Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
this was an excellent book,i myself have never been a big reader however after watchin rise of the footsoldier i wanted to know more so i bought this book and i read it all in just 2 days i couldnt put it down,nicholls the grass tells of how he started as a petty thief up to getting involved with the notorious essex boys,drug smuggling,violence,murders all real and...
Published on 20 Feb 2008 by Gary O'brien

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not in 'Good' condition
Bought this book in 'good' condition, but it has been delivered and should have been 'acceptable/poor' as it is in half with spine split.
Only paid £2.91 but still the description was wrong.
With used books, description should be more accurate.
Published 8 months ago by MR A J GLYNN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 20 Feb 2008
By 
Gary O'brien "lobby" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders (Paperback)
this was an excellent book,i myself have never been a big reader however after watchin rise of the footsoldier i wanted to know more so i bought this book and i read it all in just 2 days i couldnt put it down,nicholls the grass tells of how he started as a petty thief up to getting involved with the notorious essex boys,drug smuggling,violence,murders all real and witnessed by this guy and the courtroom interviews have you changing your mind on who did it,he killed them no they did hes lying no he isnt .this book leaves you wondering are thr murderers at large and two innocent guys serving time you just dont know after the evidence in court and then nicholls tells of his life in witness protection fascinating stuff all the way through buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, excellent, couldn't put it down, 28 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders (Paperback)
I don't normally read stuff like this, since these books are typically written by smug coppers or gloating criminals. However I saw the book recently in a charity shop and, since my mother-in-law is into detective and crime stories both true life and fiction, I bought it for her.

I had a long flight later that week and decided to read the book myself first. I can honestly say that I couldn't put it down. It's an easy-to-read and fast paced account of the side of society that most of us don't see and I for one have no intention of seeing. Much of the book is as told by someone who's not a career 'professional' criminal as such, but someone who has human weaknesses leading him to make some bad life choices. He got way too deep into some heavy stuff with some dodgy characters. The author fills in between with commentary.

I got a bit lost with some of the mass of names, but that's probably more down to my failing memory than anything else. The description of the UK's Witness Protection Programme was a bit of an eye-opener.

This is a great read - thoroughly recommended. Who needs Agatha Christie and Taggart when this is the real thing?

Oh, and I must get around to giving the book to my mother-in-law.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloggs 19, 2 Feb 2010
By 
D. NESBITT (Sunderland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders (Paperback)
If you have read or seen the film Rise Of The Footsoilder this book is a must to read up on super grass Darren Nichols account of his side of the story of the range rover killings. A fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different Perspective, 30 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders (Paperback)
I picked this book up because after seeing Rise Of The Footsoldier Rise Of The Footsoldier (2-Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [2007] and then Essex Boys Essex Boys [DVD] [2000] then reading Muscle by Carlton Leach Muscle and Essex Boys by Bernard O'Mahoney Essex Boys: A Terrifying Expose Of The British Drugs Scene aswell as other media, I wanted to see if I could get another aspect to the story.

This book gives a dramatic insight into the Essex Gangland scene I must admit a very interesting read having read numerous books on the subject matter you naturally find the stories repeated but each from a different perspective, I feel Darren Nicholls is as we all are the master's of our own destiny and has he says in his book they were his choices to make and at the time he didn't see anything wrong with what was going on a bit naive maybe but his is now paying the price and he was in a very difficult situation and after reading this book I have a little more respect for the man in that he is always looking over his shoulder and can never be fully at peace.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight to underworld activities, 1 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders (Paperback)
This book gives the reader an insight into underworld activities going on in the Essex area, and how three of the major player's were gunned down as a result of a dodgy drugs deal. It gives a detailed account of how Darren Nicholls got too deep into drug dealing, then found that there was no way out, unless he turned supergrass. An interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Quality, 7 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders (Paperback)
The book describes in great detail the exploits of a small essex gang that lived dangerously in a dangerous world. It tells the story of Darren Nicholls, the 'Super grass' who had to tell all and stitch up men who had, and would again, kill. It tells how Nicholls got taken for a ride and exploited by a dodgy copper and how he reacted when two men, still covered in bits of blood and brains laughed their heads off in his car, minutes after executing three men at point blank range. All in all, this book is the best I have ever read - even beating Nick Hornby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely read this., 21 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders (Paperback)
When I 1st read this book I found it fascinating, although after further research, realised that this may not be the whole truth. It is basically the version of events through the supergrasses eyes although it has since been claimed the two men convicted of the murders did not do it. Having said that the two men are still in prison and therefore we can only assume for now the story is true. A MUST READ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real life lock stock and two smoking barrels, 11 April 2000
By 
J. R. Quinan (LEEDS, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders (Paperback)
I can remember reading/hearing about the murder of three men in a gangland style excecution,a few years back, all had been shot at point blank range , whilst sat in a parked range rover in a quiet country lane, and at the time wondered what the story behind it was. Well after reading BLOGGS 19 now I know . This book is an amazing insight into the criminal underworld in Essex, and what is really disturbing is that it is happening right here , right now in our own backyard. Drug smuggling, prostitution, forgery, police corruption, and links to irish terror groups, its all here , but most interesting was the insight into the protected witness scheme in this country . Mr.Bloggs 19 will forever be looking over his shoulder! A compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book About The Essex Boys/Range Rover murders, 16 Dec 2010
By 
G. Longstaffe (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders (Paperback)
I've read many of the Essex boys books and found them all to be good to very good, but if you want to start out reading about the subject of the Range Rover murders then this is easily the best of the bunch.

It tells the tale from the point of view of the main prosecution witness who was directly involved in the whole Essex boys story. It goes into great detail about every aspect of all involved including the convicted killers to the Essex boys firm, from drug deals to the plan to kill the trio and plenty in between.

It is all put together from interviews with Darren Nicholls (The main prosecution witness who has been put into the witness protection program under the name Bloggs 19 hence the name of the book) by in my opinion the best true crime writer out there Tony Thompson. However the proof reading is terrible as their are many grammatical errors but this is a small price to pay for the best Range Rover murders book out there.

Excellent 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very raw and hard hitting A moving and also chilling story!, 23 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders (Paperback)
If you are interested at all in the gangland scene then this book is for you,it gives A very real view of everyday life as A petty criminal and shows what can happen when you stray into territory you are not prepared for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders
Bloggs 19: The Story of the Essex Range Rover Triple Murders by Tony Thompson (Paperback - 3 Feb 2000)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews