Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pulp horror
Slugs is fairly typical 80s horror pulp fiction. That's not a criticism! It's a ridiculous tale about killer slugs who sound 2 feet long but turn out to be slightly larger than normal. Like all good cheesy horror novels, no woman is introduced without describing her breasts, just about everyone between teenage and middle age is horny and doomed characters arrive on stage...
Published 3 months ago by Ruju

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slliy, but worth a look.
Don't really know what to say about this book.....?

A health inspector finds out that common garden slugs are mutating into maneaters, growing in both size and appetite.

The book reads almost as a number of small stories detailing various residents encounters, many of which end in a grisly death.

The book is a nice easy read with the first...
Published 13 months ago by Bridgey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pulp horror, 10 April 2014
By 
Ruju (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slugs (Paperback)
Slugs is fairly typical 80s horror pulp fiction. That's not a criticism! It's a ridiculous tale about killer slugs who sound 2 feet long but turn out to be slightly larger than normal. Like all good cheesy horror novels, no woman is introduced without describing her breasts, just about everyone between teenage and middle age is horny and doomed characters arrive on stage clutching a cliched resume to make them real. Somewhat bizarrely, Hutson alternates the tag for his main character between "Brady" and "the Health Inspector" - despite informing us that Brady is a Health Inspector when we first meet him. Huh? Perhaps it's a clumsy way to avoid repeating the same name too often. At the end we've heard it all before but it's a jolly romp nonetheless. My first Hutson but definitely not my last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slliy, but worth a look., 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: Slugs (Paperback)
Don't really know what to say about this book.....?

A health inspector finds out that common garden slugs are mutating into maneaters, growing in both size and appetite.

The book reads almost as a number of small stories detailing various residents encounters, many of which end in a grisly death.

The book is a nice easy read with the first half actually quite promising as a 'B' movie style horror, but as the novel reaches it's climax you feel the author has ran out of ideas.

There is also a sequel called Breeding Ground, which i may look at if I ever get that bored....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sluggish horror, 13 May 2004
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slugs (Paperback)
This is quite an easy, undemanding read: I don't intend this as a criticism - there is a real skill in putting together a work which the reader can just sit down and sink into, maybe on a flight or railway journey.
The horror is of the gross rather than the cerebral kind. Nobody likes slugs. They're less appealing than spiders. If they moved faster, there would be thousands of people living with major psychoses, and slug hunters would be macho posers to be found in any club or dancehall.
Shaun Hutson recognises that slugs are slow moving and, obviously, disgusting to look at ... or handle ... and they can be quite chewy if you don't cook them right.
Hutson's slugs, however, begin to evolve, to become upwardly mobile, setting their sights on escape from the sewer and sliding up the pecking order to predate on humans. Could you actually see yourself being hunted down and devoured by a pack of ravenous slugs, many of them eight inches long? Would any man exaggerate length? Only in the interests of a fear factor.
"Slugs" follows a Health Inspector - the front line troops in the war against horror - as he uncovers the truth about the slime trails appearing on his patch and begins to comprehend that the new super slugs are gathering for an assault on his sleepy little English town.
It's an amusing, entertaining, and well-written little tale ... and I promise you, you will wash lettuce leaves thoroughly from now on! (Which reminds me, you can have a lot of fun with liquorice allsorts - the black ones - in a salad!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And you think you are unshockable............., 30 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Slugs (Paperback)
This was my first Hutson experience and I had to chose the most brain curdling of the lot (and I have read every stunning delight from this man). Just when you think Hutson has reached the limits of collaboration, you turn the page and find yourself reaching for the bucket again. Read this if (like me) you thought horror books were "boring". The thing is - by the end of the book, you realise that although this terror couldn't possibly happen in real life, it probably WILL anyway. Clever, clever man. Keep them coming, Maestro!
Madeleine Sharma - Jan 2000
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLEURGH!!!, 22 Aug 2003
This review is from: Slugs (Paperback)
Ewww, this book is seriously gross! I've read tons of sick and twisted books, but this is nasty! Everytime I see a slug now I leave it well alone and run!!! Theres actually some truth to this story too, which makes it so much worse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Horrid, 7 Dec 2009
This review is from: Slugs (Paperback)
As you may have gathered, a book about killer slugs was never going to be intelligent, deep or particularly meaningful, but that is exactly why Slugs works so well. This is no frills horror without boring character development & complex sub-plots. It just goes straight for the throat - Shaun Hutson does not mess about. His writing style is almost like Sam Raimi's directorial stance on 'Evil Dead'. Nothing lasts for longer than it needs to & Hutson gets to the gore quickly and often. Additionally his descriptions of the slugs eating their victims alive are absolutely repulsive. Hutson's master-stroke is to keep you turning the pages in anticipation of what further atrocities are lurking overleaf.

Slugs is unexpectedly addictive reading and you will not put this book down until you have finished it. A guilty pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood - lots of it!, 12 Feb 2007
By 
stiffy (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slugs (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was wonderfully gory and the descriptions as the slugs devour their victims was excellent (especially the bit about the guy in the restaurant - nice touch!!!) I would recommend this to anyone who is not squeamish and those who would like to read something a little bit different!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will look at slugs differently for the rest of your life, 17 April 2002
This review is from: Slugs (Paperback)
This book was great form the first page, packed full with small gruesome slug scene’s that lure you further and further in to a completely different world of large slimy black cannibals. The book has a very fast pace thought and the language is also very easy to read. So sit back and let Shaun Hutson take you to the unbeknown black world of the cannibal slugs that lurk everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gorry but good!!, 10 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Slugs (Hardcover)
In this book,a small town becomes invested with man-eatting slugs!! Shaun gives you extracts of many people that have come to a tragic end from the slugs. It is very descriptive but it is not the book to read when you are eatting your dinner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slugtastic read., 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slugs (Paperback)
Saw the movie years ago, had no clue there was a book until I saw a Video review of this movie, about a month ago.
Bought it of Amazon out of interest. It's a lot more gross and graphic than the movie
which thankfully is what I was expecting. It a fun yet twisted short story, perfect for the horror fanatics like me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slugs
Slugs by Shaun Hutson (Paperback - 28 Jun 1990)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews