Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your collection isn't complete without this book, 17 Dec 2002
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Calvin And Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book (Paperback)
As a fan of Calvin and Hobbes, I put off getting this book because I thought it was merely a best of collection I didn't need since I had all the others. Boy was I wrong! This book is a wonderful insight into the mind behind my favorite strip of all time.
Bill Watterson spends the first part of the book talking about everything from character names and personalities to his fights to keep his characters from being over commercialized. While I wish there were more products available, I do respect him for sticking to his principles on this. He also talks about the format of the Sunday strips.
The rest of the book is a collection of strips, starting with the very first. What is interesting here is Mr. Watterson's commentary. Whether it's the idea behind or an amusing story that happened because of a strip, it's all very entertaining. It also brings out some of the themes talked about it the strip. He also discusses the ideas behind such staples as the wagon, Calvin's box, and Spaceman Spiff.
I truly miss this wonderful strip because of its creativity and insights into modern culture. This book shows the behinds the scene story in an entertaining and informative way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of genius, 27 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Calvin And Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book (Paperback)
Sometimes its best not to be introduced to a collection through a retrospective such as this, but this is an exception. The Calvin and Hobbes strip manages to be both witty, hilarious, visually inventive, often stunning, and accesible to anyone. Everyone should own this; Watterson tells us who his idols were and then effortlessly outsrips them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Waterson's gift to the world, 17 Oct 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Calvin And Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book (Paperback)
If you like Calvin and Hobbes and are looking for a good C&H book to adorn your bookshelves - then this is the best one to get.

To start with, Bill Waterson discusses the history of Calvin and Hobbes and the inspiration behind it. He writes about the struggles he's had with them and the pressures applied to commercialise them more. Another reviewer here has said that he respects him for sticking to his guns about that - as do I.

The book is full of comic strips, some black and white, some are full colour. The strips which ran as a serialisation are all shown together. Bill also goes into the stories behind the story, he explains why he did what he did, what he was trying to achieve, and throws in other tasty morsels of information.

The sketches themselves are fantastic, they are incredibly cute and incredibly funny. Innocent fun at its absolute best.

For anyone not familiar with Calvin and Hobbes...

Calvin is a six year old boy, he has a toy stuffed tiger called Hobbes. In Calvin's head - Hobbs is a real Tiger and together they go on adventures. The strips normally depict Calvin and Hobbes getting into weird and wonderful situations, and often show the actual events too - i.e; a duplication machine will turn out to be a cardboard box. Calvin is the kid with the crazy and outlandish imagination, Hobbes tends to chip in with wonderfully dry comments.

There are other characters who appear too, notably his neighbour Susie. She is the polar-opposite of Calvin; serious and well mannered.

Bill has created a fantastic little person with Calvin. He often talks using comically long words and articulate terms well beyond his age.

Perfect for picking up and flicking through for a few minutes, or for having a session with. Everytime I read a bit of this I put it down with a smile on my face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite C&H books, 9 Dec 2001
By 
J. Kelly - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Calvin And Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book (Paperback)
Every Calvin and Hobbes book is a work of genius. But I think I prefer this book because, not only does it feature a great collection of strips, but it also features commentary from the man himself: Bill Watterson.
I must admit here that I am a freak for behind-the-scenes stuff. I like no better than to read/watch/listen to/laugh at something I enjoy, then learn what went on to make it what it was. Watterson also explains the origins and influences of Calvin and Hobbes, and why there is no lisenced merchandise for these two (he has an admirable reason: artisitic integrity, something sadly lacking these days). Though this is why I love this book so, I think anyone who enjoys Calvin and Hobbes will enjoy this, if only because Bill Watterson's writing is as funny as his strips.
If you already like Calvin and Hobbes, this is an essential addition to your collection. If you're new to them, I don't see why this shouldn't be your next book.
JK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 12 April 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Calvin And Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book (Paperback)
Man do I love Calvin's wild imagination and Hobbes' logical responses to Calvin's crazy antics. What makes this book special is that each strip/story has a commentary by Bill Watterson on what inspires him and how he feels about his own creation. This book has a huge introduction by Watterson on why he chose never to turn Calvin and Hobbes into a huge franchise and why he finally decided to quit while he was ahead. A noble career move methinks.

There are some great stories in this one such as Calvin's hijinks with the transmogrifier/duplicator and the some of the Sunday color strips create some highly evocative atmospheres.

Plus, this book contains the most interesting fact EVER. What is the even scarier than a T-Rex? A T-Rex in an F-22 fighter jet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant brilliant brilliant!!!!!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calvin And Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book (Paperback)
What can you say about Calvin & Hobbes other than that they're amazing - so real, true, philosophical, funny and touching that nothing else comes near. They're simply unique and brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another for Calvin & Hobbes fans, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calvin And Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book (Paperback)
If you are a Calvin & Hobbes fan, here is another collection to enjoy. Several commentaries at the start by Bill Waterson, with his thoughts on the Comics in Transition, Sunday Strip, Licensing, Process............very interesting to read his views.Followed by a good collection of cartoons, plenty of big laughs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Calvin and Hobbes, 21 April 2013
By 
I. Ntounis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calvin And Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book (Paperback)
By far the best of Calvin and Hobbes!!! its a must have!

i also own the complete series but this one is the "cream de la cream" of C&H
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Childish - Hell Yes!, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calvin And Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book (Paperback)
Brilliant coffee table fodder for a lazy sunday with nothing better to do. Always makes me smile, and its great to get a bit more of an insight into the featured strips from Bill Watterson. Sadly only 4 stars as its too big to take out of the house to the coffee shop, or read on a plane, or take on vacation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book. not for first timers., 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful book which i read cover to cover in about an hour, Calvin and Hobbes are amazing and this will give you real insight into Bill Watterson. If you're new to C&H get a different collection though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Calvin And Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book
The Calvin And Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book by Bill Watterson (Paperback - 2 Oct 1995)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews