Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2009
As usual with Ellis Peters novels I was impressed with the historical accuracy of this book. It is a liitle known part of English/Welsh history that the Danes of the Dublin Pale often raided England and Wales and frequently looted and took hostages. As usual, she writes a compelling story of love and hate in equal measure; with the treachery and treason of the nobility at that particular time in history threaded throughout the plot like a gleaming chain to make compelling reasons to enjoy this cracking tale.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
As with all the Cadfael books these were intriguing and a great read. The tinge of sadness came with the fact that these were the last. Still I can always read them again, and again, there's always something new to discover in them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Excellent, good writing. Very exciting and such a shame that these stories were not made into a TV series as well. I really found it enjoyable which ties in with my interest in history. Thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
All three books were new to me and all three were excellent. The meticulously researched background and Peters' ability to bring landscapes and characters to vivid life make the Cadfael mysteries a pleasure to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
Great read but then you expect that if you know the Cadfael series. Omnibus is OK, would probably prefered individual books but then it would have been more expensive and more storage space needed!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
No explicit sex, no bad language, no unnecessary violence, a Churchillian style and command of the English language. A perfect read.
The same comment applies to all seven Omnibus volumes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
really good read,the best author for this era that I have read for a long time, very enjoyable read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
I had all the Cadfael books I bought the omnibus edition to save space.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
I like series of things - but the writing is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Very nice and as described. A+++++. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse