Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2016
A good story based around Cadfael's ability to see what we all miss. New characters are mostly from the town, with less sense of what is unfolding in the rest of Britain, with the civil war almost a distant memory. Peters does greed very well, with romance andintrigue more mechanical.

Cadfael fans will enjoy this a lot, but will find it a touch less well developed in terms of character. All in all, a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
As seen by my other reviews, I really like this series and this is one of the best. I was kept guessing until all was revealed. I find the historical events in these books very interesting and am widening my knowledge of the battles for the crown of England between Stephen and Matilda by each book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
I really like ellis peters cadfael and when I was sick and couldn't read to listen to them on my cd player was wonderful especially read by dereck Jacobi.
I would reccomend them to anyone. But I only like them read by Dereck Jacobi, my personal choice.
Cammie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2004
If you're interested in an audio edition, check that you're getting the unabridged recording narrated by Stephen Thorne. If you're interested in the Derek Jacobi video, I warn you that the BBC rewrote the backstory of both Judith and Niall to make them more melodramatic; as compensation, they came up with one additional clever ploy on the part of the murderer that's worth seeing.
This May of 1142, spring has begun late; winter's prolonged grip has been reflected in human affairs. King Stephen, freed by a prisoner exchange after THE PILGRIM OF HATE, raised the Empress' hopes by falling ill, but her move to Oxford was premature; he's now in fine fettle, picking off the empress' outposts. While these events, and the war at large, have little effect on this story, they'll be relevant in the next book, THE HERMIT OF EYTON FOREST. Cadfael's worries are more immediate, but easing now that the crops have finally been sown and it looks as though the roses will be out by the 22nd of June, the feast of St. Winifred's translation.
The Widow Perle - 25-year-old Judith Vestier that was - lost her husband to a terrible fever four years ago, despite everything Cadfael could do, then lost her only child in miscarriage shortly thereafter. In the depths of her grief, she couldn't bear to stay in the house where they'd been happy, so she deeded the place to the abbey in exchange for an annual rent of one white rose from her favorite rosebush, to be paid into her hand each June 22nd. (As heiress to the Vestier clothier business, Judith has ample property even without the house; she moved in 'over her shop', as it were, with her widowed aunt and her cousin Miles.)
Since it pays for the lighting of Mary's altar all year around, brother Eluric - the altar's custodian - has always delivered the rent, but this year brings a small crisis. Eluric, given as an oblate to the abbey as a young child, grew up in the cloister; his annual meetings with Judith have been his first prolonged exposure to any woman. Despite his overly sensitive conscience, the inevitable happened, and he's asked Radulfus to relieve him of the duty since he can't help worshipping Judith from afar. Radulfus, not wanting to embarrass the boy publicly or to have a repetition in a few years' time, consults Cadfael and Anselm; Cadfael suggests that the abbey's tenant, Niall Bronzesmith, deliver the rent directly. After all, he's a widower and a decent man...
Unfortunately, other men of Shrewsbury aren't as innocent as Eluric or as decent as Niall, and seek Judith's hand in marriage for mercenary purposes. Godfrey Fuller, whose business complements Judith's very well, proposes marriage as a business proposition. Her chief weaver, Bertred, has an eye out for advancement. Even ne'er-do-well Vivian Hynde is trying to turn his charm into a soft spot for life. Small wonder that Judith has thoughts of the cloister - or that her aunt is gently nudging her in that direction. Both Cadfael and Sister Magdalen advise Judith against it, although from rather different points of view. :)
Then Brother Eluric is found dead in Niall's garden - not a suicide, as the brothers at first fear, but murdered, stabbed by someone who tried and failed to cut the rosebush down with a hatchet. Judith, calling on Niall to pick up a belt buckle he'd repaired for her, stumbles upon the scene - and when Cadfael tells her why Eluric crept out to see the rosebush one last time, she feels guilty that he suffered so much and she never noticed. Turning it over in her mind, she resolves to go to the abbey in the morning and make the house an outright gift - but the word gets out from her servants' gossip, and the next morning she's kidnapped, by someone who'd rather take a chance on forcing her into a marriage and getting *all* her property instead of only half. (Her cousin Miles is beside himself - getting a new boss like *that* isn't something anyone would want, even without a cousin's safety to worry about.)
My compliments to any reader who deduces what happened to Judith before Peters reveals the solution. Eluric's murder - and another later on - are fair puzzles. (Ever the forensics expert, Cadfael takes a wax impression of a distinctive footprint from the damp earth beside the rosebush, to give the town cobblers a chance of catching Eluric's murderer by the heel, for instance.) Niall Bronzesmith, quiet as he is, has problems of his own; after his wife's death in childbirth, he fostered their daughter with his sister Cecily's cheerful family outside town, since he couldn't take care of a small baby alone, although he loves her very much. She's too little to understand why he only comes for frequent visits, and he needs to arrange to bring her back to live with him before she starts thinking he doesn't want her.
Lovely story.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
My Husband reads to me every night before we go to sleep and this book was wonderful! I love stories that have happy endings and where the 'prince' gets his 'princess.' Ellis Peters is a great writer and I enjoy her Cadfael books even more than the T.V. series. Five Stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
This book continues in the vein of Ellis Peters' fast flowing detective tales of the world knowing monk Cadfael. Reading the story on Kindle at night does not help in putting the light out until you have read much more than intended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
it was rather hard to get a copy of this cd but in the end i succeeded !
on my shelf i already have the cadfael-dvd's but i wanted the cd's as well and i'm not disappointed. on the contrary, derek jacobi - once more - brings all the needed nuances.
brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2009
When her husband dies, she bestows one of her houses for a rent of only one single white rose. She is beautiful and rich with many suitors. But which one wants to stop her getting this payment and the house being reverted to her. who is behind this? The house gets violently attacked and a man is found dead there; murdered!!! Brother Cadfael has to sort out this crime of passion through his usual paths of enquiry to unravel the murder mystery.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
The Brother Cadfael stories really tell themselves, but I say read because even though I listen to the story, I am still reading but with my mind's eye. This story stand up on it's own, very good detail about how life was at that time, giving the people actual thoughts as well as actions. A insight into how the working man's position was although he was skilled in his trade. Also how women were looked down on, but still had to do any job multi-tasking for women has always been there but it's only recently that it has been reconnised.

Very enjoyable for either gender if a good book is wanted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
I was very disappointed with this item. The description stated that it was in very good condition but in fact the spine was unglued and the pages were falling out. Not what I expected at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse