Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkly satisfying
This novel is incredible. I picked it up by chance in my local library three years ago, and, after flicking through a few pages, immediately fell in love with Fowler's uncompromising style. Unafraid to tackle issues such as poverty, brutality and victimisation, he allows his characters to speak their minds with a stark, upfront voice, yet deals sensitively with the...
Published on 15 Sep 2000

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it lacked
I read Psyhcoville after reading one of Christopher Fowlers other books. I found this book shakey. It lacked detale, the author glossed over the killings, missed parts of the story line out so it didn't quite flow properly and used the same words to describe everthing. The characters seemed to have no depth and don't use the suitable language for their parts. The...
Published on 28 Feb 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkly satisfying, 15 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Psychoville (Paperback)
This novel is incredible. I picked it up by chance in my local library three years ago, and, after flicking through a few pages, immediately fell in love with Fowler's uncompromising style. Unafraid to tackle issues such as poverty, brutality and victimisation, he allows his characters to speak their minds with a stark, upfront voice, yet deals sensitively with the theme of nostalgia which runs throughout the book. The plot is original and, while the first half of the novel plays upon everyman's childhood fears and insecurities, the second half brings much-desired revenge for both the main character and also vicariously for the reader. The characters are visceral and frighteningly human, while the quotations at the beginning of each chapter add an intellectual depth to the storyline of this 'horror' novel. Indeed, one soon learns that the true horror of 'Psychoville' lies in the fact that the events could actually be lifted straight from one's local newspaper. The crucial thing about this book however, is the way it makes the reader feel. Virtually anyone who samples Fowler's masterpiece will identify with at least some of the characters' experiences, therefore making the text more powerful and the finale more darkly satisfying. 'Psychoville' has affected me personally in a way I cannot describe; it marked a turning point in my life just when I was experiencing a similar hell to which young Billy March suffers in the first part of the novel. The empathy I felt with his thoughts and emotions, and the compelling, disturbing way in which Fowler writes urged me to read the book a further five times (per year!), and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys an intelligently gruesome read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 April 2000
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychoville (Paperback)
Probably my favourite novel by Christopher Fowler. The first half will have you in tears, the second cheering. Great story, warped humour and the customary violent deaths. Great stuff. Can this man do no wrong?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 6 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Psychoville (Paperback)
This is my first book on this author and I am impressed. This book is nicely divided into 2 parts where the first part deals with a family's attempt to fit in a neighbourhood and prejudice by their neighbours. This section is so well-written that I really feel sorry for this family and actually want some retribution! The second part of the book deals with just that -- revenge. But, alas, this second part of the story is a little too abrupt and rushed -- as if the writer just wants to deal with the revenge issue and get it over with. Nevertheless, I loved this book and highly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, satirical fun., 24 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Psychoville (Paperback)
Just brilliant would recommend it to anyone. One of those you can't put down and talk about far too much in the pub, to the point that your friends think you are going quite mad, over a book, for god's sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great novel for those who share a liking slightly unconventional ..., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychoville (Paperback)
Great novel for those who share a liking slightly unconventional humour. Loved the characters and pace of the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story telling wirth a humdinger of a twist, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychoville (Paperback)
The forlorn and cruel build up gives the pay off a sense of deserved retribution, I love Chris' books, he never dissappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 19 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychoville (Paperback)
I love this book. It starts with a bleak Ballardesque view of growing up in the suburbs as Billy March and his family are forced to live in a plastic middle class new town .Then the second half of the story concerns revenge and redeption , as a kitsch killing spree takes place in the same town . Grusome and yet delightful at the same time . I love it when April makes the gravy by using her vibrator . Bizarre , kinky , cartoonish and horrific. A perfect afternoon read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars psychotastic!, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. J. V. Wall (South East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychoville (Paperback)
A great read - brilliant characters - could not put the book down once started - great twist at the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple But Brilliant, 9 April 2005
This review is from: Psychoville (Paperback)
Without a doubt this is Christopher Fowler's finest book. Okay the plot is hardly original & the twists aren't hard to guess but the story is delivered with such a satirical punch that this is one the best satires on Thatcher's Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it lacked, 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Psychoville (Paperback)
I read Psyhcoville after reading one of Christopher Fowlers other books. I found this book shakey. It lacked detale, the author glossed over the killings, missed parts of the story line out so it didn't quite flow properly and used the same words to describe everthing. The characters seemed to have no depth and don't use the suitable language for their parts. The characters were poor, the storyline was dull and wrost of all, the writting style was weak. If you want an easy read while on hoilday this is the book for you, but if you want something that gives you a possitive feeling don't touch this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psychoville
Psychoville by Christopher Fowler (Paperback - 12 Oct 1995)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews