Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2000
A paper back version of the some of the strips from the first Calvin and Hobbes book. Small enough to fit in a bag, it can cheer you up on the train or bus. I read the whole thing in an hour and laughed all the way through. Great for anyone who hasn't read Calvin and Hobbes before.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Calvin and Hobbes is a cartoon strip which was written by Bill Watterson and is undoubtedly one of the best funny comic strips. Essentially it is the story of a super imaginative young boy and his 'stuffed' tiger Hobbes.
This item is a small paper back book containing some of the first comic strips. It's small enough to travel with and is a great introduction to someone who is unaware of Calvin and Hobbes - I bought for my other half for this reason, along with volume two and three. He loves it! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
You know you're a Calvin and Hobbes fan if you pack a volume in your bag each day to read during the lunch break :)

These little books are adorable, and a must for completing the collection!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
I have the whole set of Calvin and Hobbes books from years ago, but my 9 1/2 year old daughter wanted to have her own.
So got her this for Christmas, and she loves it. She never realised how funny a book could be.
They always made me laugh and now a new generation are finding them funny and laughing too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2007
I bought this because many previous reviews refer to essays by the author [and some coloured images.] but this copy contains only cartoons that are available in other collections. Calvin & Hobbes are wonderful, and this is a smaller format than the other collections, just so long as you know what you're getting...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2005
Bill Watterson's 'Calvin & Hobbes' are one of the most delightful cartoon creations...ever. Calvin is the very model of childhood innocence, imagination, and inquisitiveness. I have a 4 year old cousin whom I am going to mold in Calvin's image - he is so delightful a character. Where would Calivn be without Hobbes? His ever present animal companion. The pair wax lyrical on matters philosophical, political, and psychological. Calvin & Hobbes can be consumed en masse or in bitesize chunks - either are equally rewarding. I suggest a few strips each night before bed, to send you to sleep with a chuckle.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
Once again the compilation of Bill Watterson's wonderful drawings and text keeps you reading and re reading, the excellent drawings and brilliant text are a cartoon cultural gem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
I bought this book for my husband, but all the family just loves it including my 5 year old daughter who tries to read it herself. Also the delivery was quick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 1999
what is lightly regarded as the first collection of the duo, this is on a par with the other (but far too few) collections. calvin and hobbes is written by the most humourous man that ever roamed the earth and i am in no doubt that in some countries it is probably punishable by death not to have read at least 4 of these brilliant books/comics, sadly though in most democratic nations the punishment is only inadequacy compared to those who have seen the light and therefore ostrasisation and inevitable loneliness and singledom wiping out their species leaving finally, one day only those chosen many who have entered the garden of eden.
do the right thing - read Calvin & Hobbes... ... before its too late
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
Calvin and Hobbes are a modern classic, such a range of wit and humour, with realistic observations of how kids think. Love them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse