is an old and sick woman who knows more than anyone would think.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Really good plot ~ couldn't put it down. One of the best of the Cadfaels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
I have always loved these books, pity there will be no more
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
Of all the stores about Brother Cadfael, this happens to be my least favourite, but because it is him, I had to have it. It is an interesting storyline, not one to be missed in the saga, just somehow does not grab me as much as the others. Nonetheless the series would not be complete without it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
I bought the set, though this will be standard wording - great plots, great character, great knowledge of the history and mediaeval mind-set, can't go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
If you like Ellis Peters medieval mysteries then you will enjoy this book, it is another Cadfael murder story a good read at a very good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
This completes the list of the Cadfael books, all of which I have enjoyed and can reccomend,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Another great story from Ellis Peters but start with book 1 if you are new to Cadfael.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse