Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it...
Whether you are a long-term fan of the screen Goddess Marilyn Monroe, or just passing through these pages - this book once opened, is too hard to put down. Over the years I have read pretty much every account of the fascinating yet mystifying star and her tragic life, yet never have I felt like her true story has been portrayed. Donald H. Wolfe changes that - this book is...
Published on 7 April 2006 by Sue Donim

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars 'I didn't think she's an actress at all...What she has - this presence - could never surface on the stage.' (Constance Collier)
I didn't learn anything more about Marilyn Monroe reading this book. I did, however, gain some insights into Constance Collier.
Published 13 days ago by Samuel Barber


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it..., 7 April 2006
By 
Sue Donim (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assassination Of Marilyn Monroe (Paperback)
Whether you are a long-term fan of the screen Goddess Marilyn Monroe, or just passing through these pages - this book once opened, is too hard to put down. Over the years I have read pretty much every account of the fascinating yet mystifying star and her tragic life, yet never have I felt like her true story has been portrayed. Donald H. Wolfe changes that - this book is truly a masterpiece.
Not only does each chapter flow teasingly into the next, forcing you to continue, but each previous account of her life is analised and added to with more recent evidence and discoveries. Donald H. Wolfe's linguistics are equally stunning - a natural writer with a gift for investigation, "The Assassination of Marilyn Monroe" is beautifully constructed and a must for Marilyn (or soon-to-be Marilyn) fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars such a good book!!, 8 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
i'm a huge fan of marilyn monroe and have read lots of different biographies about her.But this one is definatley the best of all- it focuses in great detail on the cause of her death and uncovers the many inconsistencies in the evidence that were overlooked and covered up at the time.It does also talk about her life and childhood, but what makes this book so different is the attention it pays to her last few years, as she became more involved with the kennedys and they became more anxious to 'keep her quiet'. The book talks in depth about crucial documents regarding Marilyns death going missing, being stolen, and how the stories of the key witnesses changed over the years.This is an absolute must- have for Marilyn fans, but should be an interesting read for anyone else- it is unbelievable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 1 Sept. 2003
By 
Vanessa Paquete "Paquete" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Assassination Of Marilyn Monroe (Paperback)
I had no interest in the life of Miss Monroe till i found this book. I found it extremely complete, with real insigths in her carrer and her desires as a woman and as a lover. I cannot hide how much it affected me to know the real truth about one of the most famous singers of all time - Frank Sinatra -. In the end i wanted to know more and more about her existence and I must say that it was a pity that someone with such a beautiful image had to die so young and in the hands of someone that she loved. She only wanted to be loved !!! This is a great book about a murder that happened 41 ago next to the door of Hollywood, a murder that took away one of the finest ladies of the century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolfe leaves no stone unturned, 15 April 2010
By 
covergirl14 (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Assassination Of Marilyn Monroe (Paperback)
I actually bought this this book because I was interested in film in general, rather than Monroe, who I always thought was a bit flaky and too much of a victim.
Of course, we don't hear what every character has to say in this saga -most of the key witnesses and players are dead. In particular, the Kennedys come out of this pretty badly - they appear to have been spoilt, rich, arrogant, paranoid, mysogisitic, naive and ultimately cruel, and I when I finished reading this book I found my opinions of one of the 'greatest presidents' to be pretty low.
On the contrary, my once low opinion of Monroe was altered - Wolfe presented her as a courageous woman wronged by many people. It has often been said that she 'simply wanted to be loved' and I find this a bit overly sentimental, but her inability to understand why, or how, people could use her for their own ends was quite touching. In particular, I found it very sad that she died just as she was starting to 'spring-clean' her life and get rid of some of the negative influences. How would her life have changed if she'd been left to do this, and take more control? What a pity she didn't do this sooner, instead of expecting to be controlled and 'looked after', especially by men.
The attention to detail in this investigation is excellent - as a former journalist I am automatically critical of any 'expose' or conspiracy theory. However, there are so many cold facts which cannot be ignored that one wonders what on earth the 'authorities' were playing at when Monroe died. Of course, it is all about money, power, politics and corruption - it always is - but how sad that such an innocent woman got caught up in it all, with no-one to protect her from the vultures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling stuff, 5 Dec. 2000
This review is from: The Assassination Of Marilyn Monroe (Paperback)
Having never read a book on the remarkable life of Marilyn Monroe, I found this book to be an intriging, and fantastic insight into her life. The book is a biography of her life, and tells the story not just of the final years of her tragically short life, but also of her troubled childhood. It is compelling reading, and I am astonished at the amount of evidence regarding her death that has been ignored by the authorities. I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in MM life. It challenges the everyday perception of this extraordinary woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY COMPELLING, 15 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Assassination Of Marilyn Monroe (Paperback)
This book is an investigative masterpiece. It gives a chilling and saddening account of the death of an icon. It also convinced me that the theory surrounding Miss Monroe's death is the correct one and I would agree with the recommendation that Miss Monroe's body be exhumed for another autopsy as requested in 1997. The account of her life is absolutely riveting and non judgemental. I think Mr Wolfe really understands the essence of who Marilyn really was and acknowledes how tragic her premature death truly was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and shockingly revealing, 25 Feb. 2002
This review is from: The Assassination Of Marilyn Monroe (Paperback)
Donald Wolfe reveals facts in such a way that it is impossible to believe that Marilyn Monroe commited suicide. He reveals a huge conspiracy that indicates foul play on the part of the Kennedy Brothers, members of the coroner's team responsible for the post mortum on Marilyn Monroe and even people who were very close friends of Marilyn Monroe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling case and startling conclusion., 16 Sept. 2000
This review is from: The Assassination Of Marilyn Monroe (Paperback)
Wolfe presents a well documented case that indeed Marilyn Monroe was the victim of a murder plot, and of a police cover-up. He also gives the best human side of Marilyn, portraying her as a real and intelligent person, rather than the cliche found even in Summers book. Interesting enough, I saw this book in a London bookstore and could not find it at home (In the US). I finally ordered from Amazon UK as it appears, like some other controversial works, censored by some entity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant!, 5 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Assassination Of Marilyn Monroe (Paperback)
This is a compelling book that is so very difficult to put down. Every detail from her struggle to fame to her untimely death is absolutely gripping. A must for Marilyn fans everywhere. A very readable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'THE ASSASSINATION OF MARILYN MONROE, 20 April 2011
By 
V. Pogioli "VITO" (DORSET/GREAT BRITAIN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
WHAT A WASTE, MARILYN SHOULD HAVE LIVED MUCH LONGER THAN THAT...JUST A FEW WORDS: THE BIRTH OF A CHILD WOULD HAVE DEFINITELY SAVED HER. SHE WANTED A BABY SO, SO MUCH...SOMEONE WHO UNDERSTOOD HER AND HER PAST WOULD HAVE SAVED HER...AND FINALLY BEEN REALLY LOVED FOR WHAT SHE WAS INSIDE WOULD HAVE SAVED HER.
UNFORTUNATELY SHE KNEW THINGS SHE SHOULDN'T HAVE AS FAR AS THE KENNEDY'S AND POLITICS WERE CONCERNED!
I FEAR THAT MARILYN NEVER GREW UP AND WAS TOO TRUSTING AND NAIVE; AND THAT'S WHY EVERYONE WAS USING HER.
THIS IS A VERY POWERFUL BOOK AND I TAKE MY HAT OFF TO MR. DONALD H. WOLFE WHO AFTER (IM SURE) YEARS OF RESEARCH
HAS CONCLUDED THIS MASTERPIECE.. . I JUST HOPE THAT WILL BE USED ONE DAY AS A FILM SCRIPT.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT, AND IF YOU ARE A MARILYN FAN,IT'S A "M U S T". ENJOY IT AS MUCH AS I HAVE, VITO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Assassination Of Marilyn Monroe
The Assassination Of Marilyn Monroe by Donald H. Wolfe (Paperback - 5 Aug. 1999)
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews