Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the rose rent
I really like ellis peters cadfael and when I was sick and couldn't read to listen to them on my cd player was wonderful especially read by dereck Jacobi.
I would reccomend them to anyone. But I only like them read by Dereck Jacobi, my personal choice.
Cammie
Published on 15 Mar. 2013 by Cammie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder for pasion
When her husband dies, she bestows one of her houses for a rent of only one single white rose. She is beautiful and rich with many suitors. But which one wants to stop her getting this payment and the house being reverted to her. who is behind this? The house gets violently attacked and a man is found dead there; murdered!!! Brother Cadfael has to sort out this crime of...
Published on 1 Oct. 2009 by E. Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Murder for pasion, 1 Oct. 2009
By 
E. Richardson "used books" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When her husband dies, she bestows one of her houses for a rent of only one single white rose. She is beautiful and rich with many suitors. But which one wants to stop her getting this payment and the house being reverted to her. who is behind this? The house gets violently attacked and a man is found dead there; murdered!!! Brother Cadfael has to sort out this crime of passion through his usual paths of enquiry to unravel the murder mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the rose rent, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rose Rent (Audio CD)
I really like ellis peters cadfael and when I was sick and couldn't read to listen to them on my cd player was wonderful especially read by dereck Jacobi.
I would reccomend them to anyone. But I only like them read by Dereck Jacobi, my personal choice.
Cammie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "A Good read", 10 Aug. 2009
By 
Jane Wheeler (Orpington Kent .Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rose Rent (Audio Cassette)
The Brother Cadfael stories really tell themselves, but I say read because even though I listen to the story, I am still reading but with my mind's eye. This story stand up on it's own, very good detail about how life was at that time, giving the people actual thoughts as well as actions. A insight into how the working man's position was although he was skilled in his trade. Also how women were looked down on, but still had to do any job multi-tasking for women has always been there but it's only recently that it has been reconnised.

Very enjoyable for either gender if a good book is wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A peppercorn rent paid in roses, 3 Dec. 2004
By 
Michele L. Worley (Kingdom of the Mouse, United States) - See all my reviews
If you're interested in an audio edition, check that you're getting the unabridged recording narrated by Stephen Thorne. If you're interested in the Derek Jacobi video, I warn you that the BBC rewrote the backstory of both Judith and Niall to make them more melodramatic; as compensation, they came up with one additional clever ploy on the part of the murderer that's worth seeing.
This May of 1142, spring has begun late; winter's prolonged grip has been reflected in human affairs. King Stephen, freed by a prisoner exchange after THE PILGRIM OF HATE, raised the Empress' hopes by falling ill, but her move to Oxford was premature; he's now in fine fettle, picking off the empress' outposts. While these events, and the war at large, have little effect on this story, they'll be relevant in the next book, THE HERMIT OF EYTON FOREST. Cadfael's worries are more immediate, but easing now that the crops have finally been sown and it looks as though the roses will be out by the 22nd of June, the feast of St. Winifred's translation.
The Widow Perle - 25-year-old Judith Vestier that was - lost her husband to a terrible fever four years ago, despite everything Cadfael could do, then lost her only child in miscarriage shortly thereafter. In the depths of her grief, she couldn't bear to stay in the house where they'd been happy, so she deeded the place to the abbey in exchange for an annual rent of one white rose from her favorite rosebush, to be paid into her hand each June 22nd. (As heiress to the Vestier clothier business, Judith has ample property even without the house; she moved in 'over her shop', as it were, with her widowed aunt and her cousin Miles.)
Since it pays for the lighting of Mary's altar all year around, brother Eluric - the altar's custodian - has always delivered the rent, but this year brings a small crisis. Eluric, given as an oblate to the abbey as a young child, grew up in the cloister; his annual meetings with Judith have been his first prolonged exposure to any woman. Despite his overly sensitive conscience, the inevitable happened, and he's asked Radulfus to relieve him of the duty since he can't help worshipping Judith from afar. Radulfus, not wanting to embarrass the boy publicly or to have a repetition in a few years' time, consults Cadfael and Anselm; Cadfael suggests that the abbey's tenant, Niall Bronzesmith, deliver the rent directly. After all, he's a widower and a decent man...
Unfortunately, other men of Shrewsbury aren't as innocent as Eluric or as decent as Niall, and seek Judith's hand in marriage for mercenary purposes. Godfrey Fuller, whose business complements Judith's very well, proposes marriage as a business proposition. Her chief weaver, Bertred, has an eye out for advancement. Even ne'er-do-well Vivian Hynde is trying to turn his charm into a soft spot for life. Small wonder that Judith has thoughts of the cloister - or that her aunt is gently nudging her in that direction. Both Cadfael and Sister Magdalen advise Judith against it, although from rather different points of view. :)
Then Brother Eluric is found dead in Niall's garden - not a suicide, as the brothers at first fear, but murdered, stabbed by someone who tried and failed to cut the rosebush down with a hatchet. Judith, calling on Niall to pick up a belt buckle he'd repaired for her, stumbles upon the scene - and when Cadfael tells her why Eluric crept out to see the rosebush one last time, she feels guilty that he suffered so much and she never noticed. Turning it over in her mind, she resolves to go to the abbey in the morning and make the house an outright gift - but the word gets out from her servants' gossip, and the next morning she's kidnapped, by someone who'd rather take a chance on forcing her into a marriage and getting *all* her property instead of only half. (Her cousin Miles is beside himself - getting a new boss like *that* isn't something anyone would want, even without a cousin's safety to worry about.)
My compliments to any reader who deduces what happened to Judith before Peters reveals the solution. Eluric's murder - and another later on - are fair puzzles. (Ever the forensics expert, Cadfael takes a wax impression of a distinctive footprint from the damp earth beside the rosebush, to give the town cobblers a chance of catching Eluric's murderer by the heel, for instance.) Niall Bronzesmith, quiet as he is, has problems of his own; after his wife's death in childbirth, he fostered their daughter with his sister Cecily's cheerful family outside town, since he couldn't take care of a small baby alone, although he loves her very much. She's too little to understand why he only comes for frequent visits, and he needs to arrange to bring her back to live with him before she starts thinking he doesn't want her.
Lovely story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GOOD BOOK!, 22 Feb. 2015
By 
D. E. Auchinvole (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As seen by my other reviews, I really like this series and this is one of the best. I was kept guessing until all was revealed. I find the historical events in these books very interesting and am widening my knowledge of the battles for the crown of England between Stephen and Matilda by each book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Book for Incurable romantics!, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rose Rent: 13 (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
My Husband reads to me every night before we go to sleep and this book was wonderful! I love stories that have happy endings and where the 'prince' gets his 'princess.' Ellis Peters is a great writer and I enjoy her Cadfael books even more than the T.V. series. Five Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as good as the tv-episode, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rose Rent (Audio CD)
it was rather hard to get a copy of this cd but in the end i succeeded !
on my shelf i already have the cadfael-dvd's but i wanted the cd's as well and i'm not disappointed. on the contrary, derek jacobi - once more - brings all the needed nuances.
brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reads too well, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book continues in the vein of Ellis Peters' fast flowing detective tales of the world knowing monk Cadfael. Reading the story on Kindle at night does not help in putting the light out until you have read much more than intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mystery, murder, misguided suspicion., 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rose Rent: 13 (Cadfael Chronicles) (Paperback)
The usual fare from Ms Peters, murder, misguided suspicion and mystery. This one had more than the usual number of suspects. The history aspect is always interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the set, though this will be standard wording - great plots, great character, great knowledge of the history and mediaeval mind-set, can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rose Rent: 13 (Cadfael Chronicles)
The Rose Rent: 13 (Cadfael Chronicles) by Ellis Peters (Paperback - 1 Feb. 1996)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews