Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the summer of the danes, 14 Jun 2009
By 
E. J. Fain (Bedford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seventh Cadfael Omnibus: The Holy Thief, Brother Cadfael's Penance, A Rare Benedictine (Paperback)
As usual with Ellis Peters novels I was impressed with the historical accuracy of this book. It is a liitle known part of English/Welsh history that the Danes of the Dublin Pale often raided England and Wales and frequently looted and took hostages. As usual, she writes a compelling story of love and hate in equal measure; with the treachery and treason of the nobility at that particular time in history threaded throughout the plot like a gleaming chain to make compelling reasons to enjoy this cracking tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cadfael, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seventh Cadfael Omnibus: The Holy Thief, Brother Cadfael's Penance, A Rare Benedictine (Paperback)
Classic Cadfael
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, with a tinge of sadness, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seventh Cadfael Omnibus: The Holy Thief, Brother Cadfael's Penance, A Rare Benedictine (Paperback)
As with all the Cadfael books these were intriguing and a great read. The tinge of sadness came with the fact that these were the last. Still I can always read them again, and again, there's always something new to discover in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent historical novels based on the life of Cadfael (detective monk of medieval mysteries), 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seventh Cadfael Omnibus: The Holy Thief, Brother Cadfael's Penance, A Rare Benedictine (Paperback)
Excellent, good writing. Very exciting and such a shame that these stories were not made into a TV series as well. I really found it enjoyable which ties in with my interest in history. Thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seventh Cadfael Omnibus: The Holy Thief, Brother Cadfael's Penance, A Rare Benedictine (Paperback)
Great read but then you expect that if you know the Cadfael series. Omnibus is OK, would probably prefered individual books but then it would have been more expensive and more storage space needed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... books were new to me and all three were excellent. The meticulously researched background and Peters' ability to ..., 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Seventh Cadfael Omnibus: The Holy Thief, Brother Cadfael's Penance, A Rare Benedictine (Paperback)
All three books were new to me and all three were excellent. The meticulously researched background and Peters' ability to bring landscapes and characters to vivid life make the Cadfael mysteries a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This should be compulsry reading in schools, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seventh Cadfael Omnibus: The Holy Thief, Brother Cadfael's Penance, A Rare Benedictine (Paperback)
No explicit sex, no bad language, no unnecessary violence, a Churchillian style and command of the English language. A perfect read.
The same comment applies to all seven Omnibus volumes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars same as previous, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seventh Cadfael Omnibus: The Holy Thief, Brother Cadfael's Penance, A Rare Benedictine (Paperback)
i purchased this one to complete the set of cadfael as far as i know if there are any more then i will buy them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painless Purchase, 25 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seventh Cadfael Omnibus: The Holy Thief, Brother Cadfael's Penance, A Rare Benedictine (Paperback)
Arrived on time, well packed and in the condition stated in the description - well done. I have to write 20 words so filling in with bumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews