Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten years on...and I still love this book
I read `Rune' ten years ago and I hardly ever re-read books, but for Christopher Fowler I make an exception.

A number of bizarre deaths are occurring across London, seemingly suicides, but the detectives Arthur Bryant and John may think differently. Are these deaths in fact murders which have been cleverly concealed? They set out to find a common denominator...
Published on 14 Aug 2008 by Sarah Durston

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better
As another reviewer said, it's a "typical Folwer's".
Good points:
1) Original idea.
2) Lot of tidbits abosut history (especially London history) andmyths.
3) A real page-turner.
Bad points:
1) I find Fowler's endings pretty weak, in general.
While the author has in general no problem building the tension up, thefinal showdown tends to...
Published on 23 April 2004 by Paolo Marino


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 23 April 2004
By 
Paolo Marino "pamar" (Torino, TO Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rune (Paperback)
As another reviewer said, it's a "typical Folwer's".
Good points:
1) Original idea.
2) Lot of tidbits abosut history (especially London history) andmyths.
3) A real page-turner.
Bad points:
1) I find Fowler's endings pretty weak, in general.
While the author has in general no problem building the tension up, thefinal showdown tends to be both confusing and sort of a letdown, as if itwas rushed.
Considering I've read three Fowler's books and they all share the sameproblem, I suspect it's a real Achille's heel for the author.
2) Themain plot and most of the colour is a bit dated (very 1990's).
To sum up: far from being a masterpiece, but if you enjoy the author'sstyle it delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten years on...and I still love this book, 14 Aug 2008
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rune (Paperback)
I read `Rune' ten years ago and I hardly ever re-read books, but for Christopher Fowler I make an exception.

A number of bizarre deaths are occurring across London, seemingly suicides, but the detectives Arthur Bryant and John may think differently. Are these deaths in fact murders which have been cleverly concealed? They set out to find a common denominator and this leads them to meet Harry Buckingham, an arrogant ad-man who has done some investigating of his own.

However, if you're familiar with Christopher Fowler you'll realise that there is unlikely to be a simple and common place explanation. Enter a string of fabulous characters; the `challenging' Grace, the driver of the truck that killed Harry's father; Frank, who is obsessed with conspiracy theories (just because it's a conspiracy theory, doesn't mean they aren't out to get you); Janice Longbright, the glamorous and 1950's obsessed Sergeant; the White Witches of the Camden Town Coven; Dorothy Huxley in her decaying library and a women who channels spirits through stuffed cats!

Expect the usual humour and mix of thrills, as well as an astounding amount of London trivia. `Rune' hasn't been included in the recent `Bryant and May' series and so may be a considered a great find and added bonus now that the series has come to a close. Fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unnervingly good, 14 April 2000
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rune (Paperback)
After you've read this one you'll be looking everywhere for hidden messages - I guarantee it! Makes you wonder if things like this could / do happen, the thought of which, along with reading this book until you've finished it in one sitting, will keep you awake at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars captivating imagery, 10 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rune (Paperback)
This book was incredible the way it captured my imagination and hurled it into a very distubing place . I have given it 4 crowns as the end is not as good as the rest of this magnificent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 12 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Rune (Paperback)
I was hooked by this read, but thought the ending was slightly dissapointing. Reccomended though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of his best, 14 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rune (Paperback)
This book had all my favourite Fowler bits ;oozing London , leaping devils , Bryant and May saying " Toodle - oo " , a heroine called Grace who wears Doc Martens , a character who burns her own eyes out.... what more fun can there be .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Christopher Fowler, 2 Oct 2003
This review is from: Rune (Paperback)
I found this book to be imaginative and wonderfully written. I am an avid Christopher Fowler fan and this book did not disappoint. Well worth a read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, captivating beyond words, 12 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rune (Paperback)
This is an abosolute brilliant book, coldn't put it down, a must have on any horror fans shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rune
Rune by Christopher Fowler (Paperback - 5 Feb 1998)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews