Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read in the Barthomolew Chronicles.
A Masterly Murder is another Masterly Novel from Susanna Gregory. The retirement of the Master throws Bartholomew's life into turmoil but not as much as his sister's attempts to marry him off. But never fear, Brother Michael is there to help (and hinder him) and if he fails there is always Mathilde the prostitute to offer advice. As with the other Bathomolew books, the...
Published on 12 Aug 2001 by EJK

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
A good read. Interesting to keep up with the unravelling of the plots. Like this man and his companions. Yes
Published 17 months ago by sheilac


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read in the Barthomolew Chronicles., 12 Aug 2001
By 
EJK (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Masterly Murder: 6: The Sixth Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) (Paperback)
A Masterly Murder is another Masterly Novel from Susanna Gregory. The retirement of the Master throws Bartholomew's life into turmoil but not as much as his sister's attempts to marry him off. But never fear, Brother Michael is there to help (and hinder him) and if he fails there is always Mathilde the prostitute to offer advice. As with the other Bathomolew books, the pace is non-relenting with constant but never predictable plot twists. But the real stars of this series are the characters. Sharply portrayed, they engage your sympathy or your anger. The whole series is highly recommended. But read them in order. This book is better understood as the sixth in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cambridge's answer to Inspector Morse!, 30 Dec 2001
By 
Miranda L. Carlson (Skelmersdale, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew is perhaps the finest yet. University politics intermingle with murder as yet another of Cambridge University's fellows meets with a sticky end, and old sins return from the first book in the series to haunt the assembled rabble of fellows and students. Buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fine book, 28 Jan 2006
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Masterly Murder: 6: The Sixth Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) (Paperback)
This is the sixt in the series and the sixth I've read in a row, and they keep getting better all the time! All the old familiar characters are back in fine form (Father William with some very funny passages, I did miss Cynric a bit though).
The more you get to know these people (and as real people they do feel) the more you start to like them regardless of all their flaws, possibly even because of them. Of course, as in the previous five novels, there's crime and murder galore for Michael to dig into and Matthew to be dragged into.
I'll be very sorry when I get to the end of the last novel in this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Tricia Camm "Tricia" (Filey North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Masterly Murder: 6: The Sixth Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) (Paperback)
I am busy ploughing me way through the entire saga. I can't put them down and have to keep ordering more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love this series of books this one did not dissapoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good lighthearted read, some very funny moments and good suspense as the regular characters have developed in personality since book 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A masterly murder Susanna Gregory, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read. Up to the normal high standard that I have come to expect with the chronicle of Mathew Bartholomew. Look forward to many more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fine book, poor condition, 16 May 2014
By 
R. G. Tough (Cirencester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Masterly Murder: 6: The Sixth Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) (Paperback)
I do wonder whether the seller raises the condition rating if a book isn't selling. This was at best in good condition only. It was supposed to be in "very good" condition with an undamaged spine. The spine is heavily creased , the front and back covers are creased and the corners frayed. It is also not the edition illustrated. I certainly shall not be using this supplier again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great mystery from Cambridge with Matthew and Michael. Could not put the book down until I had finished it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 24 Oct 2013
By 
SuziB - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Masterly Murder: 6: The Sixth Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew (Chronicles of Matthew Bartholomew) (Paperback)
I am thoroughly enjoying this Matthew Bartholomew series. I "accidentally" discovered Susanna Gregory through her contribution to the Medieval Murderers series of books (Her contribution stood out like a beacon amongst the other authors) so I decided to give her a try & havn't looked back. Medieval Cambridge is truly brought to life with these historically accurate & very descriptive books & Matthew Barthlomew already feels like an old friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews